We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from it all.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Pomona, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Away from it all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

My daughter and I spent a week here and it was divine. We enjoyed the spa treatment the cooking lessons and the environment to relax in. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to find a hideaway to relax. The different bungalows were awesome.

Room Tip: Down near the beach is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kahunajenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    353
    81
    44
    13
See reviews for
269
969
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

without phone, without tv, without pool. beautiful bay with some small canoe. good spot viewing directly to the west sunset. architecture made from all wooden rustic style. small library . eficient and eco friendly.

and have a butterfly garden, quite good but i didnt see a lot of them.
the staff are quite friendly and have good english. the road is off road. close to sakura restaurant

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna_photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you are looking to unwind, there is no better place! The beach here is stunning. Mango Bay as a resort is faultless: very friendly staff, amazing food, lovely rooms and bathrooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LA20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Meals at Mango Bay are idyllic, both in terms of the quality of the food and the setting. Everything we ordered was amazing, creative yet authentic (the Cha Ca was divine). The beach BBQ of seafood was heavenly, so fresh and ably prepared. It was hard to leave the cool vibe of the main restaurant for the BBQ since the music at the beach is more pop & hip hop and the setting more spare. Charles, the GM, couldn't be more welcoming, thoughtful and genuinely concerned that you enjoy your time. He is a gem. The rest of the staff were equally warm. Personally I found the resort itself a little too spare. It is certainly authentic. We stayed in a charming rammed earth bungalow with a beautiful outdoor garden bathroom. No A/C. No TV. No pool. I found the dampness hard to acclimatize to. The beaches are very pretty but not much for swimming. It's a good place for checking out, lounging with a book, living a lush, damp, simple escape. I kind of missed having a pool and god forbid a fitness center. I would go back tomorrow for another meal. I'm not sure I'd stay again since I'm not the rustic type. I agree - not for everyone - but if you seek quiet, remote, authentic and welcoming retreat, you'll be very content.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank limiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Location: Stunning location spreadout across lovely gardens and small beaches. One bad thing is there is quite a lot of rubbish in the sea. I would recommend the hotel trying to remove the rubbish from the sea around the hotel and to try and educate the locals not to litter the sea. It's such a shame as otherwise the island is stunning.
Bungalow: We stayed in a garden bungalow which was basic but had all we needed (note - no TV, AC etc...). Having no AC was not an issue but I would recommend taking ear plugs as the insects can be very noisy at night.
Activities: The snorkelling was reasonable and it looked like a good place to go sea kayaking. If you wish to get out of the resort I'd recommend hiring Mopeds and exploring the island especially the North of the island which has basically no tourism.
Food: Good variety and selection
Staff: Helpful and spoke very good English
Value: It was maybe a tad expensive for Vietnam but overall I think it was worth it. Rammed Earth bungalow might prove better value than the garden bungalow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolamon, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Let me first start by saying the resort is in a beautiful location on calm soothing waters and is in a perfect spot to watch the sunset. The staff are very attentive and helpful and everyone speaks good English. I will point out some pros and cons though to help make your decision to stay here on not easier for your tastes etc.

Pros:

Beautiful setting
Great if you want a relaxing break
Calm waters
Great gardens and setting
Delicious food
Activities like kayaking and snorkelling for free
Feels like you're part of the surroundings

Cons:
It is quite a distance from town and any other restaurants or choices so if you feel like you want to explore the island there are probably more accessible places to base yourself from.
Most of the roads are terrible, boggy and rough and it is a long and slow trip to anywhere, making you think twice about bothering to go out.
I know it is an Eco resort and people have said that the lack of A/C is fine but you can't exactly sleep with the doors open as the cicadas come inside and the fans just don't cut it. This meant two very restless nice sleeps and we are very tired now.
The restaurant has amazing food and we loved it but didn't so much enjoy sharing it with the mozzies and flies. I think they need to have a section if the dining room closed off and with A/C just to allow guests to get a reprieve from the humidity and flies.
I believe that for the price in Vietnam especially, it is quite expensive. I have no hesitation in paying that if there was better cooling etc and I believe that the view was lovely but got a little tired of constantly putting on insect repellent and not being able to have a cool and comfortable sleep.

Recommended for people who just want to relax and read books in the peaceful surrounds and are a little more acclimatised to the humidity.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Booking resorts like this can be a bit of a lottery. Mango Bay was a winner. Charles who runs the show knows what he's doing. An American with all the patter, he ensures the place runs like clockwork. The pace is slow and relaxed, the roomz and food great. Yes it's pricier than most towns, but this really is a low density resort and they havr to meke money some how. Beer is 40000vnd. A main course between 150000 and 300000vnd. Great food. We would like to return some day.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimnhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.0 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing