We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most excellent place to stay in jakar”
Review of River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bumthang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Lodge
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
232 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The most excellent place to stay in jakar”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

River Lodge, owned by Pema Dawa, is a perfect place to stay in Jakar. The rooks are very well equipped, both with wood stoves and electric radiators, and there is plenty of hot water all day round in case you want to shower. Food is fabulous, and the chef gladly caters to your taste. While there is International food, I would suggest to try Bhutanese fare! The kitchen will be most happy to cook up a storm for you! Service is impeccable and extremely friendly, and everybody will get out of their way to help your needs. The spa service is very nice - give it a try! Pema Dawa also owns a Farmhouse in Tang valley, which is a great base for getting to Ogyen Choling Palace in the valley. The palace itself is arguably the best museum in Bhutan, and a real mus see. Pema Dawa also organizes treks and whatever other travel needs you might have in Bhutan, and can help with any booking you might need. He is also extremely knowledgeable about history and politics, and a great pleasure to talk to. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Spend the extra dollars to get the VIP suite. You will have a large bedroom, sitting room, a dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    15
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
16
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we had lunch at this restaurant and the taste of the food is pathetic. Service is damn slow. We had ordered for chapati and mix veg which took almost 1 hour to be delivered in our table. The food was pathetic. We speciafically had asked the chief "please prepare who you are good at preparing" still the food was horrible. The owner of the Lodge dint seem to be nice person either. He blabbers a lot for no reason and has no manners. I dont think it would be a safe place to stay for women at all . I would not recommend anyone to go and stay or have food in this Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellor1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Area, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March 2014. The staff was very responsive to requests (heater, extra blankets, additional wood) and was attentive in dining room. With the heater and wood stove (which you can add to with the provided wood) the room was warm enough at night. The room was clean. We had some issues with the shower but may have been operator error. There is wi-fi only in reception and the dining room but it is free. There are very steep stairs to Room # 118. It was nice that local dishes of buckwheat pancakes and noodles were served in the dining room. No TV in room. Laundry service available (hand wash, line dry).

Room Tip: The stairs to Room #118 were very steep - to the point that I descended backwards holding on to the...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The river lodge has a cabin kind of feel to it. The rooms overlook the valley and are both clean and comfortable. In cold weather the heater and extra blankets are just fine for staying warm. The food and service are both excellent. The owner is also a very friendly guy and wants to make sure you're stay is comfortable. The wifi is also very good for Bhutan standards. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheredaheckarewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here on a couple of occasions. Restaurant is big and pleasant and warm when fire is lit. Rooms are very small and basic - no tv for example. Some have wood-burners in them for cold nights which you may have to fuel yourself.. Wifi in reception and restaurant intermittent. Staff very attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: Most have attached toilet and shower (en-suite is probably too grand a term) but not all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We may have stayed in grander hotels in Bhutan. But this was the best and most memorable. It is situated on one side of a charming courtyard. Opposite is the owner’s traditional–style, creeper-covered home. The third side has an excellent health spa with very professional masseurs and hot stone bath. Facing that is an al fresco sitting-out garden area, ideal for warmer weather. Set up on a small hill, the hotel has an expansive view through pine trees of a meandering river (ask for a room with a riverside view).
Why does the River Lodge work? Because Pema Dawa, the owner is on site and hands-on; because he has a happy and well-trained staff; and because the food is cooked, not by men in white chef hats, trained only to cook for tourists, but by family members, who know how to present good Bhutanese fare for the visitor. You will find nothing coldly anonymous about this place. It is a quiet delight.

Room Tip: Ask for room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dicktaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

It cannot get any worse than this. We were late arriving and they had given our room away. The one they stuck us in had no hot water, you had to flush the toilet many times to get anything to go down, there was one light bulb hanging by a thread, no heat and a door to our room that was so warped that you could not close it. The food was mediocre to say the least and the only ice for our cocktails that they could muster was from a small ice tray from a tiny refrigerator I must give the staff, who were very friendly, high marks for having to contend with our complaints. All in all, a very disastrous experience.

Room Tip: Get there early and hope to get a mediocre room. But I would suggest trying to find other lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bumthang
0.0 mi away
Jakar Village Lodge
Jakar Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in Bumthang
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
0.0 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chumey Nature Resort
Chumey Nature Resort
#2 of 12 in Bumthang
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zhingkham Resort
Zhingkham Resort
#1 of 2 in Punakha
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tashi Namgay Resort
Tashi Namgay Resort
#1 of 38 in Paro
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Lodge

Property: River Lodge
Address: Bumthang, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Bumthang District > Bumthang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Bumthang
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing