We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chumey Nature Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Bumthang B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful, wonderful place”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I brought a group of 14 people here and it was our favorite place in Bhutan. Pem, the manager, went out of her way to accommodate us. If you are looking for a quiet place surrounded by nice walks, wild boars, and birds, this is a great stop. Tharpaling Monastery is about an hours drive away, and there are nice walks nearby. The food was great and included house specialties like buckwheat pancakes. Ask Pem if you can see inside the beautiful temple that is just in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs in the main building are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Great Hotel. Stayed here for 2 nights. it is located in Chumey valley which is located 27 kms away from Jakar ( main Bumthag Town) but i must say I made a right decision by staying here as i saw other similar resorts in Jakar but didn't like the location.
Rooms- we upgraded to Suite. and it was great value for money . comfortable beds, clean bathroom, clean linen. TV - a little disappointment as few channels selection but again not in hand of the resort and we were hardly interested to see TV . if u go during May - June, don't get surprised to see strawberries outside your room.
Public Area - All areas very clean and maintained well.
Food - No menu.Food is made as per the choice of the guest and availability of ingredients which means always from fresh ingredients and but it was awesome. we tried local delicacies like buckwheat pancakes, buckwheat noodles. and Yes , they make fresh buckwheat noodles and you can also assist them . at least we did and enjoyed too :)
andnow the most important part of the hotel its Staff which ensures you stay will go absolutely comfortable. Manager Pem and her brigade will keep you engaged during your entire stay. it is small team of 10 ppl who manage everything from restaurant, front desk, housekeeping. Pem even made itinerary for us. She was a kind of guide for us as wherever we got stuck , we were calling her and she was ready to help us. she arranged our meeting with cheese factory, bought local buckwheat flour for us as per our request. We never felt that we were staying in the hotel, in fact it was more like a trip to a freind's place at Bumthang.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SAK1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

THE SHORT
Great hotel, great location, good food, hot showers, cozy rooms and wonderful friendly staff. I have stayed here twice over a two year period and the service has been consistently great.

THE LONG
This hotel is a gem. Situated at the base of a wooded hill, overlooking the fields of Chumi Valley. The staff are young pleasant females who help both with the bags and with serving in the restaurant. The rooms are heated by electric heaters that are powered by hydro electricity from Mongor. Unlike many other hotels in Bhutan that use pine log fires that require constant stoking. The rooms are cozy warm and are located in small cottages away from the main building. As with all buildings in Bhutan, India and Nepal there are some architectural oddities that defy logic, such as the steps down from the room and then steps back up to the restaurant and further steps up to the toilets. One can end up quite puffed walking to and fro from the rooms. However the use of local design, painting and the general location make up for the steps.

Food is something quite personal and you may not like what i like and vice versa, however I love the food served in their restaurant and you can also purchase Chilean wine.

The best aspect of this hotel is that it is relatively far from the main road and nights are quiet and peaceful. There are televisions in the room if you are desperate but after a day of walking we were quickly asleep by 9 pm.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is a great place to stop if you are traveling in the Bumthang region. It's really no farther than anything else in Bhutan, being "ten minutes out of town" is kind of a joke, because you are going to drive to a hotel for food anyway, it's not like New York where you walk out of your hotel for something to eat. It's all pre arranged. Views are amazing. It's silent. The food is better than you'll get elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopeimaginepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Alas, we stayed here for only one night in September 2012. Located in a pristine natural setting and expertly managed by the sublime Pema, this was the best place we stayed during our two week tour of Bhutan. The rooms are spacious, super clean, comfortable, and tastefully appointed. Unlike our experience at other hotels, the kitchen here is excellent. Featuring both healthy international and local fare (buckwheat pancakes, red rice, emadatse, honey and berry preserves), the food was fresh, gently cooked, and delicious. We were even brought fiery fresh red chillies on request at dinner. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gonebamboo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa, canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hotel is very good, beautiful room, nice envrionment, but bit far from the town, 45 minutes drive.
the only thing I was not really happy is the manager. I have travelled all over Bhutan and there was never any issue of eating with my guide and driver. But at this place, since what the manager is talking about cost all the time, to eat with my driver and guide can be problematic. She prefers the meal is only eaten by the tourist and bring the leftover to her daughter. But if the tourists want to share the meal with the guide and driver, she is not happy. I find that kind of attitude unacceptable, especially the cost of tourist meals are 3 times of the local restaurant.
In a word, I don't feel comfortable at her place. I'd rather go to somewhere where they can treat the guides and drivers with same respect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curious101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gjerlev J.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at the Chumey Nature Resort for 19 days because of my work in Bumthang and it was a very pleasant stay. I stayed in one of the cottages, which are very cosy and clean. Nature around the resort is extremely beautiful and it is amazing to wake up and look at the Himalays right outside the window. One day I woke up and the clouds were so low that they seemed to be right outside my window. Chumey is at a pretty high altitude.
Miss Pema, who is managing the resort, is an amazing woman. She went out of her way to find special food and delicacies for me and my colleague, who stayed in one of the other cottages.
The service was excellent and the young girls serving us breakfast and dinner every day were very kind and sweet.
The worst part was leaving this peaceful, quiet and beautiful place!

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Anni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bumthang hotels
8.0 mi away
Swiss Guest House
Swiss Guest House
#3 of 7 in Bumthang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
8.2 mi away
Jakar Village Lodge
Jakar Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in Bumthang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaila Choenzem Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumey Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumey Nature Resort

Property: Chumey Nature Resort
Address: Geytsa, Bumthang 32002, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Bumthang District > Bumthang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bumthang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumey Nature Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and BhutanBookings so you can book your Chumey Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing