We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”
Review of Berat Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berat Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Berat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The staff are not professionals and the owner Scotty isn't around that much to manage and yet they provide excellent service and a solid experience as they themselves are travelers and seem to have an idea of what you want in a hostel. If you ask ahead, they might be able to offer you a nice dinner at a very reasonable price of about 400 leak ($4). It's clean, safe and has a nice patio, I recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Good hostel with a Nice location. I recommend it to Backpackers. Staff were helpful, breakfast was good and the place was nicely decorated and a good place to meet fellow travellers. One drawback, However, was that it was very cold in the dorm at Night (April).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank visitor909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

First off, there aren't too much hostels in the town and this one is obviously pretty popular among all, but indeed it could not be a bad choice. It sits beautifully right opposite side of the castel and the UNESCO Berat village (even the side it sits on is beautiful enough), so it's very walkable to the village and the town where you can find food, fruit stalls and bus station. The hostel itself also keeps the original, beautiful settings of the old house where you feel being in part of the old town. It got spacious rooms, balcony/garden, nice common area providing good atmosphere to meet other same-minded travellers. Bathroom is nice too (but the other one got no hot water when i was there), kitchen is good but a bit small (but if you are not planning to cook then it's okay).............All of those in a very reasonable price (in off-season), I'd give it 5-star rating and recommend it after all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The hostel can be found just off a little cobbled street. The dorms are really clean and beds were comfy. There is no heating in the place but plenty of blankets if needed. The private rooms looked really nice (almost romantic) - perfect for a couple.

There was a really nice restaurant that was recommended by one of the guys at the hostel - it is attached to a hotel at the base of the hill if you were to walk to the fort. I would strongly recommend this place for reasonable but really good Albanian food (it looks touristy but food was quite authentic).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajs202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Berat is a place you must see if you visit Albania. The hostel is very well located and easy to find. The building itself is really nice. There's one big dorm room with 8 beds, another which accommodates 6 (if I remember well), and a couple of single rooms. The place has a nice living room too, with a bar, and an enclosed garden with sofas and a canopy to protect you from the sun. Breakfast in complimentary and consists in bread, various jams, and coffee and stuff like that, which is cool.
The problem I had with this place, maybe I was just unlucky, was just the lack of staff on the premises. Actually, the owner of the place, a Brit named Scottie, was there the whole time, except he was passed out on the sofa outside the entire day and night. Not kidding, he didn't move in 12 hours, maybe more. I was told by the person who was welcoming guests that day, a traveller who was working there a couple of hours a day in exchange for free board, told me that he has 'partied really hard' the night before, which is all fine and well. Except that you might want to take your hangover to one of the private rooms (they weren't occupied) rather than pass out in front of your guests for 12+ hours. in the early evening, I wanted a beer from behind the counter but there was no staff to be found, so I just helped myself (paid it the next day when I checked out, though!).


OK maybe the place should be given 4 stars after all, but I do expect a tad bit of professionalism, even in a youth hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

great atmosphere,food provided by volunteers always something different and around 3euro,only 10euro for b&b. Wish I could have stayed longer,owner skoti will always be glad to assist you if he can. Waterfall tour is also recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannick10081988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hostel is in a charming traditional house with some shared dorms and private rooms. Beautiful garden to relax in and enjoy the views over Berat. the staff went to great trouble to accommodate us, being that we were travelling with 4 kids. The hostel is an easy walk to the city over the bridge and in a great location to explore the old quarters of the city and the castle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mangalemi
Hotel Mangalemi
#1 of 5 in Berat
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hava Baci
Hotel Hava Baci
#18 of 41 in Berat
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Osumi
Hotel Osumi
#6 of 41 in Berat
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand White City
Grand White City
#2 of 5 in Berat
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Lili Guest House
Vila Lili Guest House
#4 of 41 in Berat
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Klea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berat Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berat Backpackers

Address: 295, Gorica, Berat 4000, Albania
Region: Albania > Berat County > Berat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Berat
Price Range: £13 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Berat Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing