We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of nowhere”
Review of Four Winds Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Winds Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrizozo
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This motel is in Carrizozo NM which is in the middle of nowhere. The only reason for us to stay was it was closest motel on the eastern side of White Sands Missile range and the Trinity site. Motal looks like has seen better days from outside, but rooms were clean and comfortable. There didn't appear to be anything to do in town and limited eating establishments.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raddocmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

After a fiasco in Colorado, I used this site to review hotels in new Mexico, found the four winds. The reviews were great so we checked it out. For 50$ we got a room with two queen beds for my self,my husband and our two young sons. The outside does look dated but well kept. The room was beautifully updated. The furnishings were nice, mellow modern colors, coffee pot and fridge worked very well. Plenty of cable channels on the tv. Also, they had glade plug ins in discrete locations so the room smelled amazing and not musty at all. Being a mom,I usually get the last shower in the morning, the water stayed hot and the pressure was great. The owners were very nice.
Would for sure stay again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saltsandse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Top end furniture, bed, sheets, soft fluffy towels, good TV, refrig, microwave, hair dryer for a modest price. Newly remodeled bath with walk-in tile shower, glass door - very cool! Don't be fooled by the buildings street view which says "just another older roadside motel"; inside the rooms are spacious and tastefully simple in a oriental way. Very service minded owners with real motel knowledge. A memorable over-nite reprieve from the rigors of a 1600 mile cross country trip. A great bargain at $50+!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was better than the high floor rooms in Las Vegas and we could park right out front! Every room has a fridge, microwave, hairdryer, coffee maker, etc. The rooms are recently renovated with amana air conditioners, new beds, tile in showers etc. Great place for motorcycles as we could be close to the room. The owners are very nice local folks from Ruidoso.

Room Tip: Ask for room 17 or 18 to be a little removed from the road. The king rooms are nice on the east sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Again, the folks who are submitting evaluations have not misled. From meeting the couple who own this motel, to the very clean and updated room. Everything was as expected. The price for what you get and compared to what one might expect is beyond reasonable. It is located at the cross section of two highways and serves a transient clientele. Great one night stop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GANDMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I found this great place to stay in Carrizozo NM. The rooms are all updated and very clean. What a relief to find a nice place to stay. We were looking for a nice place to stay when we found this place. It is right on the cross roads.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank armandos549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

So clean! Everything is new...tile, carpet, shower, bedding, furniture. This is a classy motel with fluffy towels, great bed, hair dryer, wi-fi, TV, phone, table & chairs, fridge & microwave. When staying in Carrizozo, I highly recommend it...worth more than the $50. I spent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mircoscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrizozo
21.5 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
20.9 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
22 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#8 of 23 in Ruidoso
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
22 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
209 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
#10 of 23 in Ruidoso
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Winds Motel

Address: Highway 54, Carrizozo, NM 88301
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carrizozo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrizozo
Price Range: £40 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Winds Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Four Winds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing