We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laguna Vista Lodge best place!”
Review of Laguna Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laguna Vista Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed on the first floor in a room w/ King Size bed. Very comfortable bed and the room was spacious. We had reservations but found out this is the only Lodge in town that is open 24x7. We arrived during the summer slow season with a bit of rain. We saw a few walk in customers getting available rooms. The town people and shop keepers were very friendly. The local town tavern was quaint with lots of history. The local folk lore had ghost mystery and current treasure hunt opportunities. The atmosphere was laid back and pleasant. The big lake behind Laguna Vista Lodge looked like a lot of fun with opportunity for boating and fishing or winter sports. Took lots of photos. Had a really good time.

Room Tip: Some rooms are closer to the restaurant / tavern. Some rooms are closer to the caretaker office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBrady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you are looking for 4 & 5 star resort, this is not one. This is a rustic resort with sportsman cabins and a Historical Residence where we usually stay.

We have been using this Lodge for over 10 years, and every time we stay at the Historic Residence with a nice, large clean kitchen and two bed rooms. The living area has two additional futon sleepers, enabling us to sleep four very comfortably. This year, I was one of the chosen who had to sleep on a futon and was surprised to find it as comfortable as the beds.

Next door is the historical bar and restaurant. A good place to sit and hang out in the evenings. It has good food and nice people.

In the past few years, we have been welcomed by the managers, John and Sue. I spent several hours in the evenings sitting with them with a cigar, discussing the local history and folk lore. They have gone out of their way to make me feel comfortable in ways I cannot express.
We will be back next year. Looking forward to their hospitality and friendliness.

Thanks to John and Sue!

Room Tip: Request the Historical Residence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dknolte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Didn't stay at the Lodge, we visited the Saloon. Very Friendly the bartender Patti was very informative of the area she also gave us a tour of the old Brothal on the 2nd floor. Quite interesting. Will make sure we stop there again when in the area. The drink specials are great and the food delish.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Average place. Needs some updating and a few repairs. Very quite in Feburary. The main problem for us was no wifi signal when the web site and staff said there is wifi in every room. We did get a discount at Mickeys ski rental for staying in eagle nest.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I spent almost a week at the Laguna Vista Lodge last October. It was a beautiful time. The weather was clear and cool. The rooms were large and comfortable. We had a room with a kitchen and it was wonderful. The kitchen was well furnished with everything we needed.
The bar at the lodge is historic and was a pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and had a small owl sit right out our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We found that the Laguna Vista Lodge was centrally located and close to shopping, restaurants and area activities. The accommodations were wonderful and the staff was extremely friendly and professional. The location had a western saloon with a fireplace where you could relax after a busy day. Best of all the pricing was reasonable compared to other area hotels. I would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaVistaLodge, Front Office Manager at Laguna Vista Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for the great review. We all hope you can make it this way again soon and enjoy a glass of wine by the fireplace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We visited during the month of June and were amazed at how quiet and serene the area was. If you are looking for a nice, quiet (get away from the madness) place -- the Laguna Vista Lodge is where you need to stay. It was quiet, cool and the room was clean, well-kept and it also included a kitchenette. There are small shops that were just a short walk from the lodge as well as the restaurant and saloon. We enjoyed our stay and hope to travel again to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaVistaLodge, Front Office Manager at Laguna Vista Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for the great review, hope you can visit us again real soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Nest
11.5 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
10.8 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
150 reviews
13.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 9 in Red River
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 9 in Red River
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Eagle Nest
59 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Vista Lodge

Address: 51 E Therma Dr, Eagle Nest, NM 87718-9000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Eagle Nest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
Price Range: £85 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Vista Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to welcome you to the Laguna Vista Lodge, Historic Restaurant & Saloon. We hope that your visit with us will be a wonderful time.All of the rooms are nonsmoking, they have coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, refrigerators, and personal care amenities. Daily housekeeping staff.We have Deluxe Rooms with One Queen and a Full Futon. All rooms have new King or Queens Pillow Top Mattress. These rooms are very large with a large dressing room and all the amenities. The Sportsman Cabins have a full kitchen, living area, and bedroom.The two-bedroom kitchenettes have 27” TVs with easy hook-ups on the front for plug and play games. All of the rooms have VCRs or DVDs, and DirecTV with over 103 channels. A small selection of movies is available at the front desk. We also have a guest laundry room. Three picnic areas and indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, including a fifty-foot stage. If you are on a do-it-yourself budget, the courtyards with stage and five-foot grill are available for rent. Just give us the food order and it will be waiting for you, or we can cater your parties.Park by your room and walk to everything in Eagle Nest.The restaurant offers tours of the original 1890s hotel (later brothel). Full menu with great desserts, serving breakfast on the weekends, and catering for your special occasion is available.The Saloon offers package/carry out, pool table, regulation shuffleboard, private parties by the fireplace and live entertainment - not to mention the colorful locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Laguna Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Vista Hotel Eagle Nest
Laguna Vista Lodge Eagle Nest, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing