We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Chimayo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Casa Escondida is really lovely. The room was beautiful, food good, and the staff nice. I loved sitting out on the front porch in the sunshine in the morning with a view of the mountains. The drive to get there from Santa Fe was spectacular.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Dos Garden Room. We echo everyone's comments about the incredible breakfast that Belinda serves up!
1) Getting to the B&B. Our GPS was a little off as to the exact location, but there is good signage from CR-100 to the B&B. We followed the signs and found the B&B with no problems.
2) Belinda left a plate of cookies that we enjoyed at check in. Yum!
3) Great whirlpool hot tub. Hot tub towels provided.
4) Main house is left unlocked, we were able to relax in the living / dining room and use the Internet.
5) Very quiet, great sleep quality.
6) Griffin the B&B cat is very friendly and will jump on your lap.
7) At breakfast, there is a birdfeeder right outside the dining room and you will be entertained by a bird show!

Room Tip: We should have spent a little extra for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is the best place to stay in the area bar none. Belinda , Janis and the rest of the staff are the greatest hosts. It's like coming home to family and friends. We enjoyed the Kiva room with its fireplace. The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. For real treat, have Caroline give you a wonderful massage. The nights are quiet with the occasional coyote singing in the distance. You cannot go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

---as her informative views of Taos, Santa Fe, Chimayo and other nearby locations makes the entire stay a complete and informative resting place. She's also an excellent chef whose breakfasts were timely and delicious. Bravo Belinda! And the dogs were welcome too!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamuelAddoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Thanks Belenda and Rebecca and Esther for a warm greeting! Valuable tips about our NM day trip adventures! Warm hospitality and excellent food! We will be back and we will tell our friends about your treasure called Casa Escondida!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary and it was perfect. Our room was welcoming and private, the facilities were all we could ask for and the staff was gracious and friendly. We had as much privacy as we wanted and also met some great people to talk to. Breakfasts were delicious and we cooked one night in our room and went to a lovely nearby restaurant the next. The grounds were gorgeous and the hot tub was delightful. We hope to return!

Room Tip: The Casa Escondida is a lovely little suite with a private patio where we had a dinner and an annive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I've known about this B&B for several years, but this was my first opportunity to stay here. A great choice! Lovely, peaceful location out in the country, but close to nearby restaurants, and historic artist's shops. Very cozy and colorful interior with a cheerful breakfast room looking out onto the backyard & tons of birds coming to the feeders. Belinda, the innkeeper, was very welcoming, and had lots of good information to pass along. Her staff was equally sweet & I never wanted for anything. The breakfasts were delicious......and the bizcochito cookies in my room were too good to pass up. (there's also a canister of cookies in the kitchen for that midnight snack).
Griffin, the adorable B&B cat, was a sweetheart & very entertaining.
Two thumbs up for this place.......I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: I believe any room would be a good choice.....though if you really wanted extra quiet, the detached...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsetsmefree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimayo
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,001 reviews
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#51 of 60 in Santa Fe
97 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast

Address: 64 County Road 100, P.O. Box 142, Chimayo, NM 87522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chimayo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chimayo
Price Range: £117 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Chimayo (only 35 minutes north of Santa Fe), this is the perfect, central location for visiting all of the most popular destinations in northern New Mexico (Santa Fe, Taos, Bandelier National Park, Pueblos, hot springs and more)! Six acres of mountain serenity. A full, hot breakfast is included. FREE wi-fi. FREE parking. FREE daily newspaper. You'll sleep like royalty on our luxury bed linens and our magnificent orthopedic mattresses.Guest rooms are filled with hand-picked antiques and accented in a rustic southwestern style. Start your day in our sunny breakfast room. Conclude your day with an evening of star gazing by our outdoor fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing