We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 4th weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Creel Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Chama
Kirtland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“July 4th weekend”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

In the past we've stayed here and enjoyed our visit, but this time it was disappointing. The bathrooms were very dirty and two of the toilets were out of order leaving only one. The trash was piled high even on the following Monday and it's a good thing the bears didn't get into it! Maybe there wasn't enough staff to take care of such a high volume of people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    9
    8
    12
See reviews for
30
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Have stayed at this campground several times and still enjoy it. My family stays in a tent and there is plenty of room. We stayed over the busy 4th of July weekend. The only suggestions I would have for this is to be better prepared for the large increase in visitors. The staff was unable to keep up with the high use of the facilities and several times throughout the weekend they had to close them. Also the picnic tables could definitely use an upgrade. Several you had to time sitting down with someone on the other side because they swayed so much it was like being on a teeter totter. Despite these few things we always get treated well by the staff and like the other reviews say it is an ideal location for fishing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josha27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have stayed in the pasted and it was nice. This week-end was not the case. The office staff was rude and did not have a clue how to run the the business. Could not even operate the copier. The tissue they provide for the cabin was next to nothing. Our cabin was very dirty. Never Again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new cabins or better still find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimimcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My family and I stayed two nights in the cabins at Little Creel. For whatever reason, we decided that we needed to stay in cabins adjacent to one another. My aunt and uncle had a nice little cabin. It was clean and well lit. Our cabin, however; was a little rough around the edges. A woman in a local store told us horror stories about people's stay in the cabins right after we checked in.. so we were planning on coming home with bed bugs and all types of nasty things. After thoroughly inspecting all the beds and linen, we found nothing of the sort. Our cabin was very dark. When we got ready for bed, we noticed a leak from the bathroom sink. The bathroom floor also sank in a bit, as this leak must have been an issue for quite some time. The next morning, we found a leak in the kitchen -- not too sure where that came from. Then the coffee pot exploded. Not to mention this all occurred at about 3 am because I woke up freezing in the "vestibule." Our room had a main room where my parents stayed and I was in an outdoor porch that was converted into a bedroom and it was FREEZING! The heat would only go on if you put it up to 90 and after 3 hours the room still wasn't warm. That morning we called the managers and told them about the room and they immediately upgraded us to a new cabin. It was very nice. It was clean and brightly lit. There were two air conditioners and a ceiling fan so it must be comfortable in the summer. The heating system worked very well; however, it would turn on about every 10 minutes, so if you're a light sleeper, you might want to stay on one of the bunk beds in the other room. Overall, some of the cabins needed a major upgrade. We went from a cabin built in 1947 to one built in 2007. The staff was very accommodating and we were very appreciative of the upgrade!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We are RV people but for this weekend (Chama Days) we decided to rent a cabin. WRONG CHOICE! The cabin was so disgusting had there been anywhere else in Chama available we would of rather picked up our stuff and left! The floors, walls were so gross, the furniture was even worse! We found mouse poop on one of the pull out beds There was dog hair all over the 1 queen bed not to mention a dried worm like thing on the pillow. When we moved the couch over it looked as if it had never been vacuumed and a mouse had been shredding up trash under the sofa. I can go on and on about how gross and unsanitary this place was but I'm sure you got the drift. When I brought the conditions to the management they sent over an employee as we walked through and showed her how nasty it was she agreed to the fullest and said she didn't blame us for the complain! Management was quick to tell us that we basically were trying to get out of the 2nd night stay. Wow! First and LAST Time we will ever stay at this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynetteD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosque, NM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Beautiful spot. But anywhere on the Chama is a beautiful spot. The grounds themselves were well kept. Let me start out by saying we are a family of campers and fisherfolks. We tent camp often. We are not hard to please. We rented two of the cabins and wished we would have camped in tents. One cabin was advertised as a full kitchen. There was a refrigerator with a freezer that needed to be defrosted about 2 years ago; the refrigerator part barely worked and kept the food marginally cool. It was very old and needed to be replaced. The sink leaked copiously. The "full" kitchen had no can opener, no skillet, no spatula, no sink stopper, nothing to bake with; no broiler or other oven pan. The dishes were random and not very usable. The chairs in the kitchen were old and very uncomfortable to sit in. The beds were absolutely awful; to the point that my husband and daughter both woke with back aches. They were what we non-affectionately refer to as "Fred Flintstone" beds; hard as slabs of rock.
The cabins are very run down to the point that the floors slope. The cabins had only been spot cleaned and they were filthy. Worst of all was the attitude of the people in the office. When I inquired about a sink stopper, can opener, I was told I was asking for high tech stuff (it was said with some humor) but I was given a k ration can opener (never been able to use those) and told there was no sink stopper. The following day, I asked for a trash bag and a broom to borrow to sweep the floor. I was told "If I can find them". After much hunting, a trash bag was located as was a broom for me to borrow. The feeling I got when I made my inquiries were that these managers/owners were exhausted and did not want to be bothered at all.
Had we just taken our tents and our camp crates our accommodations would have been much nicer. When I spoke to these owners or managers on the phone they were very nice and helpful...not sure if they were out of town or what the deal was. Sorry Little Creel...never again unless ownership or attitude change.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed one night at this campground. The location is nice, but unfortunately the facilities are in dire need of repair. This could be a very nice campground if maintained. The setting was beautiful with a river running through it and wifi connection was excellent. Friendly staff.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chama hotels
0.1 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
0.2 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#3 of 8 in Chama
93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
11 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Creel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Creel Resort

Property: Little Creel Resort
Address: 2631 S. Hwy 84-64, Chama, NM 87520
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Chama
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Little Creel Hotel Chama
Little Creel Resort Chama, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing