We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Wellbeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Chimayo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Casa Escondida is truly a delight. The house itself is a perfect example of the best in southwestern architecture. It is beautiful and welcoming and comfortable. It's not an award winning B and B for nothing! It is situated on the high road between Taos and Santa Fe, a lovely trip. Nearby is the well known restaurant, Rancho de Chimayo. The breakfast at the B and B was delicious. Griffin, the cat, welcomes you.

Room Tip: Speak to the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

What we liked best, each time we visit, is how warm and friendly Belinda, the owner, is. Last time, we called for availability, she said the lower priced room was being worked on. When we got there, it still was not up to her standards so she upgraded us to the Casita suite. Which had a crackling and fragrant fire in the corner fireplace that I went to sleep to. There is a wonderful cat named Griffin who was there both times we've visited. I have always loved the large patio in the back, with many birds to watch at the feeders, as we enjoyed our wine and cheese and the sunset. The rooms have all kinds of little touches and major features, like night lights and comfortable beds, cookies and lovely southwestern bathrooms. The breakfasts are always delicious--last time hot fresh thick and light pancakes with fruit compote. We will be back.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OwlM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

If you are looking for some peace and quiet away from the noise of the city, then this place is perfect! The rooms are very comfortable and the staff has thought of all kinds of little things to make your stay more enjoyable. While out in a rural area, away from the bustle of the city, it is very convenient to Santa Fe, Taos, Ghost Ranch, Espanola, and other great spots in North Central New Mexico. And the breakfasts are superb. This was our second visit and we plan on returning as often as we can. Make sure this is on your list!

Room Tip: The "Heart of the House" room has an old wood stove in the corner and a back door opening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is a great BB off the beaten path ... Located in Chimayo Valley.. just 30 minutes North of Santa Fe ... Come here to get recharged .. leave all the laptops, iPads behind ..The owner and staff are great.. The rooms are romatic , get some wine and chesse and hold each other near the kiva fireplace .. I've stayed 4 times its great each time ..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rqball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here Friday 2/22 and really enjoyed it. We chose one of the lower priced rooms. i believe it was the Garden Room, located in a separate building a few steps off the patio right on the way to the hot tub, (which we didn't use.) It was very small but comfortable and attractive. My only criticism was that the pillows were very firm, so if you like pillows that are soft and squishy or down-like, BYO. Belinda, the owner was very friendly, nice and helpful. She gave us good directions, which you need. It's a little hard to find. I recommend getting there while it's still light. Belinda was not at Casa Escondida when we called for a reservation within 15-20 minutes before we arrived. She planned to meet us at the entrance to the driveway with her lights flashing, so we wouldn't miss the turn. We actually beat her there. Our GPS found it reasonably well. We enjoyed reading by the fire in the cozy common living room and had a taste egg and green chili casserole with fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee and lemon poppyseed bread for breakfast. M-m-m-m. Belinda also made reservations at the local restaurant nearby. We will definitely return. It must be really beautiful in the spring, summer and fall when the patio is available. Chimayo is also a central spot to explore this part of NM.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenverDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is the second time we've booked in at Casa Escondido. This time we booked the freestanding Casita with sitting room and kitchenette. It was wonderful. In addition to the great facilities, Belinda and her staff make everyone feel totally at home. They have helpful resources and great inside information on the sights, shopping, and just about anything else you're interested in. The breakfasts are tailored to the Southwest Mexican cuisine.

The location of this B&B couldn't be better. Between Santa Fe, Taos, Ghost Ranch, the Wilderness, Craft Shops, etc, etc. etc. We stayed two weeks and still didn't see it all. We'll be back.

Room Tip: For us, the Casita was well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Last week my girlfriend and I were traveling through NM on a hot springs road trip and wanted to spoil ourselves before camping in the mountains for a few days. Many other B&Bs were booked and I found an available room here for the time. This was my first experience in a B&B and I was pleasantly surprised at how well put together this little inn was. It was quaint and off the road, which we both appreciated. The common room was cozy and homelike when we arrived with the resident cat napping quietly on couch. We checked in late and ate dinner at a local restaurant then fell asleep quickly. We awoke to a rooster crowing and a beautiful sunrise. The breakfast served was a delicious egg casserole alongside a wonderful cinnamon infused coffee. A few more breakfast options would have been nice but we are not picky eaters so it didn't affect us in the slightest. We had a great time and would like to come back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinstonV192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimayo
7.5 mi away
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
10.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
8.4 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Villas de Santa Fe
Villas de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rancho Manzana
Rancho Manzana
#3 of 4 in Chimayo
32 reviews
14.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast

Address: 64 County Road 100, P.O. Box 142, Chimayo, NM 87522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chimayo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chimayo
Price Range: £105 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Chimayo (only 35 minutes north of Santa Fe), this is the perfect, central location for visiting all of the most popular destinations in northern New Mexico (Santa Fe, Taos, Bandelier National Park, Pueblos, hot springs and more)! Six acres of mountain serenity. A full, hot breakfast is included. FREE wi-fi. FREE parking. FREE daily newspaper. You'll sleep like royalty on our luxury bed linens and our magnificent orthopedic mattresses.Guest rooms are filled with hand-picked antiques and accented in a rustic southwestern style. Start your day in our sunny breakfast room. Conclude your day with an evening of star gazing by our outdoor fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing