We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind”
Review of Hiep Thanh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hiep Thanh Hotel
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to unwind”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Smashing hotel, staff are friendly rooms are great for the price (we are staying in hotel part not the bungalows) Toto the main man for any help you need sorting anything out.The only draw back to the hotel is that its down a dark badly lit unevenly cobbled track, maybe not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. Phu quoc itself a bit sleepy but if you like a late drink (as i do )there are still a few bars to be found,mainly Amigos +Casbahs. Genuinley a nice place to relax on the beach.

Room Tip: Bungalows maybe best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly5698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
30
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed there in Nov 2011. Got a bungalow with three beds although just needed (and booked) one double and had to pay for three beds. Bungalow was ok though, nice size and cleaned every day. The nearby beach was clean and not that crowded. Resort is a bit distant from the city which makes it a quiet but still convenient place. As far as staff, the lower level staff is helpful; however, the place is run by a younger guy who lacks professionalism and friendly attitude and that itself can ruin the experience. On the plus side, they are rather flexible with reservations. They could work on the breakfast menu (add some more choice, otherwise you have to choose between eggs and eggs), as well as on the dining area which is quite neglected.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margareta X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This is a nice resort worth the money you pay for. The resort consists of a very well maintained tropical garden with a beach front. The staff is not wverwhelming friendly but manages the resort in a profesional manner. Problems are solved and things happen like planned.

We had a (non-beach front) bungalow for $50 per night. The bungalow was clean and had the standard you expect. No luxury but very nice and friendly surrounding. We felt very comfortable. In comparison to our first accomodation in Phu Quoc where we had to escape because the room was wet and smelling, the Hiep Than Hotel offers a much better standard for a reasonable price.

It is a good place to experience some days of relaxing and chilling in a tropical environment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Our first choice on Phu Quoc was unavailable, so we booked here for three nights with our Vietnamese friends. Can't remember what we paid, but a little over the odds at $50 or $60 for garden view rooms, which we requested.

Hotel picked us up from the airport with no problem, and our bags were carried to our respective rooms. If you have spent time in Vietnam you will know that fluorescent lighting and no bedside lamps are par for the course in low end hotel rooms. We had a pretty comfortable bed and TV with I think a reasonable satellite service. Not much else in the very clean bedroom.

Bathroom was very clean, but only one towel apiece and I think only soap and bad shampoo. Fiddling with the water system provided reasonably warm water.

A very pleasant and comfortable little terrace in front of each room/bungalow, which was good to relax in at various times. A nice environment.

Breakfast was the usual "pick one of these" menus, but when we took a little more from the buffet table, nobody seemed to notice. Service was not very professional, but reasonably responsive. I was told the coffee was good. And lots of fruit for the taking.

We did not have any other meals at the hotel, although there was a booth on the beach that provided light lunches etc. We usually walked along the beach at lunch time to one of the other "resorts" and ate there, just for a change. Interesting that on the one day I had some beach time, the towels provided (when I asked) were a pretty rough assortment. Clean, but not even Holiday Inn standard.

Location is good, although the beach along the whole extent was plagued with erosion. Lovely shallow, warm water, but I'm not sure what is going to happen over the next few years. One can walk into town, but probably not a good idea to walk back. There are always taxis around and the hotel will provide transportation for a reasonable fee.

Free internet service at the reception area. Seemed to be wi-fi sometimes, but not always. Service was good - even when things went pear-shaped, they were happy to fix it, and we were all very pleased with that side of things.

Would probably stay here again, as the atmosphere and the service was convivial. But if you don't know Vietnam, you might be unhappy.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Had a similar experience to other reviewers....overall, this resort was disgusting, the staff rude and always yelling at each other (possibly at us too...I couldn't tell), and the beach-front bungalow was expensive, dirty, with an uncomfortable bed, and the shower had the most black mold I have ever seen in my whole life. I wish that we had been smart and changed locations after the first night. The only good thing were two cute puppies which the staff kept kicking or throwing objects at....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmahulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phu Quoc Island hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We had booked a beach front bungalow for 4 nights @ $79US per night. Started ok as we were picked up on time from the airport with a free transfer.

Once at the place, we were a bit taken aback by the haste at which the reception boy (we later found out his name was Toto) rushed us to sign our forms, take our passports off us and usher us out to our room. No introductions, no showing round, no care.

The general setting of the place is ok - very much like many beachfront resorts. Path through the centre of 20+ bungalows to the beach front. Once at our bungalow, we were let in and left to it.

The bungalow, despite being the most expensive at the place and in prime position on the beach, was poor. On opening the door, the room smelt musty, damp and of cigarette smoke. Paint was peeling off the walls and most of the furniture was either broken, utterly dated or dusty.

The theme continued into the bathroom, which was big enough, but not of a standard you would expect for $80US per night. The tap on the sink was loose and felt like it was going to come off in your hand every time you used it. The towels were stained and threadbare.

We had 2 double beds in our room and both sets of sheets were dirty. One bed was stained yellow in a large patch (yes, you've gussed it!) and the other had stains and marks on both the sheets and the pillows. Above the bed was a lamp (a bit like a rustic outside lamp you'd have in your garden) which was covered in cobwebs like it had never been cleaned since the bunglaow was built. Above that was a stark, fluorescent school-like tube lamp. All grim.

So, we decided to complain and went back to reception - unfortunately to be met by cocksure Toto.

Hats off, he immediately summoned cleaning help and marched us back down to the room with 4+staff in hot pursuit. He then proceeded to launch into an attack on the staff, in front of us. Clearly the staff were arguing back to him about the room. It was at this point that we decided to go outside as we didn't wish to be part of the argument and certainly didn't want to be part of the repurcussions.

1.5hours later, including a visit by a smoking joiner who continued to smoke inside the room, we were told our room was ready and should be to our standard (shouldn't all rooms be cleaned as a matter of course?!). The room was clean, but still incredibly shabby and no sign of any apology from Toto, who seemed to be running the show.

At this stage, we decided enough was enough, so we decided we were going to leave the next day. Dinner was great, as we ate elsewhere. Breakfast at Hiep Thanh was a shambolic, fly covered affair. Which cemented our opinion we had done the right thing to look elsewhere.

On leaving, Toto offered no apology, no "how was the room", just the same cocksure sneer that he had offered us the day before when we complained. It staggered us that someone so incompetent and churlish could be running the place.

You have been warned!

We did find a tranquil haven in Phu Quoc, a stone's throw from this heap (Hiep) at Mai House, where we were happy to pay $90US+ for a $90US+ stay and service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeedonAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We spent three nights here in early November and it was great, we spent the first night in the main hotel and the rest in one of the bungalow which are down by the beach, I would recommend paying a bit extra for one of the bungalows which has a nice veranda you can sit and chill on.

We loved the slightly out of the way location although you can walk into town in about 20 mins. Tho Tho the manager is a great guy and very helpful. Try the massage on the beach, very good price and relaxing atmosphere.

Whilst you are staying here you have to eat at Ganesh and Chez Carole on the main strip about 10 mins walk from resort.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi_8016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#22 of 102 in Phu Quoc Island
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#17 of 47 in Duong Dong
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orange Resort
Orange Resort
#23 of 122 in Duong Dong
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amelia Hotel
Amelia Hotel
#29 of 107 in Duong Dong
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mai Spa & Resort
Mai Spa & Resort
#32 of 208 in Phu Quoc Island
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Toan Xuan Guesthouse
#39 of 107 in Duong Dong
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiep Thanh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiep Thanh Hotel

Property: Hiep Thanh Hotel
Address: 100C/8 Tran Hung Dao Street | Duong Dong town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hiep Thanh Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hiep Thanh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing