We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catholic Vortex” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Santuario de Chimayo

El Santuario de Chimayo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$190.00*
and up
Private Tour: High Road to Taos from Santa Fe
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Chimayo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The "Lourdes" of America, where miracles are thought to happen.
Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Catholic Vortex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This shrine was established on an ancient Indian site of miracle dirt. It is said that the soil has healing powers. The Catholics then "discovered " it and built a church/shrine on the site hundreds of years ago. It is a quiet and thoughtful place. There are homemade crosses stuck in the fence on the walkway up the the courtyard. Everywhere there are examples of people's hope, rosaries, pictures of loved ones, crosses. The dirt is in an alcove of the chapel, you can touch it and take some with you. The area also has a small creek running thru it which gives it a cool and green feeling. It reminded me of the vortexes in Sedona AZ. If you are Catholic this is a must stop place, if not it is still very interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dcb4scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    110
    30
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“spiritual respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Thought we'd spend a short time visiting El Santuario. But it was so moving we ended up staying for a couple of hours. We visited several of the chapels and walked the grounds. Very peaceful. Wonderful day for healing mind, body, soul and spirit. Highly recommend spending some time here. Try to go off season so you can really appreciate all the beauty and peacefulness that you otherwise might not enjoy when it is more crowded.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dalcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredibly Spiritual, Interesting Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It was nice to have a bit of respite from the more crowded areas in downtown Santa Fe. The sanctuary is a very spiritual place, not to mention beautiful. I loved seeing the pictures of those healed from their pilgrimages there.

The town itself is also interesting to walk around.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg GA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Serenity on a week day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Go off season if you want to find serenity in the setting for El Santuario. We went to Chimayo following Holy Week, avoiding the pilgrimage of the devout on Good Friday. Although signs still pointed the way for the pilgrims from Santa Fe to Chimayo, there were few visitors on a Tuesday.

The little church is truly inspirational. Old, primitive, colorful, small, quiet, El Santuario is truly the people's church. Take time to sit and reflect before the altar. Take in the many different artifacts. Don't rush through. I sat, reflected, and, yes, knelt on the old wooden kneelers to pray for those in my life for whom I wish a miracle of healing. And yes, we brought back the sacred dirt, which we put in little tins purchased from the gift shop. (You can bring your own container.) You cannot miss the room where the healed have hung their crutches hang upon the wall . That was tender, but more tender were the photos tacked on the walls of loved ones for whom prayer was requested.
Having attended mass at the Cathedral in Santa Fe, visiting El Sanctuario was a wonderful change from pomp and circumstance and opulence.

After visiting the church itself, I sat in the courtyard on a warm sunny day and watched the cows grazing below.

I felt refreshed.

The small museum has interesting artifacts. And thankfully with all those pilgrims, the compound does have restrooms.

My only minor critique would be that the ladies in the gift shop could be a lot friendlier. I suspect they volunteer since all proceeds go to the maintenance of the Church. Even so, a smile and some assistance would further their goal. Also, there are no free brochures to explain the history and significance of El Santuario. But one may be purchased for $1 at the gift shop

Afterwards, we went across the street to buy spices from Carlito. Don't miss the opportunity! Carlito will be happy to let you sample his variety of chili peppers with a pistachio nut chaser. The experience was delightful. You'll enjoy it....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peerke_and_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Even those Not Catholic will be in Awe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

✞✟Chimayó holds a special significance to Catholics, but I doubt many could visit and deny the sanctity of this place. Visiting the historic site is an amazing experience and visiting by way of a pilgrimige makes it all the more powerful. Everyone should make the trip to Chimayó.

Make sure you bring a container for holy dirt and water - you won't regret it. Give yourself enough time to visit all of the wonderful historical sites on this sacred land - museum, café, the Santo Niño chapel, giftshop.

Mass Schedule: Daily at 11:00 AM (Monday through Saturday) 10:30 AM and Noon (Sunday)

Read more about my visit here:
http://undercovercross.blogspot.com/2014/04/my-pilgrimage-to-chimayo.html

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Santuario de Chimayo also viewed

 

Been to El Santuario de Chimayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing