We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a beautiful setting”
Review of San Marcos Cafe

San Marcos Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cerrillos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Southwestern
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Centennial, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It's a short drive outside of Santa Fe, but well worth it. We stopped in early on a Sunday morning and was given a nice table in the back room near a window. At one point a wild turkey walked by our window as we ate, and we saw the peahens going into their enclosure. The service was good, as was the food. I had the blintz, which was topped with tart raspberry sauce and very good. Afterward we drove around the side and saw all the peacocks roosting on the bales of alfalfa that belong to the feed store. It was a very nice morning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Different a few miles from City Different”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Quaint, unassuming and different. Been there 2 times coming up from Albuquerque just to eat there. The food is great and the staff and owner are friendly and efficient. Other restaurants should take notice as to how a restaurant is run.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“fresh homemade food”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I really like this place. You will walk in to the restaurant and there are roosters and peacocks to greet you.. once inside it is a small area with tables a wood stove and warm in the winter. The food is fresh homemade to order. I have never had a bad meal here. They have specials everyday. Home made bread is served with your breakfast. Coffee is delicious. The same waitress has been there for years and is always making sure there isnt any thing else that need.i would definitely recommend this place:-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFARES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“If in Santa Fe, drive a bit south, you won't regret it!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was one of our favorite restaurants when we lived in Santa Fe. Now visiting after years away, it's still perfection. Well worth the drive south on 14 from Santa Fe. Eggs Florentine, cheese blintzes, cinnamon rolls are fantastic. Very small so try to arrive early. Wonderful country Santa Fe charm. Great place for breakfast or brunch if driving the backway to Albuquerque down 14 through Cerrillos and Madrid, but probably only 10 minutes south of the freeway, so not too far out of town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Cafe in a Feed Store Complete with Aviary? Give It A Try.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

On theTurquoise Trail between Santa Fe and Albuquerque is a fun and funky cafe in front of a feed store. You might notice a peacock or two strutting around, with a variety of other birds in cages. Step inside to the cozy cafe and have some delicious regional specialties. Since we were there for brunch, two of us had great French Toast, and two had the San Marcos burrito, a specialty. We all enjoyed our food very much and enjoyed the birds as well. The service was friendly, and the atmosphere was fun. Give the San Marcos Cafe a try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Marcos Cafe also viewed

 

Been to San Marcos Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing