We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable prices, comfortable room”
Review of Summit Inn

Summit Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summit Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Cloudcroft B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Summit Inn every other weekend while our house in Cloudcroft was being built. It became our "home away from home." We liked the room (#9) and especially enjoyed having a place to keep and prepare our lunches. We suggest it to friends who pass through Cloudcroft. Great value.

Room Tip: We liked room #9, as it had windows on two side for cross-ventilation. It was on the west end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

We had several issues with the Summit Inn. First, it is not handicapped accessible. You must immediately climb a steep staircase as you enter the building, not an easy feat for my disabled husband. The room furniture looks as if it is from the 70's, the T.V is from that decade too. The carpet needs a cleaning desperately and the threshold from the room to the bathroom was covered with a towel held down by duct tape! We would prefer a microwave and fridge to the stove unit in the room. The toilet barely flushed. No shampoo or hair dryer in bathroom. No wifi service either. I thought we were staying at the "Hotel for Dogs" for awhile. Dogs everywhere! Someone's furry friend even woke us up with his barking at 5:00 a.m one morning. For $55.00 a night, a better room can probably be found.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skater69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here one night on our way from Carlsbad to White Sands. It's a local inn, independently owned and well maintained. The rooms are small and old-fashioned, but that's not a bad thing unless you're expecting something else. No air conditioning but in September the supplied fan and the cool mountain air made the room very comfortable for sleeping. Did some hiking in Cloudcroft the next day and also payed a visit to the solar observatory. Well worth a stop if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewportJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

One block off the main street, economical, and clean. Has a neat little kitchenette set-up with a stove, sink and refrigerator in about a 2X2 footprint. We were skiing and it met our needs just fine for about $50 a night. The inn-keeper lives on-site and is very friendly and accommodating. Four inches of snow the first night there didn't hurt either.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We stayed in room #9, facing the back of the property. Summit Inn is older (80s feel), but we were traveling with our dog. The bath could use a little repair, no shampoo or hair dryer. It had small sink/stove/frig - very handy. The room was $49/night+$5/dog+taxes = approx $60/night. Ron, the innkeeper, was very pleasant, with great advice for dining & hiking. If you want a cheaper, clean room within walking distance to dining and shopping, this is the place for you. Romantic weekend, you might want to spend the extra money for the Lodge. Overall, Cloudcroft is a beautiful mountain village with friendly residents.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_U_In_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

My family was impressed upon entering our cabin/cottage at the Summit Inn. The furnishings are nothing fancy, but they are relatively new and comfortable. The kitchen is small but serviceable with pots/pans and dishes. (We could have used a colander/strainer).

The owner is friendly and helpful. Upon entering the office, I was struck with a musty smell that made me worry about the cabins. However, I suspect the owner has a pet or some such, because the smell was nowhere in the cabin. Rather, the cabin smelled of wood smoke from the fireplace which we enjoyed that crisp spring evening.

We came from a Marriott property that was fine, but it was the same price as our cabin, and my family unanimously agreed they preferred the Summit Inn cabin. If the weather had been warmer, we might have extended our stay here and canceled our other plans because we appreciated the Summit Inn so much.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidanSineadsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2008

I am not entirely sure how the inn claims to be Cloudcrofts finest establishement (as their website claims). I hated it. I spent $85 for one night in a room that needed a desperate deep cleaning. The carpets were gross and looked like they had not been cleaned in about 20 years. The toilet did not work and obviously had not been flushed from the previous occupant. I understand it is an old building, but you shouldn't be walking on a slant from the bedroom into to the living room. The builing itself is in dire need of an upgrade.

The staff is nice enough and very informative. He answered all of our questions about the area. I enjoyed my time in Cloudcroft and will definetly go back. But I will probably spend the extra money to stay at the Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carrclan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloudcroft
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Cloudcroft Hotel
Cloudcroft Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cloudcroft
78 reviews
23.7 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crofting Inn
The Crofting Inn
#1 of 3 in Cloudcroft
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dusty Boots Motel
Dusty Boots Motel
#3 of 6 in Cloudcroft
21 reviews
12.7 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#2 of 13 in Alamogordo
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Inn

Address: 103 Chipmunk Ave., P.O. Box 627, Cloudcroft, NM
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cloudcroft
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summit Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Summit Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cloudcroft
Summit Cloudcroft
Cloudcroft Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing