We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance”
Review of Mai House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mai House Resort
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect balance”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We checked into here after walking past and looking at the hotel from the beach. It was great, a perfect balance of simplicity and hotel amenities. The rooms were nicely furnished, clean and cool. The hotel was accommodating with mopeds for rent from $7 and the restaurant was excellent with friendly staff.

The beach area is fantastic and it's generally just very secluded and relaxing. Go now before the place if over run and turns into a megalopolis tourist resort - its going to happen fast.

Only slightly disappointing thing was with a late flight out of Pho Quoc they weren't able to accommodate a room for us to change in so we had to use the hotel beach shower and bathrooms.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a beach view really so don't worry about not getting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    164
    48
    33
    18
See reviews for
73
366
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We had a lovely stay here for our honeymoon. The staff were great, so friendly and always willing to help! Great breakfast and the restaurant serves really yummy food. The rooms, although basic have a certain charm to them and are cleaned daily. Such a relaxing stay lounging around on the lounge chairs by the water!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Nice location on the beach. Paid us 230 per evening for two a/c bungalow house which were semi attached. Atmospheric, traditional roofed house. Good service, nice food etc. The a/c was broken which kept us awake for the three nights we stayed there. Could fix it by fiddling around turning off the mains supply but you would be awake in a sweat. Complained second night and told the solution was to turn mains power on and off. Settled bill on third evening as we were flying out early and mentioned it as a problem. It was investigated and the thing packed up completely. Very uncomfortable night followed. Paid $690.00 US for the 3 nights and got given $50 US back on the last morning without asking. Still paid a lot for a semi a/c room. The kids room was ok air con wise but was very musty smelling with no outlook.
This was their best room with ocean views. To be realistic I found that accommodation price for the whole island is over priced. For less money I know I can have beach side views in top hotel in Perth WA where I live. Beach is hands down better and way less crowded. Foods not as good.
Was nice to have a look but not in a hurry to revisit this part of Vietnam. Better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerrymac98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homps, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We booked this to have a bit of (relative) luxury after three weeks of travelling around Vietnam but overall were slightly disappointed. Having said that there were many positives about Mai House.
The bungalows are set in beautiful grounds which are very highly maintained. However we felt they were more basic than expected - in the whole bungalow there was only one shelf and 1/3 of that was taken up with the safe. So it was not possible to put our clothes away on a 7 night stay. There wasn't even a shelf in the bathroom cupboard under the sink (which was dirty on arrival and only cleaned on the 3rd day when I left the doors open) and no storage in the bedside cabinets either.
I had to ask for extra hangers as there were only 3 on arrival but this was addressed straight away.
There was also a strong smell of damp in our bungalow which may well be due to the fact that they are thatched but it wasn't pleasant.
The restaurant food was very good and the best place that we ate in Phu Quoc (although salad portions were a bit small) and the restaurant staff were really nice. This was very fortunate as it rained every night that we were there (most evenings quite briefly) and as the town is not really worth the 2 km walk and the road from Mai House to the main road is not paved and tricky when wet, it was good to have somewhere nice to eat on site.
We couldn't quite put our finger on why but there was a slightly strange 'vibe' at Mai House and that it lacked finesse so they need to watch out as it may be overtaken by the other choices available which are growing all the time.


We were quite surprised that there were no Vietnamese options at all at breakfast time - the only place in a month's travels.

Room Tip: Don't worry about a non sea view - all the bungalows are nicely placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingoodco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwetzingen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The area and the garden are really nice, also the beach. But that`s it. The bungalws are pretty decent, not really clean. The roof is leaking and orange liquid is dripping from time to time on your bed. The stains can´t be removed from your clothes if you happen to get wet. The bathroom is nice, but is only divided by a curtain from the bedroom. So you can take part of all the digestive action and smell of the person, you`re sharing your room with. Our bungalow (also reserved 5 month ahead) was directly situated next to construction work on the neighbour`s property. There were sawchains roaring from 7.00 or 7.30 a.m. until 5.00 or 5.30 p.m. One evening they started again at 9.00p.m. for a while. But the worst was the attitude of the staff: On our whole travel we met the nicest, attentive staff, doing their best and even more to make your stay a most pleasant one. Except one or two boys, who were friendly, the rest was unattentive, even rude. They had not really much to do, but every time you adressed them, you were treated like a molesting mosquito. Not at all what I expected...The breakfast was very french, no chance of vietnamese breakfast, because every extra wish you had, was charged extra. The chairs on the beach were partly very rotten and there weren`t enough mattresses for all the guests.On our arrival at 1 p.m. our bungalow wasn`t ready. They sent us to the restaurant to have a coffee (for which we were charged afterwards) and they promised us that it would be ready in 20 minutes. We had to wait 1,5 hours, then the bungalow was cleaned, but they didn't find the key and the safe was also not useable, so we couldn`t leave our things behind and leave the room. That took another 1,5 hours to work out. My conclusion: for 105 USD I had expected much more...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here for two nights in November 2012, and had a bungalow with a garden view. I absolutely loved the place, but the bungalow smelled like damp. It did not help with the air-con or the fan. Apart from that, the place was amazing. We went for walks along the beach, and I think Mai House has the best location on Long Beach. Clean beach towels are provided every day. The restaurant is also good. However, we tried to ask for recommendations when looking at the menu, which was quite impossible due to the fact that the waiters did not speak much English. I also have to recommend the seafood restaurant next to Mai House, superb and cheap food!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ielise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

5 days stay, and a 17hour trip from check in to beach was a good start. accommodation was good but at $80 night i was surprised that no pick-up was organized by the hotel. Still taxis were metered and reasonable [$6 ish]. Insist on the going rate if changing Sterling or Euro notes [ATM at airport for an idea of rates]
Beach was just fine and we ate exclusively at the resorts place. Bungalows were good and you don't need the beach view; its Ok further back and the palm tree grove which houses the sun-beds obscures the view from 'beach view' places.
Services were good and the overall satisfaction was real enough, though staying next in Seim Reap [ Siddharta Resort - excellent at $85] was streets ahead of Mia House. There is plenty of choice on the 'long beach' as its called of food and of alternative places to stay.The weather whilst wetter than we expected was spectacular in its donner und blizzen - 22nd Nov 2012. The rain at night was noisy as the roof is platted palm leaves which offer no mass to deaden noise and permeates any noise outside into the room. No storage to speak of by the way [a minus] though the a/c and the punka fan worked fine. Grounds were well tended and attractive and staff efficient and helpful. The guard at the gate was on occasions nowhere to be seen at night so a minor gripe there.
HOWEVER - and this can not be a criticism of the Mai House per se is that there has opened a nearby open air 'Venue' at which music is played unrestricted in volume--- till 5am IN THE MORNING!! Its about 1/2 miles away maybe less, but in the heavy tropic air and with the open weave roof material one can not sleep - at all. Two nights running [Sat and Sun] till 5 am and 2 either side till1.00am. So unless and until the local police or commune sort out the propagation of noise we can not recommend the place as a chill out place. Go north or south on the Long Beach and pay the extra taxi fare. The town [ $3 ride 25min walk] is nothing special really so you aren't losing and may gain considerably by being away from the Town and this pestilential 'Venue'. cheaper and quieter.
To sum up - a good place well run and reliable food if restricted choice - [you will see what I mean after the 3rd night]. Breakfasts were good but again [a recurrent theme with me] the music in the eatery/bar was really for the benefit of the staff rather than the customers, almost at a volume that inhibited conversation - Bob Marley every night? Was overpriced I think and the Night noise was a No-NO!
Hasta la vista! Baby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pegleg1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,103 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
580 reviews
14.5 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercury Phu Quoc Resort & Villas
0.1 mi away
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Duong Dong
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
#8 of 47 in Duong Dong
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai House Resort

Property: Mai House Resort
Address: Long Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai House Resort is located on Long Beach, 5 kms away from Duong Dong city and the airport. The resort is located on a 2 hectares tropical garden, right on the beach with only 30 accommodations units (26 with AC&FAN, 4 with only FAN) each bungalow is separated from the others to preserve tranquility and privacy of our guests. A bar-restaurant right on the beach prepares Vietnamese seafood specialties, barbecue and Western food.A beach fully equipped with sunshades, sunloungers and beach towels. Each bungalow with thatched roof is private with a furnished balcony, a bungalow with king size 4 poster bed with mosquito net, a private bathroom (shower) with hot water and toilet and a closet with safety box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mai House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing