We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected surprise”
Review of Toribios

Toribios
Ranked #8 of 8 Restaurants in El Prado
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A really pleasant surprise. Very tasty Mexican food at this roadside stand. The fruit waters are sensational. Huge portions. Reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taos, NM
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Great chili relleno burrito!”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

whenever i am leaving town to head home, i love to stop by toribios to get their chili relleno burrito, which is really REALLY good! i have not had anything else there, but this burrito is worth stopping right before the old blinking light.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nunya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome price and awesome food”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

try the horchata its homemade! and all the burritos are amazing? and the price is really tough to beat.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Vince R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable food and nice servers”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We heard this was a good place from a local and decided to check it out. As the other review mentioned, it is not much for ambience, and you order your food at a counter window. Most of the people we saw coming in were locals that were taking their food to go, but we ordered and sat outside at a table on the patio. We found it kind of kitsch and enjoyed the beautiful evening, so it was just fine for us though I could see how a lot of people would not like the atmosphere. All of the food was good and they have great salsa and really good tortillas chips. We ordered everything from fajitas, rellenos and tacos to a tostada and taco salad (there are 6 of us) and everyone enjoyed their selection. The ground meat on the taco and tostada was seasoned and tasted kind of like chili. They had generous portions and we found it very reasonable. Plates (fajita and rellenos) come with refried beans, rice and a small pile of lettuce with chopped tomato, onion and fresh jalapeno pepper. The staff was very nice and accomodating, and they even gave us a souvenir mug! We really enjoyed it and definitely would recommend it. It also was voted a "Best of Taos" restaurant and is conveniently located near the intersection where you get to the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge (it's about 7 miles from there). Probably would make a great lunch takeout and then you could eat at a picnic shelter overlooking the Gorge/Rio Grande River.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilove2travel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
186 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Far better than it looks!”
Reviewed 13 May 2010

My wife and I always make it a point to eat at Toribio's when in Taos. This place definitely does not look like much, but offers outstanding rellenos, tostadas, and watermelon agua fresa. There are some available seats inside and outside, but not much for ambience. We get our food to go, and enjoy it back at the house. Surprisingly, it is a little pricier than most of the comparable hole in the wall restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_from_Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toribios also viewed

Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Toribios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing