We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable place”
Review of Hotel Zangto Pelri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zangto Pelri
Ranked #10 of 11 Punakha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel are quite standard for the small town like Phunakha.
The date i went there we had a problem about Hot water. The pipe waw broke or somthing so it was a nightmare for my colleague because she had to boil the water with a small size electric kettle that provided in the room but it was not enough.Anyway for the whole facilities i think this hotel are acceptable not too good not too bad.

Surprise! that this hotel is one of the hotel that provided the wifi for free.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suwatee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Although I thought the location of this hotel was lovely the overall experience was disappointing even taking into consideration that it was in Bhutan which has much lower level of accommodations that in developed countries. We had just plain lousy food for dinner and breakfast. The internet did not work even though they claim they have it. There were so few outlets in our room that we were unable to recharge camera batteries, phones, etc. There wasn't any water in the sink and our room smelled strongly of moth balls. We tried to leave the window open to get rid of the smell but then we couldn't sleep because of howling stray dogs. All in all not a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask to go in the room first - a lot smelled moldy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just stayed here as part of our Mountain Journey Tours & Treks trip to Bhutan. Recently renovated. The hotel was busy with lots of tourists as we happened to luck out and stay during the TseChu festival which was a sight to behold. The nice thing about the festival is that you can get very close to the dancers.

The hotel itself was fine. Clean sheets and average food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJqueen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I like this hotel and its great location looking out over the valley. The room was comfortable, bathroom good in one of the annexe's of the main hotel. Lovely cups, tea and a kettle provided in the room. TV as well. Had a good nights sleep here. Dinner not brilliant and breakfast ok. Only criticism the room doors did tend to slam shut but otherwise everything good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This a lovely property, and overlooking the valley. The food is good. I was the only guest in this large property, and yet service was slow. But it's a pretty place to spend the night. Stray dogs can keep you up all night though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

After reading some of the reviews here I was really worried. However, the cottages were really nice, being welcomed with tea/coffee and a hot towel was also nice and the dinner was very good. A bit old fashioned, but quite charming nonetheless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaffiTenenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I did new this hotel from my past travels and I did now that it's quite outdated. I also checked reviews here and was expecting the worst. And finally... It was totally ok, hotel was recently renovated, the rooms were spacious, clean with nice balcony and very modern bathroom. The food and service was excellent. I had very nice stay here and I think it's bad reviews are not really justified.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building not cottages, the rooms has better views and are recently upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakha
3.4 mi away
Punatsangchhu Cottages
Punatsangchhu Cottages
#2 of 3 in Wangdue
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Damchen Resort
Damchen Resort
#3 of 4 in Punakha
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#5 of 38 in Thimphu
336 reviews
3.2 mi away
Zhingkham Resort
Zhingkham Resort
#1 of 2 in Punakha
80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Vara
Hotel Vara
#5 of 11 in Punakha
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zangto Pelri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zangto Pelri

Address: Walakha | P.O.Box No. 115, Punakha, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Punakha District > Punakha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Punakha
Price Range: £35 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your Hotel Zangto Pelri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zangtho Pelri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing