We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for an overnight on the road stay BUT pretty lame breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn & Suites Clayton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Clayton
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel for an overnight on the road stay BUT pretty lame breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed in Clayton a few times and really liked the Best Western Kokopelli Lodge: nice, place, friendly staff, great breakfast included. Because of the Mud Bog races (?!!), hotels were packed. The Days Inn had a cancellation so we lucked out. The hotel is what you expect for a low mid-range hotel. The lobby, halls and room all were clean with no funky smells. Our room was truly non-smoking with a comfortable bed. My complaint is the breakfast-I'm not sure what the criteria is for a "deluxe" breakfast, but there is no deluxe in this breakfast. The wafflemaker is the high point- there is no meat, biscuits, gravy, scrambled eggs. If you like muffins, bread, yogurt and hard boiled eggs, you are set. I'm going to the effort to write this review because we have been spoiled by similar quality hotels at the same price. Those hotels allow us to have a great breakfast during our travels and minimize our lunch. I'm afraid we are stopping for lunch today!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TexasGilesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    58
    53
    23
    11
See reviews for
96
33
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Small town so not much to choose from. Staff want overly welcoming but our rooms were clean. The pool was nice for the kids. Breakfast was disappointing. Only one waffle maker which ran out of batter. No coffee (only decaf). No protein to speak of and the dining area was pretty small. Some families had to take their food back to their rooms to eat it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NWA_RHightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stay here two weeks every March. A few things we have learned - call to confirm your reservation a few days beforehand. Once they didn't have a record of our reservation. Also, make sure and request a room along the front of the hotel so you aren't directly on the train tracks. A couple of times I've had a room that reeked of smoke when it was supposed to be non-smoking, but the front desk has always been able to move me. The best piece of advice - go to the Rabbit Ear for dinner. Yum!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTexasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsicana, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very friendly staff, kept pool open for us an hour longer since we arrived late. Got us extra towels without us having to ask. There was no luggage trolley at first, so we started carrying stuff to our room bit by bit. Finally, while walking along, I spotted it in a hallway, snagged it, and after I was done with it, I brought it back to the management. He was happy I found it and brought it back.

The cost of a two bed, one room hotel was a bit higher than most places we'd been, and we'd traveled *by car* from Texas to Washington, and back to Texas again. So we spent a lot of time in hotels along the way. This one was on the higher end of cost. In fact, the area of Clayton, NM was higher than most places...ranging in the 100's to 120's a night. For my husband and I, and our two teenaged kids, it cost us $111.75.

There was just one washer and one dryer in this hotel. It cost $1.25 to wash or to dry. So if anyone was using it when you needed it, you were out of luck until they come to get their clothes.

Internet was free and but the worst I've ever seen for wifi. We typically stream Netflix when we go out to hotels, because we can watch what we want, and all it takes is an HDMI cord to connect my laptop to the TV. But, with the internet being slow (congested?), we couldn't do that or watch even youtube videos on the internet for entertainment. It showed us connected at 65mbps, but a speed test at speedtest.net showed us running at horribly super slow speeds. It took the longest I've ever seen to run a download speed test, and I've used 14bps dial up before. The download speed test never could even complete because of how slow it was. It'd just freeze at around 75% done, and the top speed was .29mbps (note the decimal point). That's pretty darn bad.

Every once in a while, we heard a train going by, and it was fairly loud. But it didn't seem to awaken us during slumber if it did go by while we were sleeping. We took room 220 on the top right side of the building. It was especially quiet.

The beds were clean and comfortable, and had a blanket and a comforter on it. Typically, we only get one blanket at most hotels, and so we often travel with our own extra blankets. There's no late check out at this location, unless you want to incur a charge. So be ready to go by 11am.

The pool closes at 10pm. The pool was crowded and insanely noisy, but I don't fault the hotel for that. I'm surprised no one complained at the noise though, as kids were screaming pretty loudly in there and we could hear it just walking down the hall. Despite management being so kind as to keep the pool open longer for us, we did end up cutting our hot tub soak early because of the noise level. We just couldn't relax with all the screaming and "MARCO!!!"..."POLO!!!" games. The hot tub could use a bit of anti-foaming in it. It was like sitting in a bubble bath with all the bubbles in it. One guest told me to toss in some hand lotion to cut down the suds. I smiled and nodded, but did not dare to do any such thing. I would advise that no one else do that either, as it can ruin the system and be quite costly to the hotel.

Breakfast was fairly standard, nothing special to go running home and telling friends about. It was served from 6am to 9am. Sausage, biscuits (though, the biscuits were surprisingly better than most places), gravy, cold hard boiled eggs, hot chocolate packets, oatmeal packets of various sorts, cereal, 2% milk, coffee, hot tea bags, waffle, margarine (no butter), half-n-half, jelly packages, mini muffins, toast, danishes, fruit, and juice.

Only other negative was the view we had was that of the back of someone's home and someone's trailer. You'd think, if building a hotel practically in someone's backyard, you'd take the time to build a scenic fence and add some landscaping to try to make the view somewhat attractive. It lowered the quality feeling of the hotel anytime you looked out the window. It was just trashy looking, as (beyond the control of the hotel) their yards were junked out and unkempt.

Room Tip: Pick a top floor room in a corner. We had room 220, near the stair case, and it was very quiet. Do N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The motel was clean and the rooms were comfortable. The staff was pleasant. The free breakfast was ok, the waffle was good but other than the waffle everything else was so so at best.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Donn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clayton hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eklund
Hotel Eklund
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Clayton
Super 8 Clayton
#5 of 5 in Clayton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clayton Motel
Clayton Motel
#1 of 1 in Clayton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Clayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Clayton

Property: Days Inn & Suites Clayton
Address: 1120 South 1st Street, Hwy 87 South, Clayton, NM 88415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Clayton 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Clayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Clayton Hotel Clayton
Days Inn And Suites Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
Clayton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing