We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay BUT...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bernalillo
Certificate of Excellence
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay BUT...”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We arrived on Thursday afternoon and everything went fantastically well during our stay. Adam, Lisa, and Jessica were superb, always asking what else they could do for us. Adam helped me run a copy of the eulogy as I had to make several changes. Breakfast had excellent choices and Jessica was always available and helped us out. There was some noise during the night but isn't that typical of hotels? And we were right by the elevator door on the third floor.

BUT... when I got home I went to check my credit card charges and there were two charges from HI. First one was the total bill we had PRE PAID and was posted one day before we arrived. We expected this charge. We then saw a charge for $144.64. I promptly called the HI in NM and asked for a clarification. First of all I had a difficult time understanding Melisa. Then she said there was the $50 temporary charge for room check. I understood that. I then asked her why there was two $94.64 charges. She could not answer. I asked for the Manager and was told the Josie would call me the following day. I said I would not sleep well - so Melisa promised me Josie would call. She did and we clarified that there was a mistake in the billing. On Monday morning the billing was corrected.
I was asked to do an internal review for HI and filled out the whole form and then was told that they could not accept what I had submitted. NEVER AGAIN will I do a review for them.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Dear Vicbrazil,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are pleased to know you enjoy your stay and our staff were able to meet your needs and expectation granted you had some issues with your billing, we thank you for your patience and understanding.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Josie A.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    63
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
45
65
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Everything about this place was very good. Being IHG platinum member we received upgraded room. The only problem we found is the access to the hotel as the entry to the driveway is somewhat confusing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear polart68,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for being a IHG Platinum member. It is every important to us that your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express is a memorable and comfortable experience. Construction indeed has made getting to our location a bit frustrating especially after a long drive. Our sincerest apologies. Again thank you for choosing us and we would like to invite you to visit us again when in town. We are looking forward to see you soon.
Sincerely, Lisa P Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
677 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced and easy to access from the highway, a good choice when you are on a road trip north to the pueblos. The beds are very comfortable and the room is clean. We had to leave early around 5:15am and they got the waffle maker going and set us some things to eat so we would not leave hungry. The hotel has an indoor pool and fitness center as well. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Service at Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear angeleyes27,
Here at the Holiday Inn Express Bernalillo we strive to accommodate you, to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for your review and valuable feedback! We appreciate you taking time to let us know about your experience here at the Holiday Inn Express Bernalillo.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, especially when traveling. We are always happy to know that our staff went above and beyond to provide the best possible service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stood at the HIX Bernalillo for one night (Jan. 2014), we were very impressed with the overall experience. Very spacious, clean, comfortable room. Lots of space in the bathroom as well! The service was fantastic, the manager was very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was ok, have had better however still good for being free. Our kids enjoyed the pool and the hot tub was nice. Overall great stay would return!

Room Tip: We requested a room on top floor, we were not disturbed at all. Great Stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amera456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Amera,
Thank you so much for taking the time in sharing your feedback, We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, we are happy to served our valued guests like you.
Come by and visit us again when you get in town, we look forward in seeing you all soon.

Kind Regards,
Josie A
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I were traveling on New Year's Eve, we stopped in Bernalillo to get a room for the night. We did not have a reservation and stopped at the Holiday Inn Express to find a room. Much to our surprise, they were all booked up BUT there were three cancellations, so Lisa at the front desk was able to find us a room. While she was in the process of checking us in, the central reservation center in cyberspace took our room. We were given instead, an executive suite FOR THE SAME PRICE and a few minutes later, we were relaxing in our room. We asked Lisa for a recommendation for a dinner restaurant, it was a hit.

We returned to our room to relax for the night. A few minutes later we got a call from Lisa to make sure that everything was excellent for us - it was indeed. Lisa was on duty until 11 PM that night (New Year's Eve) - when we were having breakfast at 7 AM New Year's Day - there she was again. We think that she deserves a gold star. She is one hard-working lady.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Cecelia,
Thank you for your kind words, we very pleased to read your comments and appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you found our front desk staff Ms. Lisa commendable.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,
Josie A.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent New Years Eve there through New Years Day and the staff was very courteous, polite, and very helpful when we were there at the hotel to check about the availability for the holiday. Lisa was very helpful in giving us this information. The hotel was very convenient and nearby the interstate. Thanks for being so helpful and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Robert,
Thank you for your time and your thoughtful review. We are delighted that we have exceeded your expectations and very pleased to read your comments, we appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, especially to Ms. Lisa, thank you for commending her, we rely on you, our guest, to let us know how our staffs are doing and how we can do better in meeting your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,
Josie A.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spend six days here over the Christmas week. It is Stereo-typical for a large chain hotel; however, the staff and convenience for the area makes it well worthwhile. The staff were very caring and helpful. They obviously know the areas goods and bads. They made great recommendations for food and entertainment. Every time you saw them, at the front desk, in the dining area, housekeeping in the hallways, even the maintenance man, they greeted you and asked about how your stay was. They made you feel welcome and demonstrated true southwest hospitality. We will be staying here again. NOTE: The only negative for the area is NOT the hotels fault. It is the typical DoT construction in the area. Judging from their progress, they should be done within the month.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Andy,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and service we were able to provide to you. This is what we strive for every time a guest stays with us. It is pleasing to know our hotel staff service and room accommodations exceeded your expectations. I have made sure to share your review with our team and we will continue to make our guests' experience one to remember. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,
Josie A.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernalillo
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 5 in Rio Rancho
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#51 of 144 in Albuquerque
259 reviews
10.5 mi away
Courtyard Albuquerque
Courtyard Albuquerque
#59 of 144 in Albuquerque
230 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albuquerque North/I-25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo

Property: Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo
Address: 119 Bell Ln, Bernalillo, NM 87004-6124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Bernalillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bernalillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the Holiday Inn Express Bernalillo Hotel, conveniently located at I-25 and Hwy 550 (Placitas/Bernalillo Exit 242) between Santa Fe and Albuquerque! Our astounding property is centrally located to the New Mexico Soccer Complex, Balloon Fiesta Park, Bernalillo Wine Festival Grounds, Santa Ana Golf Course and Star Casino, Sandia Casino, San Felipe Hollywood Hills Racetrack and Casino, Coronado State Monument, Sandia Peak Tramway, and many restaurants within 1 mile of the hotel ranging from fast food to fine dining. The Holiday Inn Express Bernalillo offers 70 Spacious Guestrooms that include Kings, Double Queens, and King Suite Rooms that offer in-room microwaves, refrigerators, and sofa-sleepers. Special in-room amenities include 27-inch flat screen color TV s, 2-line telephones, free high speed internet, Voice Mail, Coffeemaker, Iron with Board, and Free Local Calls. The Holiday Inn Express Bernalillo also features a complimentary Deluxe Smart Start Continental Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool and Hot Tub, Exercise Facility, and Free U.S.A. Today Paper in the morning. BUSINESS: Intel and Honeywell HOSPITALS: Lovelace / Sandia, UNM, PresbyterianSCHOOLS: Bernalillo High School, University of New Mexico, TVI So come stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bernalillo and Enjoy our friendly and relaxing Southwestern Culture! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bernalillo Hotel Bernalillo
Holiday Inn Bernalillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing