We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for the price!”
Review of Laguna Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Vista Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Amarillo
1 review
“Nice place to stay for the price!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We spent one night in Eagle Nest, and the room was very nice. Comfortable bed, DirecTV, and small kitchen. No A/C but fans were great and evenings were cool.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank txtravelduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    34
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
40
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Nest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you. A little rustic, but relaxing. The views are incredible. The rooms are nice and the 2 bedroom apartment was perfect for my family, we could be together and still have a little privacy when sleeping. There is no air conditioning, but it cools off in the evening. The bartenders in the saloon were very informative on things to do in the area.

Room Tip: The cabins behind the saloon have a great view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srbssb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

On the bright side: they do have unique room layouts, we got a two room suite with 3 beds that worked out well in terms of size. We did have a very nice view of the lake. The room seemed to have new carpet, the staff was resonably friendly (and gave us a detailed warning about the bears breaking into my car). The internet was faster than I am used to at chain hotels. .

The construction was very cheap, every step makes the floor creak loudly, we could even hear our neibors (with a room between us) creaking. Cheap plastic floors in the wet areas with some very strange stains around the toilet.

NO AIR CONDITIONING, but they did have heat. I haven't been without AC since a 2003 trip to Thailand!

Restaurant is closed, we walked to a sports bar called Lucky something that was pretty good, there is also a decent looking pizza place near by. No breakfast.

We went all around the lake, and couldn't find a place to swim, it's all muddy and full of fishermen, no beach. It is a convienent 20 minutes to Red River, though.

I'm not super picky, I don't complain about hotels often, but this one was worth the time it took to write the review.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fsu23phd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaVistaLodge, Front Office Manager at Laguna Vista Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
fsu23phd,
In response to your review.
We have remodeled since 2010.
Our lodge is meant to be rustic to add to the charm of being in the mountains.
We have no air conditioning, because the elevation is so high it stays cool.
Our Restaurant is now open also serving breakfast on Saturdays and Sundays.
Eagle Nest Lake is not part of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulsa, ok
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Beautiful arrival into a small town nestled at the foot of snow capped mountains and resting next to a lovely lake we viewed from back of the lodge. Our room was roomy, clean and very cozy. We had TV and VCR with free tapes provided by the managers liberary. We were thrilled to have supper at the restaurant on site so we could leisurally walk there. Food and service was also exceptional and there was a fire in the fireplace, more coziness. This would definately be my pick to stay there again and again. Management was very accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Our stay at the Laguna Vista Lodge has been the best weekend we have spent in years. We hiked and fished most days and spent our evenings at the Saloon on the property . The view from the sportsman cabin is just wonderful. The house keeper could come and work for me anytime. Next time we get away we are going to the Laguna Vist Lodge.

  • Liked — Nicest Place In Town
  • Disliked — notthing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelodgegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

The Laguna Vista Lodge in my opinion is the best place to stay in Eagle Nest. The room variety is great we took a tour of the place and they have anything you would want. There is a resturaunt and saloon on site which made it so convient for us after snow boarding all day. The rooms a very clean and the next time we go to the angel fire or red river area we will be staying here.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GMCrystalSuites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Nest
13.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
233 reviews
10.8 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
144 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Eagle Nest
58 reviews
13.4 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
542 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Vista Lodge

Property: Laguna Vista Lodge
Address: 51 E Therma Dr, Eagle Nest, NM 87718-9000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Eagle Nest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Vista Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to welcome you to the Laguna Vista Lodge, Historic Restaurant & Saloon. We hope that your visit with us will be a wonderful time.All of the rooms are nonsmoking, they have coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, refrigerators, and personal care amenities. Daily housekeeping staff.We have Deluxe Rooms with One Queen and a Full Futon. All rooms have new King or Queens Pillow Top Mattress. These rooms are very large with a large dressing room and all the amenities. The Sportsman Cabins have a full kitchen, living area, and bedroom.The two-bedroom kitchenettes have 27” TVs with easy hook-ups on the front for plug and play games. All of the rooms have VCRs or DVDs, and DirecTV with over 103 channels. A small selection of movies is available at the front desk. We also have a guest laundry room. Three picnic areas and indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, including a fifty-foot stage. If you are on a do-it-yourself budget, the courtyards with stage and five-foot grill are available for rent. Just give us the food order and it will be waiting for you, or we can cater your parties.Park by your room and walk to everything in Eagle Nest.The restaurant offers tours of the original 1890s hotel (later brothel). Full menu with great desserts, serving breakfast on the weekends, and catering for your special occasion is available.The Saloon offers package/carry out, pool table, regulation shuffleboard, private parties by the fireplace and live entertainment - not to mention the colorful locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Vista Hotel Eagle Nest
Laguna Vista Lodge Eagle Nest, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing