We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but comfortable bungalows on a nice beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hiep Thanh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hiep Thanh Hotel
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Basic but comfortable bungalows on a nice beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed 12 nights in March, and I believe we got adequate accommodation and service for what we paid (about USD 45 for a twin-bedded garden bungalow), and overall we have had a good stress-free time on Phu Quoc.
Positive features:
- Free airport transfers on arrival and departure
- Location right on the beach, a nice part of it, no corrosion as in many other parts of Long beach, in the walking distance from town and Night market (about 25-30 min of leisurely walk)
- Nice well-kept grounds, abundance of trees and tropical flowers
- Clean and spacious (though dated) bungalows; nice terrace with two armchairs and a small table
- Hot water in the bathroom with good pressure
- Refrigerator to keep drinks and fruit
- Teapot and good green tea to brew in the room, thermos can be filled at the restaurant anytime
- Free wi-fi (not just in the reception area, but in the room and on the beach as well)
- Staff is helpful, if not overly friendly. Toto – the English speaking manager – is always there to help
Negative features:
- VERY hard beds
- Old threadbare medium-sized bath towels (one per guest)
- Beach towels even in worse conditions, and sometimes are not available until as late as midday
- Fluorescent lamps in the room, no bedside lights
- Limited choice for breakfast (I must say, OK for the hotel of this price range),
- Coffee is a disaster (you ask for coffee with fresh milk, you still get it with sweet condensed milk. If you don’t drink your coffee sweet – you are out of luck here
- No hairdryer in the room (available from reception on request)
- No free drinking water provided (though I must say, you pay very little for it)
- The restaurant is closed at dinner time, so you must look for food elsewhere
- The A/c is tricky – no matter how we programmed it – during the night it always went back to freezing cold and blowing hard right on the bed
All in all, I am sure you can get more comfort and style, but you will definitely pay more! Overall good value for money if you prepared for basic island life and do not expect any luxury!

Room Tip: I would not pay extra for beach front bungalows - they are not worth it; and you have more privacy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DANET65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
28
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Located just out of the main part of the city, this hotel is just ok. Rooms are large and seam clean, but are quite expensive (85 $), you will find cheaper rooms in the main building. Each bungalow as a private balcony and the private beach is nice but Long Beach is just à alignment of private hotels beaches and do not expect a crystal clear water… some days there was even a lot of plastic bags. The restaurant is ok for breakfast, but on located the rear of the hotel (so no sea view) and empty in the evening (why ?) so you will need to find other places for diner around.
When we arrived, we were gently proposed the beachfront bungalow for the same price (actually probably because the one we booked was not free yet) but the day after, when we were having breakfast, the staff was very pushy and asked us 3 times to change as quick as possible… The staff is not really smiling and you have to ask several times what you need… As a conclusion Phu Quoc if you stay on Long Beach has no point of interest compared to other islands in Thailand or Malaysia, and for the hotel, you’ll probably find better option (in terms of price / quality) for accommodation on Long Beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAlex75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in a beach front bungalow for two nights in February 2012. The room was spacious, clean with an incredible view of the sunset on the beach. Staff very friendly. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I agree with all of the previous reviewers about the standard of the accommodation. We were in the main building with hard beds, grubby shower tiny balcony .
However we only paid £30 per night. I enjoyed the seafood pho for breakfast but the menu was limited.
The beach was the saving grace, yes you do have to secure your bed as the Russians were there at the break of dawn, however the beers were reasonable & the massage ladies great. I wouldn't bother returning, there are too many better offers on that stretch of coast.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathernurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Answered emails quickly and went out of their way to let us know when a room was available. Beds in hotel are small and hard with tiny pillows; however, we did get extra pillows when asked. Linens and towels are threadbare and stained. They have towels at the beach to use. A/c works and there’s plenty of hot water Washroom is the shower. Curtains don’t cover the windows entirely. Internet is spotty and slow. Room 117 was super quiet. Beach is lovely, quiet, and clean. Guests get up early to save sun beds and then they sit empty for hours. TV gets a fair bit of English channels. No kettle in room. Breakfast – two kinds of fruit, eggs and baguettes available. Food at beach restaurant is mediocre and staff give the impression that you are inconveniencing them. Reception staff is friendly. Dove with Rainbow Divers and highly recommend. Cassia next door and Sea Star has decent food. If you are looking for a basic place with a great beach, this is good enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Smashing hotel, staff are friendly rooms are great for the price (we are staying in hotel part not the bungalows) Toto the main man for any help you need sorting anything out.The only draw back to the hotel is that its down a dark badly lit unevenly cobbled track, maybe not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. Phu quoc itself a bit sleepy but if you like a late drink (as i do )there are still a few bars to be found,mainly Amigos +Casbahs. Genuinley a nice place to relax on the beach.

Room Tip: Bungalows maybe best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly5698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed there in Nov 2011. Got a bungalow with three beds although just needed (and booked) one double and had to pay for three beds. Bungalow was ok though, nice size and cleaned every day. The nearby beach was clean and not that crowded. Resort is a bit distant from the city which makes it a quiet but still convenient place. As far as staff, the lower level staff is helpful; however, the place is run by a younger guy who lacks professionalism and friendly attitude and that itself can ruin the experience. On the plus side, they are rather flexible with reservations. They could work on the breakfast menu (add some more choice, otherwise you have to choose between eggs and eggs), as well as on the dining area which is quite neglected.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margareta X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#18 of 44 in Duong Dong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amelia Hotel
Amelia Hotel
#26 of 87 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freebeach Resort
Freebeach Resort
#18 of 111 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
0.5 mi away
Nhat Lan
Nhat Lan
#85 of 186 in Phu Quoc Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
#10 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiep Thanh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiep Thanh Hotel

Property: Hiep Thanh Hotel
Address: 100C/8 Tran Hung Dao Street | Duong Dong town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 186 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hiep Thanh Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hiep Thanh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing