We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2013

to ended a trip in Viet Nam we decided to wanted to a real break, Mango Bay where mr Doi kindly arrange to have a sea view bungalow for the 4 nights of our stay despite our late booking, was just perfect. Not talking about the restaurant, joyfully animated by Fabien who make more than his best to advise us and help us in any areas, the food is stunning, the best so far in Viet Nam, fresh, tasty, inventive and healthy.
The spa is amazing for its location but also for the quality of the services.
Our charming bungalow (our was P17) was a dream, how not love the open sky bathroom?
all the crew is there just for you to have wonderful experience.
Thanks to all of them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guyzeboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,730)
There are newer reviews for Mango Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

We have stayed 4 days in Mango Bay resort which was recommended by a friend of us. it was perfect, bungalow more than lovely, staff extremely nice , special thanks to Mister Doi front office Manager who is so kind , you can ask him everything, he knows everything! and also to Fabien at the restaurant who gave us very good advices and was so nice and interesting!.
The food is excellent, the spa also.
Only compliments to make.
so, this is the place, hope we will return soon!
Catherine (Paris).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Unfortunately, we spent only 3 nights in Mango Bay Resort and we enjoyed it a lot.

Accommodation (Earth Rammed Bungalow) - very clean, comfortable equipped, tasteful and simple furniture. They provide also flashlight, mosquito repellent, beach towels. If you like to sleep in silence, maybe this type of resort is not good for you. As bathroom and somehow the room is open air and the resort has a lot of vegetation, during the night you can hear all the insects, birds, the wind, the sea, maybe your neighbors snoring,

Location is amazing. sandy beach and sea water is very clear, clean and not deep. It is perfect also for families with children. We loved the beach bar where you can have a drink or your meal. The resort is located in a quite and isolated area, you don`t have any possibility of spending the time outside of the hotel. There is a free shuttle bus once a day to the town Doung Dong, but in my opinin you don`t have what to do there.

Food was tasty, a kind of Asian fusion, not Vietnamese 100%. A main course is about 150-200.000 Dong (10 Usd). If you ask your meal to be cooked spicy, hot, you will never get it, nobody believes you that you want to eat spicy. In fact, we faced this problem everywhere in Vietnam, we couldn`t satisfy our pleasure of eating very spicy...like in Thailand. So, if you like spicy food, the only solution is to ask for some fresh chilli every time. I think they have also some Western food in the menu but we didn`t try it. Local beer-Saigon is 1,8 Usd, cocktail around 5-6 Usd and my favorite, local rum, very refreshing and cheap: 2 Usd.

Breakfast was also good. You could chose from 4 set types. I preferred Healthy Breakfast

Services are good. Staff is speaking English and in my opinion is too official, not very friendly. There was also a French guy, perhaps a manager supervising everything and discussing with clients, but I don`t know for what reason he didn`t say a word only to us....

Massage was also OK, about 20-25 Usd for 1 hour.
Free Wifi very good over the entire resort.

So, I like Mango Bay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

It's a little to ecological to me :) Lot's of creepy animals in the room and bathroom since the bungalows comes with a gap between wall and ceiling. Therefore also lots of bugs there.

Restaurant is good though.

However this place is nothing more than a 2 star hotel and I would only recommend it for back-packers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great location/ well hidden and sympathetically done... But
1. Tired and needs updating
2. Everything is extra and there is no flexibility to add or change even a breakfast menu... Even water .....snorkels etc.
3. Not enough sun beds and most need to be fixed...and there is a dash for sun beds in the morning.
4. Full market rate for food and beer.... And 3percent surcharge for credit cards...

That said... For three days stunning place to escape the madness of Saigon...food, although limited is good, staff are very good and weather is ace...

Fully recharged and ready for another few days on the road..

Room Tip: Sea plantation bungalow is a must... As a family we had the Plantation House which was amazing..
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wholist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

After five nights in a terrible Long Beach hotel we looked forward to Mango Bay Resort as the exclamation mark on a week long Christmas getaway. Mango Bay didn't disappoint! With rammed earth bungalows featuring an outdoor bathroom with its own garden view, the room we enjoyed was so peaceful and cool at night (keeping the eco line with just one electrical appliance available in the room - a fan!) The bed was very comfortable with a nice clean mosquito net as well.
The food in either the beach bar or main restaurant was excellent and served by a team of local staff who have clearly been recruited and trained based on their outstanding attitude. Ironic given the French restaurant manager's aloof nature.... Thankfully it hasn't affected the locals one bit! One night visit to Sakura which is a 10 minute walk was also nice, but not as good as the food at the resort I must note...
Highly recommend unless you're after a resort with a pool. Its really not needed with such a beautiful private beach (or two!) in this case

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckybrickstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBihan, Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear LuckyBrickStreet,

First of all, thank you for the review.
I normally do not answer to good review as i believe Tripadvisor is for travellers.
Everything you said seem perfectly exact and accurate. Especially one point: the staff at Mango Bay is a great asset. Most of them are with us since long time: they are Mango bay family...they literary are as they are often married together and we now have plenty of "mango Bay kids" who go to "mango Bay kindergarden". They are happy, we are happy, you are happy.
I've noticed your comments about Fabien, the french "aloof" restaurant manager. He arrived 2 months ago only so i guess he need to find his "position"...But point noted.
And i noticed you enjoyed Sakura, great lady indeed.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We booked for 6 nights at the Mango Bay to relax after our flight from the UK and it was definitely the right choice.

After a 30 minute (free) transfer from the new airport we had a fast check-in and were shown to our room - more like a mini house on stilts. We booked a Plantation Bungalow with seaview and would certainly recommend this type of room - very private with each bungalow around 10 or 20 metres from the others and built on the side of a hill overlooking the sea.

The resort is sited on a quiet undeveloped strip of coast that can only be accessed by a bumpy dirt road and as a result the whole area is very quiet. Most people dined at the in-house restaurant which is not a problem as the standard was excellent with both Vietnamese and western food on offer. If you want a change of scenery then try a local restaurant called Sakura that is around 5 to 10 minutes walk from the resort - we had a great meal there one evening. If you are on Phu Quoc for more than 2 or 3 days then I would also recommend getting a taxi to the night market in Duong Dong to sample the local seafood at one of the line of stalls that set up at one end of the market.

Back to the resort, I think the biggest positive about Mango Bay are the staff themselves. The standard of service we received was great without exception and the staff did genuinely seem to be happy to work at the resort.

Room Tip: A Plantation Bungalow with Seaview is a worthwhile upgrade
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
439 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
596 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
1,002 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £49 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing