We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Chama B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Beautiful place, warm and wonderful people! Breakfast was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay there again. Best place in Chama. Very convenient since it's right across from the parking lot of the Chma rial station.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at the Parlor Car Bed and Breakfast in Chama, New Mexico prior to taking a ride on the steam train. It was excellent. These hosts were very attentive to our needs, calling is well in advance to determine our dining preferences. The home was everything you would want in a B&B. Very unique but also very comfortable. We had a terrific stay and look forward to returning. Breakfast was tasty and filling!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Parlor Car B&B is a very nice house, in a quiet garden with nice (bed-)rooms, a library with a lot of books mostly about the area etc ...
Very friendly hosts...
The absolute convenient location for the train ride as it is just opposite the station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bilello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
361 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Chama, NM has been one of my favorite places for many years. Getting a chance to stay there again was great, but getting to stay with Wendy and Bonsil was an extra added treat, (excuse me Bonsil if I misspelled.} We were greeted with all the hospitality of long lost friends. The house is quaint and gorgeous with many beautiful paintings done by Bonsill's Grandmother and my favorite, by Bonsill himself a Mule that is in the Library, upstairs.
At the time we were there the Cumbres/Toltec train was not running so there wasn't a lot to do, in town, but that area has some of the most beautiful scenery that you will ever find.
But who needed anything other than enjoying this lovely home, fantastic Innkeepers, and hearing their stories about the part of the world?
Our hope is to return soon.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

if you're doing the Chama train ride....try and stay here...its right opposite the
station.....the owners cant do enough to help......its worth every cent....
also if your dog is ill the owner is a first class vet!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Wendy & Bonsall went all out making us comfortable, even taxiing us around town when it was too far to walk. The location is convenient--only about 1/2 block from the train station & most of the shops are within easy walking distance. We chose the Pullman room & were very happy with that choice. We had intended to use the whirlpool tub but actually never got around to it. The breakfasts were creative & delicious. The room was a little smaller than we thought it would be, but it was certainly adequate. Windows on two sides of the room made it easy to cool off at night. We actually had to close the windows the first night as it got a bit chilly. The private bath had plenty of room, even with the whirlpool tub. The bed was very comfortable & there were extra pillows (something that we really like).

The worst part of our stay is that we had to leave. I would recommend the Parlor Car B&B to anyone who wants a superior experience. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pullman Room has a whirlpool tub/shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Wendy and Bonsall are a lovely couple and made our stay relaxing and special. The architecture and interior decorating of the house goes along well with the quaint, small-town, railroad town feel. Breakfast was delicious as was the luxurious bath I took the night before.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandalaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chama hotels
2.4 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#3 of 8 in Chama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
Show Prices

Been to The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Address: 311 Terrace Ave., Chama, NM 87520
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast Chama, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing