We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price, excellent staff and comfy rooms”
Review of Mai House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mai House Resort
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good price, excellent staff and comfy rooms”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for a period of 10 days in August 2013. The water was rough and it was quite windy, but we had a blast anyway.

We went around the island on scooter on half-finished roads, and when we were not about, we enjoyed food in the restaurant or coffee/wine in our room. The restaurant had by far the best food and staff was so friendly, we had had many interesting talks. Especially with Mr. Ut and his two other English speeking waiters.

Our Aircon kept turning off due to power failure on the island, after a few complaints they gave us a free night. Kudos for that

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sch0sler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    164
    48
    33
    18
See reviews for
73
365
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

If you are thinking of staying at PhuQuoc, you should stay here. We really loved our stay at the Mai House Resort. Rooms are comfortable with AC and ventilation as well as a small terrace which is perfect to enjoy a cold beer while watching the sun set.
Staff is extremely nice, smiley and eager to help. They could maybe be a little more fluent in English but compensate by kindness.
Restaurant was delicious; so much that we ate there every night!
The only negative part is that this hotel is not baby friendly with no baby chairs and no baby beds.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SoMaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms, worm staff. Restaurant located right on the beach. Our only complaint was the hot water. We had no hot water in the first room we got. After we asked to change our room, we had just worm water. We realy recommend renting a motorbyke and driving around the island.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EphiEla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Everything a family needs in a tropical island resort. Lovely restaurant on the beach with a nice breeze, relaxing ambience in the evenings and very helpful staff. Rented two connecting rooms with sea view and nice patio from the front bungalow. Even on a rainy day we truly enjoyed our stay. Enough comfort, peace and quiet and a beautifully kept garden.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia traveller X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Paradise by the beach, the bungalows are quaint, neat and tidy and the resort has very good value, friendly service, the food is great and the bar has good drinks. Quiet and secluded but fairly close to everything, this resort is the best kept secret on Phu Quoc Island.

Room Tip: Garden view bungalows are fine, as you are never more than a hop skip and a jump from the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

very nice resort, comfortable cosy rooms, nice surrounding, the breakfast buffet is really good (bread, cereales, pancakes, eggs, coffee, juice..). however the sea is dirty, not the best beach of the island. in general, a very nice place.for a good value for money

Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Don't bother booking sea view bungalows, they don't bring much value than garden view bungalow. No problem having no TV in the room but a fridge is more useful than a safe deposit box.
Cocktails are good and cheap while the food is acceptable.

Very quiet place

Room Tip: Sea view are quite far from the sea. Rather choose a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlydonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
14.5 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 47 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.0 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.9 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#10 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai House Resort

Property: Mai House Resort
Address: Long Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai House Resort is located on Long Beach, 5 kms away from Duong Dong city and the airport. The resort is located on a 2 hectares tropical garden, right on the beach with only 30 accommodations units (26 with AC&FAN, 4 with only FAN) each bungalow is separated from the others to preserve tranquility and privacy of our guests. A bar-restaurant right on the beach prepares Vietnamese seafood specialties, barbecue and Western food.A beach fully equipped with sunshades, sunloungers and beach towels. Each bungalow with thatched roof is private with a furnished balcony, a bungalow with king size 4 poster bed with mosquito net, a private bathroom (shower) with hot water and toilet and a closet with safety box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mai House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing