We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap,beautiful,lovely people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berat Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berat Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Berat
Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap,beautiful,lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

great atmosphere,food provided by volunteers always something different and around 3euro,only 10euro for b&b. Wish I could have stayed longer,owner skoti will always be glad to assist you if he can. Waterfall tour is also recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannick10081988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    11
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
18
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hostel is in a charming traditional house with some shared dorms and private rooms. Beautiful garden to relax in and enjoy the views over Berat. the staff went to great trouble to accommodate us, being that we were travelling with 4 kids. The hostel is an easy walk to the city over the bridge and in a great location to explore the old quarters of the city and the castle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winters, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Scotty, the host, had incredible vision to set up at hostel in an historic house in the older part of town. No car traffic on the cobbled streets allowed a peaceful night sleep. Excellent garden, internet access, and evening view of lit up St. Michael's church on the opposite side of the river provided a most restful stay. Trips could be arranged to view (swim) waterfalls and communist monuments and sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hostel had the right balance of all things good for the independent traveler with a pleasant garden to sit in whilst having a beer with a view over Berat. A quiet location on the hill overlooking the city, some of the main attractions are close by, all places a reasonable walk away.

Scotti the manager and the other staff were welcoming sociable and helpful. The dorm was light and airy and the building was traditional.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed 1 night in private room with shared bathroom for ALL 3660 or €26. Location is good, Berat is pleasant and staff were helpful. A good set up and the positives from previous reviewers are accurate. WIFI worked strongly. But at that price you should at least expect a reasonable sleep and the 11pm close of the balcony area should assist that. However the night I stayed the inconsiderate group who stayed outside talking to 2.30am helped provide the worst sleep I have managed for a very long time. If Management are going to have the rule then they need to police it and this rating reflects the absence of that. Sounds carry very easily throughout the hostel so dont forget to bring your ear plugs.
Ended up leaving at 4am so can't comment on the free breakfast. If your heading to Lake Ohrid (which is very nice and worth at least 2 + days) there was a direct mini bus (drop off Qafe Thane) for ALL 900 that left at 4.30am which had me in Lake Ohrid 4 hours later (with taxi at €20 to take me thru border and then all the way thru. Price was €15 to Strugar so worth the extra and border too far to walk from the drop off point).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

A friend from Tirana and I decided to do a wee jaunt around Albania and Berat was definitely my favourite spot we visited. The pleasantness of Berat was greatly aided by the lovely Berat Backpackers.

We were there in the winter and there was only one other traveler staying at the hostel, so it was pretty chilled out and obviously not hugely social due to the lack of people! However, we were greeted warmly by staff, engaged in friendly chats with them, made friends with the hostel cat, ate pomegranates from the trees in the garden and slept well. There was a nice common area downstairs, clean facilities, nice outdoor area and breakfast was included which is always a bonus!

I would definitely recommend! x

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellewoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Beware staying at Berat Backpackers - you may not want to leave! We stayed three nights in the end having only intended to stay one. It's in a lovely old house up a cobbled street and is a great place to chill and relax, chat to other guests and Scotti the owner. There's several shady terraces and the whole place has a nice atmosphere. When we stayed there were three dorm rooms and one private room with double bed but there were plans for more private rooms. If you don't want to eat out in the evening there's a small kitchen area and a market seems to be held most days alongside the river selling fruit and veg. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topbanana888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mangalemi
Hotel Mangalemi
#1 of 4 in Berat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorenc Guesthouse & Hostel Gorica
0.2 mi away
Hotel Muzaka
Hotel Muzaka
#9 of 36 in Berat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rezidenca Desaret
Rezidenca Desaret
#4 of 36 in Berat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Aleksander
Hotel Vila Aleksander
#5 of 36 in Berat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Osumi
Hotel Osumi
#3 of 36 in Berat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berat Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berat Backpackers

Property: Berat Backpackers
Address: 295, Gorica, Berat 4000, Albania
Region: Albania > Berat County > Berat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Berat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Berat Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing