We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True island paradise”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We loved loved loved our stay at Mango Bay. The location is picturesque - the huts are set back in the lush greenery and the beach is quiet with blue water and clean sand. Service was fantastic. For our honeymoon, they gifted us a bottle of wine. And standard greeting is a little snack and fresh fruit juice. Showering in that outdoor bathroom was definitely a highlight. With choices between two different beaches and lots of activities, you may never want to leave. But if you do, they have free shuttles into town and scooters and cheap and easy to rent.

Fair warning that food and drink prices are quite high for Vietnam, but the quality is outstanding. (And don't expect AC... and do expect bugs and geckos! Adds to the ambiance, right?)

Room Tip: The rammed earth bungalows seemed a bit smaller and less private than the plantation rooms. We still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in May and absolutely loved the whole stay. It is very relaxing and has a lovely feel about the place. We stayed in a sea view plantation bungalow and had a brilliant view of the ocean. The bungalow's veranda and outside bathroom are great touches and we loved feeling at one with nature. We tried the Vietnamese cooking class which was fun but we felt that it was more of a demo than a class so maybe slightly over priced- but nevertheless it was an experience. We were disappointed to find that we had arrived in their 'low season' and therefore the free boat trip was no longer active and there were no longer any organised sports- something we were not made aware of before visiting. The hotel did, however help to organise a scuba diving trip which was great and also arranged for a taxi to take us to Sao beach one day. We paid just £30 and we had the driver for 8 hours. He drove us south to Sao beach, waited in the car park for a few hours then drove us back via a waterfall. It was a brilliant day. The staff at Mango Bay really exceeded themselves and went above and beyond. The food was absolutely amazing and worth the money- it cost more than other places but it was the best food we had in Vietnam. We also really enjoyed the film nights which we enjoyed in the beach bar and playing the card games and chess with Hao, the waiter. We would definitely stay at Mango Bay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in the first week of may and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. However the price we paid for a plantation bungalow (£125 per night) was obscene and not worth the money. In fact when we arrived room rates were reduced by half due to being the start of the low season. If you're going to stay here, get a room at reduced rate. The bungalow itself is lovely & secluded but very basic & minimal. It is an Eco resort & you will find geckos, insects & the odd 'tarantula' looking spider in your room as we did, but it really didn't bother me & I'm not usually one for creepy crawlies. We also found tucking our mosquito net into our bed at night kept all the little critters out. It was lovely to be able to hear the sea & wildlife at night. The food we ate here was some of the best we had in Vietnam, highly recommend the seafood BBQ. We also loved the secluded beach bar, perfect place to watch the sun set with
a fresh passion fruit mojito or watch one of the films at the outdoor cinema. The sea wasn't the cleanest but that cant be helped & we only saw the odd jellyfish. I would definitely stay here again, but at a cheaper rate & I would highly recommend Mango Bay for couples as its a great romantic retreat!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I loved our week at Mango Bay. Our bungalow was gorgeous and the whole resort grounds are stunning. We were really able to unwind here and take life at a slower pace. The food at the restaurant is authentic, fresh and delicious with enough variety to eat here for a week. Vietnamese pancake was a favourite. We did yoga with Fritzie, had a few enjoyable spa treatments and watched movies at the Beach Bar in evening. The restaurant balcony hangs over the sea and we whiled away many a day here playing chess, reading books and sipping smoothies. Staff all incredibly friendly and helpful. Only complaint was mattress was uncomfortable and things beyond control of resort staff, eg heat and sandflies (don't lie in sand!) I would go back in a flash but perhaps in a cooler month.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been to Mango Bay many many times over the years and thought it was time to put pen to paper!
We are a family of 4 and live nearby...from fresh seafood to Pizza or Spagetti for the kids we have had just about tried everything on their menu and have no complaint!
The staff are always friendly and very welcoming, when at the beach they are always playing ball games and stuff with our kids....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BuddyIceCream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spacious grounds across the coastline with 2 beaches & beach bar. Main restaurant has decking on the rocks overlooking rock pools of fish with stunning sunsets with glass of wine. Bungalows are spacious with outside courtyard/bathroom. Perfect place to relax, swim, lounge under the palm umbrellas and great food menu. Delicious choice for breakfast overlooking the water - bring a good book.

Room Tip: As solo traveller I liked the bungalows close to the restaurants and between the 2 beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgates50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We've been back to Mango Bay twice in April which were our 3rd and 4th visits in total. It's just so good, I can't imagine going anywhere else on holiday from Saigon. The staff are always lovely and friendly. The rooms are so beautiful and comfortable. The scenery is amazing and the food and drink are of a very high standard with a great selection. The resort has changed a bit since the first time we went and now the restaurant has a larger outdoor space, which works really well. They're also building more bungalows at the moment so it will get busier. My only hope is that it doesn't change too much as I just think it's perfect as it is and like that fact that it never feels too busy or crowded. We're really hoping to visit again in July before leaving Vietnam, but I know that even if we move away, we'll still keep returning to Mango Bay as I can't find any better resorts that I'd want to go to in other countries.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flobo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
452 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
605 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 48 in Duong Dong
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 48 in Duong Dong
1,125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
1,016 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £71 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing