We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away and Relax!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chimayo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda
Ranked #2 of 4 Chimayo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was perfect for us and a one-night stop on the way home from Albuquerque to Colorado. Service was just what we needed and not bothersome. Room seis was large, clean, comfortable, beautiful, and authentic with fireplace, balcony, creaky wood floors, and high ceilings. We chose breakfast on the balcony and it was just right for us. We used the fireplace with no problems and we actually had cell service too. We met other friendly guests and the resturaunt was to die for! We had a table on the 2nd level of the patio and the atmosphere, service, and food were all delightful, we will be recommending both to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms uno and siete have balconies that face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hacienda de Chimayo is a great base from which to explore the amazing beauty of New Mexico. Over several days, we drove from the Hacienda to Taos (you have to check out the Taos Pueblo & the bridge over the Rio Grande Gorge!), the cool old almost-ghost town of Cerillos (where we had an amazing horseback riding experience with Broken Saddle Ranch), and also easily drove to Santa Fe (very cool, artistic old town). To get to Taos from the Hacienda you must drive along the Rio Grande gorge, and you cannot help but marvel at the amazing desert views no matter where you're going. The Hacienda also has its own restaurant just across the street (Rancho de Chimayo) which is very well-known around the area and serves very delicious food. Just down the street is a beautiful local attraction, the Santuario de Chimayo, which attracts pilgrims from all over and is a lovely, peaceful place to visit.

The Hacienda itself is a lovely little B&B. It has a courtyard in the middle from which all the rooms are accessed, with lots of flowers & benches. We stayed in Room Uno which had beautiful antique furniture, airy high ceilings with gorgeous dark beams, and a great kiva fireplace which we absolutely LOVED to sit beside & read at night. The little balcony was great too, because we could sit outside & read or watch the world go by. The room had a little fridge, a coffee maker, and a couple of cans of juice. Every morning, we were treated with a healthy continental breakfast served on trays & brought to our room for whatever time we wished. When we checked in, we were greeted warmly by Norman, the owner's son, who gave us tons of great information about the history and attractions in the area. On the night before we were due to leave, he saw us arrive back at the Hacienda, knowing we were planning to leave too early for breakfast, he came out of the office to say goodbye & wish us well, and even offered us some yogurt in the fridge to take with us for breakfast the next morning.

We were absolutely enchanted by our first visit to New Mexico, and the Hacienda was honestly one of the best parts of the trip. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room Uno which was lovely, with high ceilings & beautiful beams, a fabulous kiva fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westielover_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room Seis. No frills but nice large space with wonderful fireplace and sitting area. On a central courtyard with easy checkin. Can walk to Restaurant across the street owned by the same family. Only suggestion is to add a few reading lamps as the overhead light is too bright. Easy access to a visit to Sanctuario de Chimayo which is rather unique

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eashaw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Great stay and Have always loved the room. was excellent great service. Norman at the front desk was very attentive, friendly, helpful and very Accomodating.
Visit stays out because of the very, very old crosses at the edge of the property. A highlight was getting Norman' historical stories.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My wife of 40 years and I went up for a Valentine Weekend get away. The service was great, the room represented what we love about living in New Mexico. A treasure. Love the fact that we were able to have a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jthurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Visiting Chimayo is a must for the history, culture ... and food. We stayed the night at the Hacienda and were delighted with the room. The room was beautifully furnished and the little kiva fireplace in the corner was the icing on the cake.
Breakfast was brought to our room the next morning and was delicious. Staff was friendy and helpful. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.
This is an old hacienda -- wide plank floors, high ceilings -- it's NOT the Marriott -- but who the heck wants the Marriott when they stay at a B&B?

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 406Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Anyone visiting Northern New Mexico should travel up or down the High Road, through the mountains from Santa Fe to Taos. or if you stay in Santa Fe and want a romantic, mountain getaway experience about a half hour away, this is a great place. beautiful, high-ceiling rooms, breakfast brought to your room, a fountain splashing outside, peace and quiet. Across the road is their renowned restaurant-- have dinner on the patio. Most people go to Chimayo to visit the ancient church, which is definitely worthwhile.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AckeeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda

Address: County Road 98, PO Box 11, Chimayo, NM 87522 (Formerly Hacienda de Chimayo)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chimayo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chimayo
Price Range: £54 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hacienda De Chimayo Hotel Chimayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing