We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Nearby Hotels
Branding Iron Motel(Chama)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Juan Motel(Pagosa Springs)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Inn of Pagosa(Pagosa Springs)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinewood Inn(Pagosa Springs)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
52
30
12
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
30
12
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverfire pitgreat wifibird sanctuarynew mexicofamily reunionfront porchcharcoal grillking bedneeded a place to staybeautiful spotplenty of hot waterour night stayowners were friendlyclose to townsteam railroadnext morning
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just got back from a weekend in Chama, New Mexico. We stayed at the Elkhorn Lodge, in a cabin by the river. Our cabin was right near the river and we could listen to the river as we fell asleep at night. The property is clean and well maintained. It feels like a summer camp to me, simple. There is a small cafe near the property with good, not great fare. Big breakfast platters.
It provided me a quiet place to immediately forget the stresses and pressures of work.

Room Tip: I loved the cabin by the river.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here for five days in the motel rooms (not the cabin) and maid service only included a few towels. No trash was removed, no bed linen change, never made the bed, no cups, tissues, tp or anything else. At $89 a night and repeated requests to clean, this is reprehensible. We would never return and STRONGLY advise others to avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulSchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed in the motel room 2nd.floor room was quiet and clean.Because we were riding the train they gave us 1/2 off 2nd. nite thanks.The office didn't open until after 8:30 am.would of liked to get in the office earlier.They have a restaurant at the top of the hill . Food was good and the waitress were great

Room Tip: If you need wi fi .only worked in the office,That was ok sometimes you need to get away from hi tech Take a deep breath and enjoy your surroundings!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Booked here for a music event held on site. Booked online what looked like one of the nicer cabins. The cabin was run down and dirty. Although old, they could be fairly nice if they were cleaned up and updated. Couldn't wait to get out of there. The staff was nice, but there's no excuse for the the condition theses cabins are in at the rates they charge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We made reservations online for the Elk Horn and looked at it on Google Earth beforehand. It's not new by any means, but it has lots of character, the grounds are great, Jim & Jill the owners are awsome, and it's right on the Rio Chama. Some reviews knock it as being old and unclean but we didn't find that at all. It's the kind of place you might want to do a family reunion, or a stop over with a bunch of friends who are going to ride the steam train. If you're used to a brand new Comfort Inn, this ain't it, and you won't like it. If you like nice people who have a great old place for your overnight stay, you will enjoy the Elk Horn, just don't sweat the small stuff. They are pet friendly and have an old cat (Oscar) who totally intimidated our Aussie pup. Even jumped in the truck for a nap when we weren't looking to her dismay. The restraunt next door has great food and service as well. Adios.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, the river is right behind you.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews