We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still noisy at 2.30am....”
Review of Berat Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berat Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Berat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed 1 night in private room with shared bathroom for ALL 3660 or €26. Location is good, Berat is pleasant and staff were helpful. A good set up and the positives from previous reviewers are accurate. WIFI worked strongly. But at that price you should at least expect a reasonable sleep and the 11pm close of the balcony area should assist that. However the night I stayed the inconsiderate group who stayed outside talking to 2.30am helped provide the worst sleep I have managed for a very long time. If Management are going to have the rule then they need to police it and this rating reflects the absence of that. Sounds carry very easily throughout the hostel so dont forget to bring your ear plugs.
Ended up leaving at 4am so can't comment on the free breakfast. If your heading to Lake Ohrid (which is very nice and worth at least 2 + days) there was a direct mini bus (drop off Qafe Thane) for ALL 900 that left at 4.30am which had me in Lake Ohrid 4 hours later (with taxi at €20 to take me thru border and then all the way thru. Price was €15 to Strugar so worth the extra and border too far to walk from the drop off point).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

A friend from Tirana and I decided to do a wee jaunt around Albania and Berat was definitely my favourite spot we visited. The pleasantness of Berat was greatly aided by the lovely Berat Backpackers.

We were there in the winter and there was only one other traveler staying at the hostel, so it was pretty chilled out and obviously not hugely social due to the lack of people! However, we were greeted warmly by staff, engaged in friendly chats with them, made friends with the hostel cat, ate pomegranates from the trees in the garden and slept well. There was a nice common area downstairs, clean facilities, nice outdoor area and breakfast was included which is always a bonus!

I would definitely recommend! x

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellewoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Beware staying at Berat Backpackers - you may not want to leave! We stayed three nights in the end having only intended to stay one. It's in a lovely old house up a cobbled street and is a great place to chill and relax, chat to other guests and Scotti the owner. There's several shady terraces and the whole place has a nice atmosphere. When we stayed there were three dorm rooms and one private room with double bed but there were plans for more private rooms. If you don't want to eat out in the evening there's a small kitchen area and a market seems to be held most days alongside the river selling fruit and veg. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topbanana888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Berat Backpackers is a nice relaxing kind of hostel. There are different levels of terraces where you can just lie out in the sun and chat with your friends and other guests They provide a simple breakfast and you can buy a homecooked dinner made by one of the staff if you don't feel like going out to a restaurant. They also run guided hiking tours out to a waterfall if you want a change from exploring the UNESCO heritage protected old town. The owner is really kind and is around to chat and have a drink with guests - he is really helpful with information about the town and getting around Albania. Be prepared for a bit of a hike up some slippery cobblestones to get there, though!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend over the summer and we had an excellent time. Almost more important than the facilities at any given hostel is the community atmosphere - and Berat Backpackers really encourages interaction between the guests, in part by organizing dinners and tours. We were planning on only staying for a night or two, but ended up staying for several more. The staff was very accommodating and eager to show you around Belat. The guided tour we did up to the waterfalls was one of the highlights of our stay... Jump off the tall one!! P.S. we had a tent, so I can't really speak to the quality of the rooms..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AReySanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Very nice place to stay, 3-levels with cosy terrasses, sitting areas, very nice view on the old town. Good place to meet people. Yummy breakfast (local cheese pies). Interesting guided tours offered by hodtel stuff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Berat Backpackers is up a steep paved path, across the bridge coming from the town centre, good luck if you have a suitcase to carry, no problems with a backpack.
Location-wise it's awesome, you are really immersed in nature, there’s a nice area where you can sit outside and you are surrounded by fruit trees, unluckily it was raining heavily during my 1-night stay.
My dorm was big with lockers and the bed was comfy.
Toilet / shower ok but you have to go through the kitchen to access it, which might be a bit unpleasant when it’s full of people.
Nice breakfast, one of the staff went down to the local bakery in town and returned with burek / pastries, not sure whether this is done every day though.
Personally I wasn’t too impressed with the staff, it’s not that they weren’t unfriendly, just a bit cold / indifferent, no welcome when I arrived, nothing, the guy merely opened the door and asked me to follow him to reception for registration, a smile would have made the difference. His other colleague wasn’t that different but there was a girl who was working there temporarily for a few months who was more chatty and welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamR0LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berat hotels
0 mi away
Lorenc Guesthouse & Hostel Gorica
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hava Baci
Hotel Hava Baci
#19 of 41 in Berat
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mangalemi
Hotel Mangalemi
#1 of 5 in Berat
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Osumi
Hotel Osumi
#8 of 41 in Berat
87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Park
Castle Park
#10 of 41 in Berat
76 reviews
0 mi away
Grand White City
Grand White City
#2 of 5 in Berat
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berat Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berat Backpackers

Address: 295, Gorica, Berat 4000, Albania
Region: Albania > Berat County > Berat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Berat
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Berat Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing