We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm inviting stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corrales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Corrales B&B and Inns
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A warm inviting stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were on a five week tour of the country from Florida. Some of our favorite memories included staying at the Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast. From the minute we met our hosts at the door it was like meeting up with old friends. Our room had such a comfortable feeling that was so relaxing. Spending time on the patio with the panoramic view in the background was my favorite. Breakfast was such a delicious treat!! A definite do again when we visit family again in New Mexico.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
28
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was my first visit in the spring, after having been here twice during Balloon Fiesta in Oct.
Judith moved me and my friend to the suite, since it was available, without our asking for it,
and it was very nice to have the additional privacy. We loved the pictographs on the walls of the kitchenette; Petroglyph National Monument is not far from the B&B. Judith's recommendations
for dinner in Corrales were spot-on, and there were actual menus to look at too. Breakfast
was delicious; I was only surprised to be offered several bottled hot sauces, but not local
salsa or pico de gallo. Since Judith is such a great cook, I'll bet she has her own recipes
for these New Mexican favorites!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithbeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith N, Owner at Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your springtime stay with us. No matter the season, there is always something wonderful about New Mexico! In response to your suggestion about sharing my recipe for Pico de Gallo; I have placed on on my blog - A Word from the Bird - which can be viewed on the Sandhill Crane B&B web site.
Thanks you again for staying with us. It is always nice to catch up with our Sandhill Crane friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After reading many positive reviews here on Tripadvisor, we were looking forward to our two night stay at this B&B. We were deciding between several B&Bs in this area and decided to come to Sandhills Crane to experience Judith's fine cooking and hospitality. Indeed Judith is very eager to help, provide information and recommendations for the area, and we enjoyed our conversations with her. Our room (Meadow Room) was pleasant with a nice separate dressing area and bathroom. There were home baked cookies and brownies available in the afternoon. However, We feel that we should mention the things that we found disappointing. The biggest let-down was the actual breakfast. Judith did ask about our dietary needs before we arrived and she made special meals to accommodate us. However, we expected to have a selection of some nice home baked bread or pastry, cereal and fresh fruit and juices that we could select according to our tastes. Instead we were served a cup of some uninspiring stewed fruit and after that came a very non gourmet main course (eggs and beans in a tortilla). The second morning was similar with a poached pear in simple syrup followed by a largely tasteless main dish, accompanied by bottled orange juice. The jam on the table was Smucker's in little plastic tubs. We were each given one English muffin and not asked if we wanted more. Regarding the building, even though advertised as a "hacienda", the adobe house was built in the 50s and there is no place on the land to roam, just a small garden over the wall from a busy road and a covered patio area. If you are looking for a garden or farm type of guesthouse, this is not for you. The private patio adjoining our room was perhaps one by two yards in size, walled off with no view. The common areas are Judith and George's living room and kitchen. So we felt like we were actually disturbing them when we came back in the evening and they were eating dinner with the TV on at high volume. We wanted to sit in the common area and read, but the TV was too loud to read or have conversation, and we were not asked if the TV was ok with us. They turned it off only when they retired to their bedroom for the night. The internet signal is very weak (which they blamed on the poor antennas of Apple products) and we had to sit in a chair in the hallway to pick up a signal. Finally, there was no way to regulate the temperature in our room, so if you like it warm you can only ask that the heat be turned up for the whole house.
What this has taught us is that we can't really rely on other people's opinions, especially when it comes to B&Bs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Running_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith N, Owner at Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I am sorry you found your stay with us disappointing. We strive to make all our guest feel welcome and at home. Had you only mentioned you found the TV too loud we would gladly have turned it down or even turned it off. We try to retire to our quarters by 8pm - as soon as we finish dinner - so guests who feel uncomfortable with us around can take advantage of the living room. We will keep your comments in mind for other guests.
I am also sorry you found your breakfast uninspiring. When you made your reservation you indicated that you had some very specific dietary requests. I have to admit to being a bit conservative in seasonings and sides in those situations. You mentioned you thought you would be served a selection of cereals but as a rule I do not serve cereals to guests unless they specifically ask. Based on your comments it is certainly something I will keep in mind, especially for guests with special diets.
Regarding the wi-fi, perhaps I neglected to mention that adobe walls can be poor conductors of wi-fi if the device does not have a strong antenna. I did not mean to imply it was the fault of your specific machine. For instance, my cell phone doesn't work when I am in the kitchen. My mentioning that Apple products seem to have a problem with the adobe walls was based on experience.
Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Should you ever be back this way again I hope you will give us a chance to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sandhill Crane for two nights near the end of a long, complicated winter drive from eastern Canada to Arizona. Judith and George welcomed us into their beautiful, tranquil, authentic adobe home where we quickly made ourselves at home in a large,well-equipped suite. We slept peacefully, in quiet comfort, and set off for the day following Judith's delicious, satisfying and creatively prepared breakfast. Thank you Judith and George for the much needed sanctuary you provided and your knowledgeable suggestions of things to do - we'll be back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith N, Owner at Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your way to Arizona. With our four seasons we aren't as warm as Arizona in January so you will have to return to really experience the great outdoors! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I got the chance to stay at the Sandhill Crane B and B one more time. I've stayed at lots of B and B's around the U.S., and on this visit I noticed that innkeepers Judith and George have the perfect balance of offering vast information about the area and taking a welcoming interest in guests - but giving guests lots of breathing space. Like any great host, they are there when you need them, but not pressing in their presence. It's welcoming and relaxing.
As always, I enjoyed the delightful rooms (brick floors, comfortable beds and more), the reading available, the lush rural countryside, and the delicious food (Judith is a gourmet cook).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopperDollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We live in Corrales and in June of this year we reserved rooms for our Missouri visitors for their visit to Corrales. Again we had Missouri visitors & we reserved 2 rooms for our Mom & this time our Aunt Pat came with her. Mom had stayed in June with Judith & George, along with her 3 adult daughters. Pat wanted to try out the great beds at the Sandhill Crane, not to mention the breakfast, she had heard about from their June stay with Judith & George. Mom and Pat thought staying here was the best part of their 4 day trip to Corrales. Judith took care of them so well, once more, we thought we might have to book a stay so we could just get to spend time with them! Mom & Pat rested so well each night their day trips to Sky City & Santa Fe didn't tire them at all. They were prepared for what the day would bring from the information furnished to them at the Inn. They enjoyed visiting with the additional guest that arrived while they were there. Mom & Pat are world travelers. Both just returned from out of country trips this year. Both found their stay here to have never been topped no matter where else they have been before & feel they are spoiled for whatever their lodging will be on their continued trips that are not here in Corrales since getting to experience the hospitality of the Sandhill Crane Inn. Pat just returned from a trip to Canada that included the meals as part of the experience of her tour trip. Nothing she had compared to Judith's menus & it's preparation for breakfast. We would recommend anyone who has company to put them up here. Judith & George take care of our family better than we could ever do for them in our homes. We plan on reserving rooms for all of our future out of town visitors at the Sandhill Crane Inn. Thank you. Tim S.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Everything about this bed & breakfast is welcoming and restful. If you have never experienced living in an adobe house, this would be a good place to visit. Two words come to my mind: Serene and beautiful. The beds are large and comfortable. Each room has a private patio for sitting outdoors. Nice touches abound. My favorite was the long and thick white bathrobe for lounging in the room. There is a larger patio outside of the house, surrounded by trees and New Mexico's famous light. Judith and George clearly love the place.. Judith knows a great deal about this area of New Mexico. Just ask and you will have her full attention and recommendations. Ask her about Corrales and you will know exactly where to go. She is an inspired cook, too. I cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: This is a home, not a hotel. There are only a few rooms, and all are beautifully kept. I booked on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia_egerherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corrales
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 5 in Rio Rancho
142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandia Resort & Casino
Sandia Resort & Casino
#42 of 144 in Albuquerque
474 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Rio Rancho
Days Inn Rio Rancho
#4 of 5 in Rio Rancho
287 reviews
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albuquerque - Rio Rancho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast
Address: 389 Camino Hermosa, Corrales, NM 87048-8654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Corrales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Corrales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast is an adobe hacienda located on 2 acres in the village of Corrales, New Mexico, 35 minutes from the Albuquerque Sunport.The inn has three rooms; the Mesa room decorated in a cowboy theme, the Meadow room with a dressing room and private patio and the Bosque Suite with a bedroom, separate living room and a kitchenette. All of the rooms have queen size beds, private baths, satellite TV, robes, hairdryers, make-up mirrors and free WiFi. A multi-course breakfast is provided. We can handle special diets with advance notice.Our enclosed patio features fabulous views of the Sandia mountains and is a great place for early morning coffee or a snack in the afternoon. The flower garden attracts butterflies and hummingbirds. Quail, finches, road runners and hawks are also in residence. Come spend some time in our little cornere of the land of enchantment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing