We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Mexico's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corkins Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Corkins Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Chama
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Mexico's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I hope that Corkins stays just the way it is. Seventy years of experience as a lodge cannot be disregarded. The Tipton cabin was great. The deer eat from your hands and wildlife is abundant. The Brazos Cliffs at sunset are surreal and the river provides background music. If you are going to be in northern New Mexico, this is the place to relax for a few days.

Ray Brigham
Boerne Texas

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank RazorBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    3
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hermann, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

When my husband booked a guided elk hunting trip to Chama, N.M., I simply thought of this as a nice getaway for the two of us. What a surprise......some of the most beautiful scenery I could ever imagine! The Corkins Lodge not only provides excellent lodging for the outdoor lover, but also offers ( as a separate fee) expert hunting guides for elk hunting on their private land,. My husband says this is the best guided hunt he has ever been on. The outfitter provided three scrumptious meals a day (including rib-eyes, pot roast, turkey, etc!!) The guides and cook were helpful and excellent company, as well. Our private cabin had everything one could need, including beautiful vistas of the Brazos Cliffs. Trout lake and river, just a walk away. Caught lovely huge trout, too! Feed the local deer right off your cabin porch. Difficult to leave!! You will not be sorry on this one!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcalester, OK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We always stay at the Ponderosa the last week of September every year and love it. We hike, fish all day and spend evening talking on the front porch of our cabin playing with the wildlife! I've never seen such friendly animals in my life. Been married for 30 years and it feels like a honeymoon!

The staff are very friendly, Pilo the manager for the last 15 years (maybe longer) is so nice and friendly. You wish they would adopt you so you could stay forever.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank bountiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

The best part about Corkin's Lodge is the setting right in the middle of a forest with great views of the Brazos Cliffs. The photos on their web site are not exaggerated, although the web site portrays the facility as appearing more upscale than it is. Other nice features include a sparingly-heated outdoor pool, a geat game room and walking/hiking trails. Make sure you bring plenty of food, as it is about 16 miles to town.

We stayed in a log cabin which was rustic but comfortable. It wasn't spotless, but of reasonable cleanliness. The cabin was well furnished for a longer stay. I was only able to get wi-fi reception at the pool, but not at the cabin. Unfortunately, it was drizzling...

The rates are a bit steep. I got a cabin for 4 people for the Fall Special rate of $125/night which was a better value than the motels in Chama. I would not, however, have paid the regular rate of $250.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doandko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

The sign on the main road caught our attention, what slowly unfolded as we drove through the narrow valley to Corkins was breathtaking. Yep this is it ! quiet and peaceful with some on NM best scenery . Sitting back on the balcony with a Corona and the chook in the BBQ, watching deer,squirels and turkeys was just spot on.
A genteel establishment with something for those that like to take it easy and enjoy nature in a quiet manner. Top Spot and highly recomended from a serious world traveller.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank gollum453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

What a fabulous place! If you enjoy the outdoors, this is definitely a place to go. There is so much to do...hiking, fishing, wildlife. The cabins are cozy and comfortable and the location is beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibbyoreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chama hotels
11.8 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#3 of 8 in Chama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
13.1 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.3 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
13.6 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corkins Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corkins Lodge

Property: Corkins Lodge
Address: End of Highway 512, Chama, NM 87520
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1930. Corkins Lodge. located on 1000 acres of pristine pine forest under the spectacular Brazos cliffs offers private fishing on more then two miles of the Brazos River, a swimming pool and sauna and the all comforts and convenience of your own cabin in natural setting. All cabins have full kitchens. Perfect for quiet getaways to family reunions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Corkins Hotel Chama
Corkins Lodge Chama, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing