We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy room, friendly people, excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaila Choenzem Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bumthang
Reviewed 27 January 2011

This place is well run, clean, comfortable, and has excellent food. There's a wood-burning stove in the room and plenty of firewood. Bhutan can be rustic, but this family-owned hotel was our favorite lodging during our 10 days in the country.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P48Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2010

A great local hotel - family-run, and clean and comfortable. Spacious rooms are tastefully paneled with blue pine, bathroom clean and adequate, and beds comfortable. Each room has a small bukhari (wood stove) - ask the staff to have it going when you get there so your room is toasty and warm on arrival. When booking, ask for an upstairs room - the downstairs ones open onto the car-park, so you are more likely to be disturbed by late arrivals or early departures. The restaurant is great - excellent food, and comfortable and warm (with a bigger version of the bukhari pumping out the heat). Mr Kaila is a great host - very friendly, and keen to make your stay comfortable. If traveling on business as representative of an NGO, as for the discount.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vernsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We stayed here one night and liked the place a lot! We had a room with windows on three sides, overlooking the valley, and even the beds and the bathroom were excellent! This definately beats our other Bumthang experience, Wangdicholing Guest House.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2006

I was traveling to east to Monger to teach a short course to professional foresters. The room to me was simple, but very comfortable. I really liked the local blue pine paneling (white pine). The bathroom had no tub but the shower worked fine and drained well as did the small sink. The bed was the most comfortable of all the ones I used in the country. It was very firm (must be tradition), but still comfortable. The guest house itself is a two-story of traditional Bhutanese post and beam construction. It was not "downstown" so the barking dogs (all night) were not a problem as in other towns.

I ate traditional Bhutanese food throughout the country, so the Guest House was typical fare. It was well prepared and very spicy. As a former Californian, I found the food great with good flavor while still spicy hot. Some of the roadside food places in eastern Bhutan were really hot, so Kaila's food was great. I saw Amercian-style breakfast food on the menu. Kaila himself is a very friendly man who sat by the wood stove and talked with me over a cup of milk tea.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Olewaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank elise87chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Esther G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015
Thank hinatamaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bumthang
0.0 mi away
Jakar Village Lodge
Jakar Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in Bumthang
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 38 in Thimphu
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dewachen Hotel
Dewachen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Phobjikha Valley
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punatsangchhu Cottages
Punatsangchhu Cottages
#3 of 3 in Wangdue
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel Bhutan
Park Hotel Bhutan
#1 of 10 in Phuntsholing
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaila Choenzem Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaila Choenzem Guest House

Address: Bumthang, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Bumthang District > Bumthang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bumthang
Price Range: £32 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your Kaila Choenzem Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing