We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single mom w/snowboardin' son”
Review of Gold Pan Motel

Gold Pan Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eagle Nest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gold Pan Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
oklahoma
1 review
“Single mom w/snowboardin' son”
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My son and I were looking for an inexpensive place to stay and still afford to have some fun. We booked our stay sight unseen. The new owners were very nice and helpful. If you are looking for a simple, inexpensive room without the luxuries this is it. They do have satelite but no internet. They are suppost to be working on this though. What bothered me the most was no dead bolt-only the bathroom type lock was on the outside door-but I must say we had no problems. We would return again and are planning to on spring break 2009. Give them a chance for an affordable stay. Clean unit.

  • Liked — cost
  • Disliked — no dead bolt
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaChihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

After staying a night in a dump in Eagle Nest (Angel Nest retreat) we went to the Gold Pan to see if they had a room and asked to see the room first as we were staying in a complete and utterly horrible place already. Upon seeing the huge room and cleanliness we asked to stay there the rest of our trip. It was spacious and very very clean. The lady had just bought the place with her husband and they seem to take very very very good care of the property. It has cable TV which is a plus in tiny Eagle Nest. They were very helpful and I highly reccommend staying there. And their prices are VERY affordable.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linerksig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panhandle TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

I was looking for a bare bones motel in Northern New Mexico from which to stage a motorcycle tour of the area. I found the Gold Pan on the web, and since it looked cheap enough I called and booked a room.

I was very pleasantly surprised at the size and quality of the rooms. For $50, we got a 2 bedroom w/kitchenette, another guy with us got a nice single room for $40 per night. Much cheaper than lodging in nearbyTaos or Red River, and probably quieter, too.

The new owners were extremely friendly and helpful. You should stay here just for the opportunity to do business with such nice folks.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rodnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2007

The Gold Pan Motel is a small motel in Eagle Nest run by local owners. We got two rooms for a great price, considering that other motels in the area were charging $80 and up. Then we found out why. My parents' room smelled, and there were bugs in the bathroom. My room was worse. Its door faces the side of the single-story row of rooms and there was no porch light--and it's dark as pitch in that area of New Mexico. The step up into the room was too high. In the bathroom they had put on new sink fixtures on the sink, but the flow was directed to the back of the sink. The toilet seat lid would not stay up, and would flop back down before you could sit on it. The shower provided about five minutes' worth of hot water. The floor slanted.

Helpful?
4 Thank magpiewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Nest
0.2 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Eagle Nest
58 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
532 reviews
10.6 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
142 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Pan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Pan Motel

Property: Gold Pan Motel
Address: 50 Therma Dr., Eagle Nest, NM 87718
Region: United States > New Mexico > Eagle Nest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management as of June 10, 2008! The Gold Pan Motel is a small family-friendly motel nestled in the Eagle Nest. We offer satellite TV, reasonable rates, and clean rooms. There are picnic tables and barbecue pits available for patrons. Pets are welcome at a small additional charge. Eagle Nest Lake borders Eagle Nest just to the south. Come visit us in Eagle Nest and see what the Moreno Valley is all about! We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gold Pan Hotel Eagle Nest
Gold Pan Motel Eagle Nest, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing