We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise with service and place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Zangto Pelri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zangto Pelri
Ranked #9 of 11 Punakha B&B and Inns
india
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Surprise with service and place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We went as group of friends on HOG ride, we were to stay here as part of package and was really worried about quality, after reading the reviews .
Believe me I was taken back the rooms fantastic clean brand new Lenin . Service Totally wow. Staff very happy to serve beautiful bar .
Food was medium. Even the gift shop was great. Bathroom all refurbished,
Will surely come back because of location & view

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank vishalvinayak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    28
    34
    16
    13
See reviews for
13
32
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

After reading the reviews I had serious worries about this hotel, but the reviews appear to have been spiteful and unwarranted. We had a lovely room that was part of a 2 room cottage, with a great view, a clean bathroom and abundant hot water. My daughter's room was just as nice. The main part of the hotel was attractive and comfortable. The staff provided a very good dinner, spicy and interesting as we requested, and a great breakfast.
Overall we were very pleased.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms that are in the small cottages, they are quiet and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Villia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Punakha has anyway few choices and fewer good quality budget hotels like in Thimphu.
ZP had a nice location (up on a hill) and might have been a great property once, as was evident from the outside but looks like years of neglect have made it a pretty basic looking hotel.
The rooms and property in general definitely needs some work, nothing fancy just some gardening, landscaping and paint & repairs in the room. The room and bathrooms did not have any amenities except a TV in the room and a kettle. Wifi was available but in the main lobby. Food is expensive in the hotel.
Its OK for a single night lay-over at the right price. We were happy with the service and liked the enthusiasm of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deepz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel are quite standard for the small town like Phunakha.
The date i went there we had a problem about Hot water. The pipe waw broke or somthing so it was a nightmare for my colleague because she had to boil the water with a small size electric kettle that provided in the room but it was not enough.Anyway for the whole facilities i think this hotel are acceptable not too good not too bad.

Surprise! that this hotel is one of the hotel that provided the wifi for free.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suwatee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
367 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Although I thought the location of this hotel was lovely the overall experience was disappointing even taking into consideration that it was in Bhutan which has much lower level of accommodations that in developed countries. We had just plain lousy food for dinner and breakfast. The internet did not work even though they claim they have it. There were so few outlets in our room that we were unable to recharge camera batteries, phones, etc. There wasn't any water in the sink and our room smelled strongly of moth balls. We tried to leave the window open to get rid of the smell but then we couldn't sleep because of howling stray dogs. All in all not a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask to go in the room first - a lot smelled moldy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Punakha hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just stayed here as part of our Mountain Journey Tours & Treks trip to Bhutan. Recently renovated. The hotel was busy with lots of tourists as we happened to luck out and stay during the TseChu festival which was a sight to behold. The nice thing about the festival is that you can get very close to the dancers.

The hotel itself was fine. Clean sheets and average food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJqueen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I like this hotel and its great location looking out over the valley. The room was comfortable, bathroom good in one of the annexe's of the main hotel. Lovely cups, tea and a kettle provided in the room. TV as well. Had a good nights sleep here. Dinner not brilliant and breakfast ok. Only criticism the room doors did tend to slam shut but otherwise everything good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakha
3.4 mi away
Damchen Resort
Damchen Resort
#3 of 4 in Punakha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Phuntsho Pelri
Hotel Phuntsho Pelri
#20 of 36 in Thimphu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Punatsangchhu Cottages
Punatsangchhu Cottages
#1 of 3 in Wangdue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kichu Resort Wangduephodrang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zangto Pelri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zangto Pelri

Property: Hotel Zangto Pelri
Address: Walakha | P.O.Box No. 115, Punakha, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Punakha District > Punakha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Punakha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BhutanBookings so you can book your Hotel Zangto Pelri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zangtho Pelri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing