We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #9 of 107 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a really nice, relaxing resort. We spent 5 days there which in my opinion is about the right length of time. There are forty bungalows set in a spacious green area set just back from the beach. The staff are excellent, friendly and plentiful. The food is delicious and healthy although not as cheap as elsewhere in Vietnam. The resort is away from the main town on the island and this makes it much more peaceful and relaxing (the resorts puts on free airport transfers). The bungalows are excellent with nice verandas and open air but private clean bathrooms. Each evening during dinner one of the staff will prepare your room for the night by putting the mosquito net down and lighting mosquito coils. Bungalows have a safe, solar powered hot water, modern rustic furniture and drinking facilities including a rustic ice box. It makes a romantic setting.
The only problem is that the beach can occasionally become dirty - unfortunately the daily tide seems to wash up bits of rubbish. There are always cleaning staff on the beach but it seems no matter how hard they work the rubbish comes ashore quicker than they can clean it up. Luckily this problem only seems to exist at certain times of the day.

Room Tip: Sea view bungalows are probably better but more expensive.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
There are newer reviews for Mango Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Mango Bay Resort was just what i was looking for in accommodation that takes in the natural surroundings of the island and beach. We had a great time at Mango Bay Resort due to the fantastic weather, lovely Fisherman's Bungalow (F03), good food and excellent staff. OMG the food!!

Having travelled to Thailand and stayed in similar style accommodation I would say that the Mopeds are priced a little too high, and the kayak rental is not value for money. Other then that this place made our holiday to Vietnam!

Room Tip: Reading the negative reviews i would say to people, if you don't like nature go find a concrete...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squattinglamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived to Mango Bay Resort after 2 weeks of travelling through Vietnam that we really enjoyed.

This is a unique place, really relaxing, peaceful, nature respectful & great for the last days of a unforgettable vacation :)

Mr Du Xuan Doi was extremly helpful and so kind to move our flight one day forward to stay longer here in this unique place... Thank you so much! We enjoy it a lot!

If you like to have a nature respectful island experience, really friendly staff and excellent cuisine its a must to stay at Mango Bay Resort!

Best
Alex&Myriam

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MyriamSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This resort is located on a beautiful island which is not being spoiled by the mass tourism yet, we had a great time on the island but for the review I will just reflect on the resort.

TOP: The location of the bungalows with restaurant and beach bar are superb, as earlier mentioned good food during the evening and indeed the BBQ at the beach bar is a must! The internet works surprisingly well in the bungalows and around the facilities, there are also two fixed computers at the reception together in a room with a small exchange library as well. The shower and toilet of the bungalows are found outside and thus complementing the fantastic setting! The private bungalow with veranda was so beautifully located with its sea view, nowhere to be found in the western world! A shuttle service is available to visit the Phu Quoc village, scooter rental is next door (Great way to see the island, try also discovering remote villages up north) You can expect a refreshing pick up from the airport, which is free of charge. Luggage is being carried to your bungalow while enjoying a fresh drink, so considering the welcome; top of the bill. The housekeeping is also doing a great job in the morning and evening as they close the mosquito net and light anti-mosquito candles. Thank you!

TIP: First of all I was disappointed by the humid damp smell on the mattress, pillow and sheets. When I notified the front office, I was told that they are hearing these remarks more often but that there was nothing they could do about it. ( surely for the duvets and pillows it must be possible to remove damp smell, I can think of ways to keep the mattress fresh and clean as well) Secondly there are some serious maintenance issues on this resort, walking paths and lightening as well as the beach chairs and umbrella's are in serious need of replacement or maintenance. The hotel employs a lot of staff, (This decreases the opportunity to build up a rapport with any of them) some seem to enjoy their work, others appeared to be rather careless. (EXAMPLE: While we were BBQ-ing at the beach bar, the waiter was playing music from the computer and he created the perfect setting. When he left the bar, his colleague however decided to watch a movie. Consequently the dialogues and sound effects of his movie were suddenly being played over the boxes??!) The breakfast includes bread from the deep freezer, tasteless jam or omelet, sweaty cheese, tasteless juice from a mono pack and for a second coffee you have to be patient before your desire is recognized by the staff.

The food ingredients and juices of the breakfast are such a quality difference in comparison to the relatively pricey food in the evening. This fact doesnt make me feel a valued guest, considering that they only serve you with the most basic types of food and drinks in the morning, because they can not generate extra profit from the breakfast.

This is a very spacious resort, fantastic views over the ocean, beautiful garden and the bungalows completely fit in this great style. However, for the price I was disappointed by the smelling linen, poorly maintained hardware, the quality of the breakfast and also by the professionalism of some staff members.

Room Tip: Superior bungalow with seaview is worthwhile.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HotelloCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Mango Bay Resort is located north of the central town Duong Dong, approx. a 15mins ride by scooter. We contacted the hotel prior to our arrival and they picked us up at the airport (free of charge). The friendly driver welcomed us with refreshing towels and a bottle of water.
The entire island is still (!) a green wild jungle with only a few small untouched towns close to the beaches. There are only a few main roads (through the center of the island) made of asphalt and which are continously being further constructed, moreover you´ve just got sandy bumpy roads.
The resort consists of several bungalows of different types, a beach bar and the central breakfast/lunch/diner area with a stunning ocean view incl. a bar, the reception and a small library/computer room.
While eating, you sit directly at the ocean, watching butterflies and listening to the waves.Really beautiful location!
The breakfast is ok. You can choose between 5 or 6 set menus. Every breakfast choice includes a bread basket and fresh fruits. Besides the lemon juice, the juices are unfortunately not fresh in the morning which was quite a disappointment. In contrast to the breakfast, the quality of the dinner is very high but comparably expensive. However, the meat BBQ (at the beach bar) for two persons is delicious! I can also recommend the cocktails during the Happy Hour, very tasty! As we were travelling on a budget, we enjoyed our upcoming dinners at Sakura, a restaurant within a 5-6 mins. walk from the Mango Bay (def. take a pocket lamp with you).
We stayed for 5 nights at the end of September/beginning of October and we were very lucky with the weather (only one rainy day and evening). We´ve spend the arrival day at the beach of the resort but the sunbeds and umbrellas are very poorly maintained and partly broken. The beach itself is okay, but nothing compared to the Sao Beach in the South!
Our Fisherman Bungalow, which we shared with a few geckos, was very spacious and I loved the outdoor bathroom! Especially when it is raining and you take a warm shower, you couldn-t think of any better place to be. In the evening, the housekeeping will put down the mosquito net and put on incense sticks. There is no A/C, but a ceiling fan as well as one fan standing worked quite well during the night. Due to the fact that the bungalow got only 2 small lamps, it can quite difficult to see anything during the evening. But the biggest negative issue were the sheets and pillows which smelled mouldy. (But I can imagine that this is difficult to handle due to the humidity and heat). On the terrace, the bungalow was equipped with two sun beds and a table with two chairs. The hotel offers also a laundry service. The paths leading to the bungalows could get quite tricky, especially when dark or slippery, as they consisted of loose stones of different height and with holes in between.
Compared to other employees who we met during our journey, the staff at the Mango Bay did not make a very dedicated impression and considering the number of English speaking travellers, the language skills of the employees should be improved to communicate a bit better. However, Kei (front office) as well as the two trainees (Thai and another lovely girl) were really dedicated and helpful.
We rented a scooter a couple of times which worked very well. In this way, you can discover the island perfectly (better take a towel or pilow to put below you butt and you will survive the bumps). The development goes rapidly and the construction sites of 5* luxury resorts are scary to see...
All in all, we enjoyed our stay in the Mango Bay resort. It was a great mix of relaxation and discovery, but the various maintenance issues (broken sun beds and umbrellas, mouldy smelling sheets, dangerous/non existing paths) as well as the general lack of dedication and English-language barriers prevent me from a higher rating.

Room Tip: The Fisherman Bungalow with Sea is a great choice. It is spacious, you have your own terrace and a n...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGirlsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the lovely Mango Bay a Resort for 6 nights at the end of October. We stayed in a plantation bungalow with seaview. Firstly the beaches here are the best on phu quoc. Having the luxury of 6 nights there, we did manage to explore other parts of the island and always found ourselves returning to Mango Bay saying "we should have stayed here!" The resort is a little way out and it is a hairy ride on the bike to town but there is a shuttle bus to town in the middle of the day. The beach bar and restaurant are lovely. Great cocktails and amazing food. We had the best fish at the restaurant we have ever eaten! We also did the cooking course which was great fun and delicious. Yes there are bugs and geckos but it's all part of the experience. We stayed in resorts in Vietnam where we could have been anywhere in the world, but mango bay gets the balance right so you experience a beautiful resort with amazing hospitality without ever forgetting where you are!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very nicely designed lodges, in particular the bathrooms in a tropical garden which were great. Staff were very helpful and keen to make sure you enjoyed the stay. Location great if you are looking for a quiet out of the way beach location to relax and get away from it all. Restaurant served excellent food and we enjoyed all our meals in a great setting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
441 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
597 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
1,005 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £55 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing