We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Motel Clayton
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We always stay here on our way to Red River and we always have a good experience. The staff is always friendly and very accommodating. A true "American owned" independent establishment. Very clean and old school unique. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    59
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
53
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, OK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Our family has stayed here several years in a row on our way to Red River. The rooms are consistently very clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly. The rates are reasonable. It is the perfect hotel for a good nights rest on the way to somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank andi9961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This place looks old (but not rundown) on the outside, but inside it was clean and comfortable. The carpet was nice and new, as was the paint, furniture, bedding, etc. Everything was clean and fresh smelling, not musty like some older motels. In the bathroom, it looked like someone had polished each and every tile - I'm not kidding, every surface sparkled.

The A/C worked great, the water pressure and temp in the shower was great, the sheets were super-soft, and the bed was cushy. The room had DirectTV, phone, alarm clock, etc.

I've read several reviews mentioning the lack of electrical outlets. There were two outlets in our room, and one on the light fixture in the bathroom. How many do you need, really?

Since they are not really withing walking distance to anything, it was great that they offered coffee, cream, sugar, juice, bagels with cream cheese or butter, and bananas in the lobby.

The owners were very nice, and even let me borrow their smart-phone to search for an auto repair service open on Fourth of July.

Our single room for two people cost about $77 per night, including tax. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here on our way to Colorado, and will stay here again. The manager is super friendly and obviously takes pride in her motel. The room was comfortable, quiet, and SPOTLESSLY clean! A very good stay all around!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Such a wonderful surprise! I stayed here recently while driving solo from Denver to Dallas and picked it based on the great reviews. Everyone is absolutely correct - this is clean, quiet, and very, very nice. The owners are so friendly and great, it feels like a bed and breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will most definitely stay here again on my next road trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Our family needed to stop for the night and we were very happy with our room. It was very clean. The owner was very friendly. The beds are super comfortable. The wifi was spotty but that happens at any hotels... We would stay again! There are not any frills but it's great. Plus flat screens and DirectTV.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank family1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

A lot of loving care has obviously gone into the design and maintenance of this propertey. The lobby has a pleasant southwest/New Mexico decor and comfy furnishings. The family who runs it is also very welcoming and friendly.
This is the classic, u-shaped roadside motel, but don't let that deter you. The rooms are clean, comfortable and homey. A real value for an equally comfortable rate. On the "minus" side of the ledger, they only have two-pronged electrical outlets, so we couldn't plug in our computers and the WiFi is in definite need of an upgrade. Still, the positives FAR outweighed any negatives. We will definitely plan to stay again next time we're passing through.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PixlPshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clayton hotels
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clayton
1.4 mi away
Best Western Kokopelli Lodge
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eklund
Hotel Eklund
#3 of 5 in Clayton
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Clayton
Super 8 Clayton
#5 of 5 in Clayton
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Motel
Clayton Motel
#1 of 1 in Clayton
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Motel Clayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Motel Clayton

Property: Holiday Motel Clayton
Address: Highway 87N, Clayton, NM 88415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Holiday Motel Clayton Hotel Clayton
Holiday Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing