We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Columbus, New Mexico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martha's Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martha's Place Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best in Columbus, New Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Martha's is clean, comfortable, friendly and nicely decorated. I was happy that the rooms were not heavily sprayed with air fresheners because I have allergies. This is more like and bed and breakfast ~ I would recommend this to anyone traveling through Columbus

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brightrubies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
13
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We really liked this place and found the history of the town just fascinating. Martha has twice been the mayor and knows all 227 people in this border town. Her son told us all about the gun-running smuggling of the former mayor and police chief! He also directed us to the local hippie commune that resonated to my Sixties heritage. Great breakfast and good folks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have stayed here several times as a guest, eaten here many times, and drank the best "Fancy Coffees" (Lattes like Starbux, Espressos, Cappacinos, Hot/Cold Anyway you want them) Many more times. If you are looking for a real B&B away from all the woes of the world & affordable, This is the place to take a break for a weekend, or longer. Like being at home, only better. Visit Columbus, NM sometime & check it out. Comfy Beds, Clean Rooms, Free Wifi, Satellite TV w/a zillon channels, but most of all, PEACE & QUIET!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJP88029-klee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauphin Island, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were staying at the State park in our Motorhome. Went to Martha's place for breakfast. The owners son was doing the cooking. Great food, & just in general, a fun place. Met & talked with most all the other people in the place. I was on a cross country bike ride, & everyone was curious. The son, sorry, I forget the name helped me out with a tip for syncing my phone to computer for pictures in my journal. Most grateful. If we're ever back in the car we'll stay with them. Many people stay, & visit Mexico for eye, & dental procedures.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Clean and friendly. Martha & Juan (proprietors) also live there, and their son made breakfast, which was good and filling. They don't serve dinner - I bought food as the grocery store 1/4 mi east of the B&B

Room Tip: I had a queen-sized bed on the second floor, similar to profile pic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernieschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visalia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2007

I have stayed at Martha's place many times.And I have never felt more at home at a B&B.In fact on all of my trips thruogh Columbus I am carrying oversize tanks.Martha and javier have always provided me a secure place to park my equipment.All of the drivers that work for me have stayed there and loved it.They ask me once in a while when can they go back to Martha's.I realy feel like a family member when I'm there.I would highly recomend Martha's to all you weary travelers,truck drivers,law enforcement personal,couples,singles,bikers,and vacationers.If you want a comfortable room,and a twilight zone trip to the old west then you must stay at Martha's.If you are country at heart you'll love it there.You may not enjoy yourself if you are a city person.Nathan Dotson Definite Transport & Tanks.Visalia Ca.

  • Liked — great bed,shower,food
  • Disliked — tv reception
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank definite007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2006

I have stayed at Martha's place several times and hope to stay many more times. It is clean, friendly and relaxing. Javier and Martha are wonderful inkeepers, with lots of wonderful stories to tell about Columbus and it's surroundings.
Breakfests are simple and you can eat in your PJ's if you so desire.
I highly recommend Marth'a place and I promise you won't be disapointed.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Martha's Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Place Hotel

Property: Martha's Place Hotel
Address: 204 Lima Rd, Columbus, NM 88029
Region: United States > New Mexico > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Traveler, Columbus, New Mexico is rich in history, going back 1000 years to the time that the different Indian civilizations traveled from one community to another and passed through this area, to more recently when Pancho Villa raided Columbus in 1916. Today we are the border's best kept secret. We offer easy access to and from Mexico and some very significant tourist destinations south of the border. We invite you to stay with us and let us help you to discover some of the great places to visit just a few hours south. We offer free travel advice and help across the border or professionally guided tours for those that want an insider's view to the area. Whether you are here on business or pleasure you will find Martha's Place Hotel is a great resource for local information and planning. While you are here there is plenty to entertain you; spend time shopping and eating fine Mexican cuisine at the famous Pink Store in Palomas, Mexico (it's just three miles to the south of us), or meander through our historical walking tour, Pancho Villa State Park & Train Depot museums, and the old Columbus jail. All located just a stone's throw away from the front door of the hotel. Our doors are always open, and the welcome mat is always out at Martha's Place Hotel, in the historical village of Columbus, New Mexico. We look forward to seeing you! Philip & Diana Skinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Martha's Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing