We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, Ghost Town, Hotel”
Review of Cloudcroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cloudcroft Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Ghost Town, Hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The wife and I arrived after 5:00 PM and our key had been left for us in a box, so we let ourselves in and found our room upstairs, #1. We were the only ones in the hotel; there are only 7 rooms. Room #1 is fixed with antiques and a very large double window looking out the covered balcony. This room has the only balcony that faces the main street as you can overlook the entire downtown Cloudcroft area, which was basically deserted on the Saturday night we arrived. The room is quaint as the furniture is oak antiques - there were two queen beds in the room, both very comfortable. A flat screen TV; with thankfully no HBO, is also in the room. The only drawback to the entire stay was the claw-foot tub. There is no shower but a hose and a shower head allows for a limited "sit down" shower only. Sort of uncomfortable.... The room is directly above a boardwalk and next door to a restaurant and bar; so access to restaurants, bar and stores are downstairs. Not sure it would be a hotel for everyone, but if you want to walk back in time, then this is the place for you. I do not recommend for anyone that has difficulties getting up and down in the claw foot bathtub. The hotel had a "for sale" sign upon it at the time of our visit.

Room Tip: The best room in the hotel is #1, it has a balcony and outside covered seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USAsearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    10
    11
    11
See reviews for
25
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croback
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My family and I stayed there one night in April and other than there not being a shower in the room (claw-foot tub only), we enjoyed our stay there thoroughly.
Our room faced the street and had a large balcony overlooking the town. The room contained antique decor and the two beds were a little hard but comfortable.
It is located above a boardwalk, so access to restaurants, a bar and stores are right downstairs. (See photo)
Definitely not a hotel for everyone, but if you want to step back in time and have a different hotel experience, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Croback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Maybe it was just our timing, but we arrived after 5pm on a Sunday night and the town was deserted. Our key had been left for us in a box, so we let ourselves in and found our room. couldn't tell if there was another soul in the hotel, it was eerily quiet. Our room was decorated with antiques and had a convenient kitchenette, but it was completely interior, with no windows to the outside. In fact, the other side of the hallway was occupied by offices! Had I known I would never have booked it - staying in a beautiful place like Cloudcroft with no view is just a shame! The next day when we checked out, I just handed my key to a lady in the gift shop as instructed, and was told "thank you" - and that was it. Never even met the owners, and I even saw in a real estate ad in the paper that the hotel is for sale. That may explain the lack of attention to the guests. Everything was clean and it was a great location, right over the shops, but I thought it lacked warmth and charm.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macca6442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cloudcroft hotels

Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I am used to staying at larger hotels, but was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel and services provided. The room was a nice size for a small hotel and very clean. Housekeeping went above and beyond to make sure that our needs were met. Our first impression was being greeted by the ever helpful Brad at the front desk. He made sure that we had a wonderful time in Cloudcroft. From providing information about local restuarants to hiking trails. He was a wealth of information, similar to that provided by concierges in larger hotels and cities.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonBuddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The hotel was lovely and funky! It was rustic with so much character... we loved it. Get the room in front if you can. It has a wonderful view of the town and it made people watching so much fun. Everything was very clean and the inn keeper was especially nice. Good times!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank moesnanpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

Unique stay at the old west style hotel. Large spacious room with a homey feel. Very clean with nice hospitality.

  • Liked — large clean rooms in old west town
  • Disliked — no showers in room - claw foot tubs
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hughfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloudcroft
13.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
23.5 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
13.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
0.3 mi away
The Crofting Inn
The Crofting Inn
#1 of 3 in Cloudcroft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudcroft Hotel

Property: Cloudcroft Hotel
Address: 306 Burro Ave, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Region: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cloudcroft Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloudcroft Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Cloudcroft New Mexico. Park and never drive your car again until you are ready to leave. We are within walking distance of mountain hiking, picnicking, art shows, melodramas, fabulous restaurants, shopping and more. In spring, summer, and fall we have hotel bicycles for you to cruise the village and picnic baskets are available to all guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cloudcroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing