We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean cute cabins and friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chama River Bend Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
1 review
“Clean cute cabins and friendly staff!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in September 2013 and had a wonderful experience! We stayed in a cabin (#10) and we were impressed by how clean, new and cute the cabin interior was. It was very comfortable and exactly what we were looking for. The staff at the front office was extremely welcoming and friendly! They even remembered we were there celebrating a birthday and mentioned that again when we checked out :). Would recommend this lodge for a comfortable, friendly stay in Chama.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    43
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
54
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed in one of the cabins with our two dogs - with the pet fees, it ran us almost $170. I think it would have been around $129 without it. Which seems a little pricy for a cabin that is a bit more like a mobile home in rural New Mexico, but the place is right by the river, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and it was nice to have the included kitchenette for making snacks and coffee. The sleeping lofts are cute - she said kids really enjoy them, but it was definitely a kick for us adults too. Nothing crazy luxurious, but comfy and pleasant after a day out exploring. It was also nice to be able to walk out the door & walk the dogs along the river trail.

And in the morning, I saw a deer not 20 ft away.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 50, which is the closest to the river, and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erose_leaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had originally went to a hotel our friends had heard about and the front help was rude and after checking out their rooms we decided to look elsewhere and we found River Bend Lodge. The owners were very friendly and pleasant, the rooms were very nice and comfortable, there is a nice green grass area if you had children, a fire pit and gazebo down by the river, a laundry facility if you needed. We took several of their business cards and gave them to the friends who have just moved there so they could now recommend a great place to stay. Thanks River Bend Lodge for your hospitality. We are thinking of making a return visit with our kids and grandchildren sure hope you have a vacancy we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The first night of vacation we stayed here. I am so happy we did. Large rooms, ceiling fans above each bed made sleeping very comfortable. Room was clean and smelled wonderful. The beds were perfect after traveling all day. Loved that we could park right outside our door to load and unload without any hassles. If we venture to Northern New Mexico in the future, we will be staying here.

Room Tip: We were in room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Definitely one of the best places that we have ever stayed. It was so relaxing. We were able to set outside and just enjoy the peace and quite. Nice grasses area to let the kids run and play or your pets. The rooms were nice, fresh and clean!!! The entire staff were so friendly and accommodating. We have already book rooms for future stays. They are just a very short drive from town or the train station. Recommend Chama River Bend Lodge to anyone!!!!!! We will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: There are rooms like hotel rooms or there are cabins if you would like a more room and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdhollingsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Microwave didn't work. Hair in shower. Mildewed shower curtain. No fireplace or hot tub as it states on brochure. Very noisy in AM. Futon is only seating and really lumpy and uncomfortable. Very disappointed overall. Would not recommend. Also would not honour AARP on weekends but would on Monday.

Room Tip: Don't stay in cabin 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Very clean room and the bed was nice and comfortable. The owners were awesome! We arrived on motorcycles in the cold and rainy weather. We were going to walk to the nearest restaurant after we unpacked instead of riding in the dark again but the owner offered to give us a ride there and told us to give him a call when we needed a ride back. Very accommodating! We will stay here again if in the area. Very beautiful place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank meshell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chama hotels
0.3 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#3 of 8 in Chama
88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
94 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chama River Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chama River Bend Lodge

Property: Chama River Bend Lodge
Address: 2625 US 84/64, PO Box 593, Chama, NM 87520
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chama River Bend Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Chama River Bend Lodge we have been building relationships since 1989! Nestled on a spacious five-acre partial on the banks of the Chama River, you will find breathtaking views of the San Juan mountain range and Chama Peak. We are conveniently located to meet your recreational, sight seeing, camping, and vacation needs in every season. Winter offers excellent cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, a hot air balloon rally, and ice fishing on the Rio Chamita, as well as nearby El Vado and Heron lakes. Summer promises mild but beautiful weather for an exciting ride aboard the Cumbres Toltec steam train, or camping, fishing, horseback riding, and excursions through nearby wildlife reserves. The Chama River Bend Lodge offers both rooms and cabins to accommodate your party's reservation needs. All accommodations are smoke-free and have a private entrance, private bath, air-conditioning, refrigerator, and a coffee maker. After a long, fun-filled day in the woods, relax under the stars in our outdoor hot tub, or enjoy s'mores and conversation cozied around a fire-pit near the river. We hope you will choose the Chama River Bend Lodge as your next destination for vacation, family reunions, group gatherings, a weekend getaway, a wedding or any special occasion--we sincerely look forward to serving you. Pet friendly in CABINS only! No Pets in Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chama River Bend Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chama River Bend Hotel Chama
Chama River Bend Lodge New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing