We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Pavilion!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the Pavilion!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a wonderful night here. The 2 queen pavilion room was HUGE with pine walls and high ceilings and warm and quiet - we even saw deer grazing right across the street when we got to the room (the Pavilion rooms are down the tiny street and there was only one other occupied room). We stayed with our dog and he loved all the space. I liked the pine cones and benches near the rooms; the atmosphere here is just what we were looking for. We got the room for about $111 plus pet fee since it's slow season and we couldn't have gotten more of a steal- fancy soaps in the bathroom, plenty of towels and good water pressure. There was even free wi-fi in the room. TV in the room was tiny but we were tuckered out from hiking all day at Bluff Springs anyway! Nice big drapes didn't let in much light in the morning so we could sleep in. We didn't spend much time in the Lodge itself- it was beautiful from what we could tell but we enjoyed the quiet pavilion! We didn't eat at Rebecca's even though I was tempted when I heard they serve mimosas at brunch, but we did eat at Cloud Cafe right in the square and it was great. We also received a coupon for 10% off the gift shop at check-in which was nice.

Room Tip: Pavilion rooms are big and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for the great comments. We’re glad you had a nice visit. Next time you’ll have to join us in Rebecca’s! We do look forward to seeing you again and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    99
    42
    35
    15
See reviews for
58
148
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

While traveling for business we stayed at the Lodge in Cloudcroft and it was lovely. We had a dinner meeting at Rebecca's the restaurant at this hotel. Our dinner meeting started with being seated in front of big windows overlooking a beautiful sunset, the wait staff is wonderful and the food is fabulous. This hotel has a long and varied history and is supposedly haunted by the ghost of Rebecca. Although I did not have the great fortune to encounter her I did enjoy the antique furnishings of my room and got a good nights sleep in the comfortable bed. Everyone was very friendly and we received discount coupons for the gift shop and on our next stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
he best reward we can have is a satisfied guest! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very, very disappointed. Arrived at 4:50 pm on Valentine's weekend (February 15th). Just wanted dinner but realized that seating in the main dining room would not be possible as it was Valentine's Weekend. We were told that we could sit in the bar area and that the full dinner menu was available starting at 5:30. We sat down at a table in the bar area to enjoy a beverage while we waited. The bartender quickly took our order and delivered our drinks immediately. That is the last time we were spoken to.

We sat and watched as the hostesses and wait staff ignored us. We watched as other customers without reservations were seated and served in the bar area. We watched in amazement as the bartender that had originally served us 1 hour earlier had the audacity to remove the menu tent from our table to give to another table that had just been seated so that they could order. And when we could watch no more, we interrupted a waiter that was taking an order for another patron that had just been seated to inquire on the cost of our beverages, left the money on the table, and walked out.

At the front desk we stopped to express our disturbing experience and were handed a complaint form to fill out and return.

We were expecting 5-star prices and 3 or 4-star service since we failed to make reservations. Instead we received less than 1-star service. If I could have found a star less than terrible, I would have chosen that as the rating.

I however need to thank "The Lodge" for one thing. As a result of their lackluster service, we left their restaurant and found "The Western Bar" in downtown Cloudcroft. The food was excellent, the wait staff friendly, professional and attentive, and the cost much more reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Lodge for their Murder Mystery Weekend. I really wanted to be enchanted like some of the other reviewers, but we were disappointed. The whole murder mystery package is WAY overpriced. We had a decent time participating in it, but they were not really accommodating. At the mixer the first night they just had champagne. They said there was a cash bar, but when we got downstairs, the lady at the bar was confused. All I wanted was some water since I don't drink alcohol, and I was handed tap water in a styrofoam cup! Yes, we paid around $600 for the package, and I am drinking warm tap water from a styrofoam cup!? The food at the buffet was less than satisfactory. The whole event seemed poorly planned, and it was hard to follow what was going on with the actors. Now on to our room-- very quaint. They put creepy bears on the bed that would like to be "adopted", the whole place is really dated. I know it is an "old lodge", but that doesn't have to mean old and dusty. It felt like I was staying in a bedroom at my granny's house. The bed must have been as old as the lodge. Also, you can hear EVERYTHING. The walls are paper thin. There are so many wonderful things they could do with the lodge. I'm confused about all the fuss about this place. If you are in Cloudcroft, stay at the Cloudcroft hotel! We checked our their rooms and wish we would have stayed there. The lodge and their staff is just too pretentious for us. After staying at wonderful historic hotels like the Stanley in Colorado, I know it is possible to have a clean, updated, friendly historic hotel/lodge. Don't let the brochure fool you. It is a Super 8 in disguise.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Peytonsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

If you are in this area on Sunday, be sure to make reservations to eat brunch at the Lodge? It is woooooonderful! Everything is fresh and there are so many choices! At a certain time, they start serving mamosas that are very tasty! If you can, request front window seating, the view of the valley and White Sands is beautiful! The piano music is very relaxing as you eat and visit with your friends or family. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alto, NM
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The history of this place is charming and fun. Though it is a very poor value for almost $200 per night. And, overall, the property is in dire need of a face-lift and some storage, perhaps.

The property is dilapidated and it is dirty in the common areas. There is junk strewn about - plastic tables and chairs that are not being used and piles of linens that ought to be folded away in closets. The beautiful wrought-iron chandelier over the the fireplace in the entry hall is covered with a layer of dust and grime. The wallpaper in the bar is peeling off the walls and the bar itself as well as the large-scale furniture around the fireplace (and also in our room) requires a black Sharpie marker where they are badly and largely chipped. The bar needs to be refinished altogether. The place is tired and neglected and reads very 1980's. The mismatched tract lighting adorning the common spaces should be jettisoned altogether, and someone should make use of the gorgeous antique chandeliers that were not even being used but which hung abandoned on the second floor of the hotel. The hangings around the common places are awful (an ugly quilt hanging over the entry hall) and a large scale plastic printed story of Rebecca on the wall with typos in it.

Our room was very dowdy with plastic-wrapped plastic cups one would expect in a Best Western at $50 per night, and a polyester gold bedspread which doesn't at all feel sanitary. Why not employ lightly starched, cotton duvets covering goose down blankets on the beds, and put the heavy damask on the walls selectively? The furniture is dreadfully mismatched. Mismatched period pieces would work, but these pieces read like castoffs from someone's old 1980's rec room including the ancient, boxy TV sets. (These things would not disturb if one weren't paying Broadmoor prices, which include robes, a true spa, flat screen tvs, beautiful baths, gorgeous linens and current design that enhances the historical value of the property.) Even the hangers are meanly and cheaply attached to the rod. The bathrooms are absolutely hideous in their finishes. Leading with the ugly plastic shower curtain, they are tantamount to what one expects at a La Quinta. Though, the Gilchrist & Soames soaps were nice, but not worth $200 a night. It is a shame, too; so much could be done to make these awful little rooms and baths feel charming, cleaner and more elegantly stylishly Victorian.

The few decisions they are making to upgrade various things are poor ones -- they've put blueish LED lights outside in the front of the exterior, instead of romantic cream-colored Italian lights that would enhance the romance of the hotel's historic origins. Instead, these space-ship inspired lights totally take away from the Victorian integrity of the design, and they are an eye sore. The lighted reindeers in the front of the hotel are unrecognizable as such; so many of the lights on them are burned out. The grounds are strewn with junk as much as the interior of the hotel is. We really wanted to love this place and were so sorry to discover it in this condition. What a disappointment.

Room Tip: The Governor's Suite is supposed to be their best room, but in photographs it is quite ugly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyrasweep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This restored Victorian hotel has its charm. We visited during the winter. The windows in our room leaked like a sieve, but were covered with thick drapes and the HV/AC made up for it. The room was a little small, but comfortable. We had to wait a while for the hot water to get hot, but the shower was comfortable. The staff was friendly and restaurant staff provided a pleasant meal--the food was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarpleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloudcroft
0.4 mi away
Cloudcroft Hotel
Cloudcroft Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cloudcroft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
23.9 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
13.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Resort and Spa

Property: The Lodge Resort and Spa
Address: 601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Region: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic resort that combines luxury with rustic charm, and contains an excellent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lodge Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Cloudcroft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing