We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting location, fair experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Chimayo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here in June as part of a driving trip across the US. We were traveling with our small dog, so we needed a place that had a kitchen(ette) and was pet friendly. Casa met this on both counts. We had been staying in budget chain hotels and eating take out, so we were relieved to find a location where we could cook a bit and have some breathing room.

Everyone was friendly and nice and the studio space was comfortable and had nice light. I felt like it could have used a bit more attention to cleaning--especially the kitchen--dishes were greasy from being on display instead of in the cabinet. My only other complaint was that both the front and back screen doors were ripped a bit, so a few bugs were able to sneak in the afternoon and at dusk. The sunset/moonrise viewed from our patio was spectacular.

The breakfasts were substantial and tasty and the coffee they served seemed like it had cinnamon added, which was a nice touch. It was lovely watching the birds at the feeders while we had breakfast on the patio.

The location in Chimayo was off the beaten path and enabled us to experience some true New Mexico, different than just touring urban areas.

Staff was helpful with suggestions, but I also recommend reviewing the in-room binder as it has some good information about places to eat and visit. We found it the day we were leaving unfortunately.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTWRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

My husband and I first stayed at Casa Escondida in the early 90's, even before Belinda built her own house nearby. We've always been welcomed warmly, and the house feels so much like home we consider Belinda to be family. After our first visit we brought friends with us (from Sacramento, CA), sent other friends from California, and returned again a year or so later when I pruned her apple tree. Even after moving to Albuquerque, we came back for my birthday celebration in October. You can read much the same thing in other reviews; this is an exceptional place. There are gorgeous places all around the property to sit and relax, inside and out. Star gazing is remarkable out there in the country, especially the August meteor showers, or the occasional space station flyover. The only time I thought we had chosen the wrong room is when we stayed in the Sun Room during a full moon. It was so brightly lit I didn't sleep at all. Ambiance, food, hospitality, comfort, location, privacy and an opening to Spirit can all be felt at the same time. Do use this place as a hub for all other activities in this part of northern New Mexico. The value of a stay here includes many day trips that can be combined so you can see more than one thing in one day, and all within an easy drive from Casa Escondida. Go hide in the woods. Separate yourself from the rat race, and just breathe.

Room Tip: The Vista Room (up some narrow stairs) is a favorite because of it's large private balcony. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Everything stated in the most recent reviews is accurate. Guests have the run of the house, with access to a complete kitchen and common area, including free wifi and telephone. Comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms. Breakfasts that obviate the need for lunch anytime soon, if at all. Personable staff. In mid-May the hummingbirds were arriving, and the large feeder in the courtyard was particularly busy with visiting grosbeaks. The house cat will make sure you are aware of his presence. There is a hot tub and hammock under the trees. Located a half mile from the Chimayo church compound. If that church seems a bit overdeveloped to you, drive thirty minutes north on the high road, passing the village of Truchas, to Trampas, where there is a beautiful old mission style church in its pure and humble habitat, so to speak. I suggest that before arrival you stock up on any drinks and snacks you might want during your stay in Santa Fe or Espanola. There is a Family Dollar store for junk food and a very limited liquor store in Chimayo a mile or two down the road towards Espanola, but you'll be happier if you hit a supermarket first. As others have noted, the excellent Rancho Chimayo restaurant is close by.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KU65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Pleasing staff and gracious owner. We really needed a break. And Belinda provided the perfect getaway. We plan to make Casa Escondida our destination for exploring the region further. Can't wait for next visit. Everything we were looking for and more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandyPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Casa Escondida is truly a delight. The house itself is a perfect example of the best in southwestern architecture. It is beautiful and welcoming and comfortable. It's not an award winning B and B for nothing! It is situated on the high road between Taos and Santa Fe, a lovely trip. Nearby is the well known restaurant, Rancho de Chimayo. The breakfast at the B and B was delicious. Griffin, the cat, welcomes you.

Room Tip: Speak to the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

What we liked best, each time we visit, is how warm and friendly Belinda, the owner, is. Last time, we called for availability, she said the lower priced room was being worked on. When we got there, it still was not up to her standards so she upgraded us to the Casita suite. Which had a crackling and fragrant fire in the corner fireplace that I went to sleep to. There is a wonderful cat named Griffin who was there both times we've visited. I have always loved the large patio in the back, with many birds to watch at the feeders, as we enjoyed our wine and cheese and the sunset. The rooms have all kinds of little touches and major features, like night lights and comfortable beds, cookies and lovely southwestern bathrooms. The breakfasts are always delicious--last time hot fresh thick and light pancakes with fruit compote. We will be back.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OwlM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

If you are looking for some peace and quiet away from the noise of the city, then this place is perfect! The rooms are very comfortable and the staff has thought of all kinds of little things to make your stay more enjoyable. While out in a rural area, away from the bustle of the city, it is very convenient to Santa Fe, Taos, Ghost Ranch, Espanola, and other great spots in North Central New Mexico. And the breakfasts are superb. This was our second visit and we plan on returning as often as we can. Make sure this is on your list!

Room Tip: The "Heart of the House" room has an old wood stove in the corner and a back door opening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimayo
10.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
8.4 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rancho Manzana
Rancho Manzana
#3 of 4 in Chimayo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Villas de Santa Fe
Villas de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
515 reviews
14.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
8.4 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast

Address: 64 County Road 100, P.O. Box 142, Chimayo, NM 87522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chimayo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chimayo
Price Range: £116 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Chimayo (only 35 minutes north of Santa Fe), this is the perfect, central location for visiting all of the most popular destinations in northern New Mexico (Santa Fe, Taos, Bandelier National Park, Pueblos, hot springs and more)! Six acres of mountain serenity. A full, hot breakfast is included. FREE wi-fi. FREE parking. FREE daily newspaper. You'll sleep like royalty on our luxury bed linens and our magnificent orthopedic mattresses.Guest rooms are filled with hand-picked antiques and accented in a rustic southwestern style. Start your day in our sunny breakfast room. Conclude your day with an evening of star gazing by our outdoor fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing