We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing”
Review of Mai House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mai House Resort
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed 26 April 2007

We stayed in Mai House Resort in April 2007 and I must say that it was really a nice experience. There are wooden bungalows set in a lush green gardens. It was great to sit on our own terrace in the evenings and listen to the frogs and cricets singing and to look at the stars. Staff of Mai House were very friendly and they also arranges motorbike taxis for us to explore the island. We visited pepper farms and beautiful secluded paradise beaches. The beach infront of Mai House is clean with white, soft sand, palm trees and beach chairs. Restaurant is set right on the beach and the seafood was truly delicious. Compared to the other hotels on the Long Beach, Mai House Resort was far the best. It is small, cosy, clean and friendly (it has a French manager and this quarantees western standards and great food!). We will stay with Mai House next time as well.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KatjaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    164
    48
    33
    18
See reviews for
73
366
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2007

This is the best accommodation we saw in Phu Quoc. Certainly, the other examples along Long Beach seemed gaudy by comparison.

Resorts like this run the danger of being a little too comfortable, which would make you feel like you could be anywhere. However, EVERYTHING is tasteful. Even little things like a ceiling fan rather than air con in the bungalows. It all makes it feel a little more tropical.

One word on the owner. He's got a wise head on him. Follow his advice on seeing the island. He knows his bananas. On our last day we went to a fishing village that felt like the end of the earth. (I wont name it - it's wonderfully free of Westerners at the moment). It was the perfect antidote to the filth, passion and excitement of Saigon.

  • Liked — Sea views
  • Disliked — Insects
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HooberUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2007

As most of the other reviews state, Mai House was the perfect place to relax for a few days. We stayed three but would have been happy with a few more.

Our bungalow was attached to the owners house. It had a direct view of the beach 50 feet away. The only warnings I would give to others staying in the same bungalow would be 1: The resident dog, Malou is slightly tempermental and psycho and lives right next door so he barks and barks and barks at you every time you walk by. Just steal some bacon from breakfast and give it to him and he'll warm up to you quickly. 2: Mosquitos! Use the net.

We ate at the Mai House restaurant every night and it was amazing! The owners wife is the chef. It was the best food we ate in all of Vietnam (except for the Sofitel in Hanoi).

As soon as you sit in your beach chair you will be approached by local girls who want to massage you for about $3 US per hour. Some guests seemed annoyed by them but we loved it and got massages, manicures and pedicures everyday. Laying right next to the ocean, sipping a cocktail and getting a good massage was increidible.

If you would like to get fruity tropical drinks while you are laying on the beach, I would suggest going to the Rainbow Bar which is directly next to Mai House and bringing them back to your beach chair. They have a much better selection and the price is half of what you would pay at Mai House.

Walking up and down the beach, we also felt lucky that we had picked the nicest place. I would definately recommend staying at Mai House.

You can email: [---] to make a reservation.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chip2524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

We stayed at Mai House on Phu Quoc Island for 10 wonderful relaxing days in January 2007. Sea view bungalow at $60 / night incl breakfast.

If you are looking for wild night life, Mai House is not for you (nor is Phu Quoc) but if you are looking for a beautiful, calm setting to soak in sun, relax, read a book, swim and enjoy lovely food Mai House is heaven.

Mai House mixes rustic comfort with tasteful charm. Individual thatched roof bungalows are set, a good distance apart, in a cared for garden only steps away from a perfectly golden, palm-shaded beach with comfortable sun beds.
The bungalows are simple (fan, safe, no fridge) but clean and charming. A little strange at first is the fact that the bedroom and bathroom are not actually separated from each other; the dividing wall does not reach up under the high roof. Although unusual it did not deter us from extending our stay beyond what we had originally planned.

The food is lovely and inexpensive: a fresh breakfast is included in the price. For lunch try the fresh spring rolls and squid fritters or Pho, and for dinner a real treat is the hot&sour hot pot soup for two which you prepare yourself at your table. All meals are served in the cozy open-air restaurant that even has a few tables right on the beach (do cover up against the mosquitoes).

The owners and staff are not only efficient and helpful but also warm and friendly!

Walking along the beach, looking at the other resorts we felt we had the luck of staying at the nicest one. It is noteworthy however that we did not find it as deserted as we had maybe imagined based on the other reviews: most of the sun beds are occupied throughout the day and the restaurant fills up considerably at night. However most of the guests are quiet and keep to themselves

- motorbikes are available for hire – take a trip to the town’s market. Or make a full day excursion to the north of the island – fishing villages and empty beautiful beaches
- internet is available at the Sea Star Resort a few minutes walk direction town (nice for lunch. Try the ban xeo “pancake”)
- for evening drinks there is the Eden bar walking down the beach away from town – nice for drinks but avoid the food
- the resort will transport you from and to the airport (free if you stay 3 nights or more)
- Book in advance as the resort seems to book up fast

  • Liked — peaceful, beautiful surroundings, good food
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2007

We stayed at May House for eight nights in January/February 2007. In front of our bungalow there was a beautiful, well-kept garden with palm trees and lots of other plants. Next to the garden there were the beach and the blue sea. In the evenings we used to sit at our veranda watching the sunset over the sea. In addition to the magnificent surroundings, the service was great and the food excellent.

If you're looking for a quite place with few tourists on the beach, which you sometimes have to share with cows, where you can watch local fishermen catching their fish, and getting an hour's massage for 50,000 dong, we can really recommend May House. We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — the unspoiled beach with few tourists
  • Disliked — the mosquito-bites
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ubkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2007

I stayed at Mai House for three nights with my partner, and we had a truly great time. In fact, we enjoyed ourselves so much at Mai House on our very first day in Phu Quoc, that we determined it would probably be a mistake to leave looking for anywhere better to eat or spend our day. Did we end up regretting it? Absolutely not. Instead we ended up spending three days reading in the shade, eating some of the most amazing food we came across in Asia (try the whole red snapper with hot salt), drinking white wine, and sleeping in crisp white sheets.

The owner is very friendly and helpful, the staff are amazingly professional and warm, and the location is beautiful. The resort itself is also much more natural and relaxed than the other larger Phu Quoc resorts (Mai House has ony 14 or so bungalows).

A beautiful place to stay. Would recommend it highly couples or anyone looking for a really rejuvenating break.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ibericanism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2007

We had a great time at Mai House. We didn't expect the food to be so good, because it isn't mentioned in any of the guidebooks, but of the four nights we were there, we ate "in" twice. Excellent grilled fish and squid for very reasonable prices and delicious breakfasts. The "grotto" showers are great, and in December there weren't many mosquitoes, although we did use the mosquito net and fan. The staff is quiet but friendly. Gerard is a gracious host, watches over everything, and can arrange trips and activities at a moment's notice, including a motorbike tour of the island. Phu Quoc has now been mentioned as the "next big winter beach place" in both the New York Times and Conde Nast Traveler, so who knows how long it will remain quiet and laid back, so go now and stay at Mai House.

  • Liked — Setting, bungalows, beach
  • Disliked — One day there was necessary burning to clear land, which created smoke
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JeanfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,112 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
586 reviews
14.5 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Sense Resort
Sea Sense Resort
#29 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Duong Dong
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai House Resort

Property: Mai House Resort
Address: Long Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai House Resort is located on Long Beach, 5 kms away from Duong Dong city and the airport. The resort is located on a 2 hectares tropical garden, right on the beach with only 30 accommodations units (26 with AC&FAN, 4 with only FAN) each bungalow is separated from the others to preserve tranquility and privacy of our guests. A bar-restaurant right on the beach prepares Vietnamese seafood specialties, barbecue and Western food.A beach fully equipped with sunshades, sunloungers and beach towels. Each bungalow with thatched roof is private with a furnished balcony, a bungalow with king size 4 poster bed with mosquito net, a private bathroom (shower) with hot water and toilet and a closet with safety box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mai House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing