We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent people, very helpful.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent people, very helpful.”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The rooms are a little small: but the people running the place were super! There is plenty of hot coffee, biscuits and gravy, and wonderful waffles made to order. My husband and I are considering making another trip in the summer. We can only hope that we would be able to get a room here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluelentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    15
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Heading towards Taos watching the sun sink, we decided to take a chance on this Econo Lodge rather than chance the winding road in the dark. What a relief! Yes, it is an Econo Lodge, but it is super clean, super friendly, offers a good breakfast, and has heat at night that did not make the room smell. (This last is a big plus for me.) Looks like a Pendleton catalog. WiFi is available, but slow. Would seek this out again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliciaDeNood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijeras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Very simple but clean and comfortable. Located at the edge of town, easy access.
Very nice couple managing the place. The suite would be a good choice for a long term stay, complete with fridge and stove.
Only carbs available for breakfast but that is not unusual for the free breakfast motels.
Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Baoanqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were traveling back from Colorado when we decided to stop and visit with relatives in Eagle Nest, New Mexico. We booked a room at the Econo Lodge in that town. The motel was clean quiet and comfortable, not luxurious, but what do you expect for $89? We were a litle concerned that it had no air conditioning, only a window fan to bring the outside air into the room. Much to our surprise, it was so cool that we had to use blankets during the night. Eagle Nest is a real hidden gem (to us), never having been there. We only wished that we could stay longer. The motel was adequate. The breakfast on Saturday morning was excellent as the manager prepared blackberry waffles for us. We would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake. The view in the early morning is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

There are a few lodging locations in the patriotic town of Eaglenest. They all have about the same ammenities and they are within a mile of each other. The Econo Lodge is on par with the other Inns in town. Eaglenest is on the Enchanted Circle of New Mexico. A nice motorcycle ride.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadbo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I was forced to stay at the Econo Lodge in Eagles Nest because that was the only hotel within 100 miles that had a room available.
Hindsight being 20/20 i should have slept in my car.

The hotel (and staff) were so dirty and old i didn't even want touch the room key.
When i arrived at my room i was shocked.The room was filthy, the bedding was stained and there was dried blood in the bath room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimz12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherryBull, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
The Econo Lodge has been under new management since July 1, 2012. The hotel has made numerous improvements. We have address many of the responses and issues address in this customer comments. We appreciate all customer reviews. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmond, oklahoma
Level Contributor
337 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Easy to find, just off the highway. We got two rooms since we had our teens with us. Both were clean and adequate. Our teens thought the game room upstairs was nice. Friendly guy made us waffles for breakfast and we enjoyed visiting with him.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edmondite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Nest
0.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
13.8 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#6 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
13.7 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 715 Hwy 64 E, Eagle Nest, NM 87718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Eagle Nest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Eagle Nest, New Mexico
Eagle Nest Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing