We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean motel owned by friendly locals.”
Review of Four Winds Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Winds Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrizozo
Reviewed 3 August 2013

So clean! Everything is new...tile, carpet, shower, bedding, furniture. This is a classy motel with fluffy towels, great bed, hair dryer, wi-fi, TV, phone, table & chairs, fridge & microwave. When staying in Carrizozo, I highly recommend it...worth more than the $50. I spent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mircoscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

This motel is wonderfully clean and fully renovated inside. It was every bit as nice as some Best Westerns. The outside is ordinary looking and somewhat misleading. Don't pass this place up. It was one of the best finds during our 1000 mile loop through New Mexico. The price was great too.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank riverspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I recently passed through Carrizozo (Carri who?) coming off I-25 and about another hour before getting there. IMHO, the town itself needs help. It seems forgotten, stuck out there in the middle of nowhere. That's probably why the location scouts found it a suitable town to shoot "The Book of Eli" starring Denzel Washington and Gary Oldham. Maybe that's a good thing. Be the adventurer off that beaten path & find this hidden treasure. You can definitely get a good night's sleep at the Four Winds Motel. To my surprise, my room had 2 beds, a TV with cable, a microwave, A/C, a small fridge & a nice sized (& clean) shower. Terry and his family were very wonderful! Take that day trip and turn it into an overnighter! The Valley of Fire is on one side and in Capitan, there's the Smokey Bear restaurant on the other. (see my next review) I heard of the No Scum Allowed bar but didn't visit in nearby White Oaks. Whether you're in a car or taking the winding roads on a motorcycle (I will next time), Four Winds is your resting place. Check out the town while you're there. Make your own memories. Maybe stay 2 nights and come back often and feed your imagination since Billy The Kid's been all over those parts. Parking for all.

Room Tip: One level. I liked my room, #12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Travelerbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Mike was not the first to greet us, he was wagging his tail just behind Terry. This is without a doubt one of the cleanest and well kept motels between Duluth and Phoenix. You need not worry about a thing at this wayside motel. Our room was very nice with a newly remodeled bath besides. We stayed on the way south and drove out of our way to stay again on the way back home. If we get the opportunity to pass this way again you can bet we will stay with Terry, Susi and Mike, the dog. Location is good as well, right on the highway, but not a noisy one. The view outside is good too, beautiful mountains all around. That big bowl of peanut M&Ms in the office was too close to my hand though.
Dave & Barb

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

This is a terrific place to stay. Very modern and absolutely immaculate. The bathrooms are newly renovated and the hotel is right on the road. Nice managers really take care of their property. Excellent stopping point if you're visiting Southern New Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crucesaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrizozo
22.0 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
231 reviews
21.5 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
20.9 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Best Western Pine Springs Inn
Best Western Pine Springs Inn
#1 of 6 in Ruidoso Downs
448 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rainbow Inn & Cottages
Rainbow Inn & Cottages
#1 of 2 in Carrizozo
33 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
#10 of 23 in Ruidoso
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Winds Motel

Address: Highway 54, Carrizozo, NM 88301
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carrizozo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrizozo
Price Range: £41 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Winds Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Four Winds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing