We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little watering hole”
Review of The Coffee Spot

The Coffee Spot
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in El Prado
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Description: Serving made to order breakfast and lunch from 6am to 3 pm every day. Gluten free and vegan dishes are available. Fresh pastries daily. Pies by the slice or special order. Very strong Taos Roasters coffee. Perfectly made espresso drinks, Two Leaves and a Bud tea, home made chai and Ghiradelli Hot Chocolate. Expensive ingredients and five star service combined with thrift shop flatware and local art to create the prefect balance for a great local hang out!
Restaurant details
Description: Serving made to order breakfast and lunch from 6am to 3 pm every day. Gluten free and vegan dishes are available. Fresh pastries daily. Pies by the slice or special order. Very strong Taos Roasters coffee. Perfectly made espresso drinks, Two Leaves and a Bud tea, home made chai and Ghiradelli Hot Chocolate. Expensive ingredients and five star service combined with thrift shop flatware and local art to create the prefect balance for a great local hang out!
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice little watering hole”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stopped at this little spot after a long and tiring drive down from Denver. This is a roadside cafe just outside of Taos. Menu offerings are breakfast-y, and light lunch, with a tex-mex slant. Salads available. We sat outside in the courtyard and the owner/chef brought our meals and checked on us. Pleasant stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank krisztinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Strong Coffee and Fresh Buns = a Great Morning”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

...and I do mean the pastries.

Really good strong coffee that has a great flavor, and my favorite thing about the Coffee Spot? Other than the art? THE FOOD. It's surprisingly fantastic. Fresh ingredients and really well cooked breakfast plates. An assortment of moist and delish cakes, breads, and pastries. And great people who really seem to care.

I'm glad I found this place - makes my Taos morning brighter!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skygirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, NM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Good Coffee”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Really great in every way. Fantastic wait staff, too! Their drink selection is large and well-chosen. Their food is really good. And sometimes they have cajun food, too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stalest poppy seed bread ever”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Homemade chai excellent, bakery selection totally erratic- of the 4 items 2 were inedible (poppy seed cake and carrot cake), but the blueberry muffin and oatmeal cookie were good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desertdwellingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Taos Spot”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Super STRONG coffee, laid back atmosphere, and good food. FREE INTERNET. They have great outdoor seating with shade and a "back yard" garden-like area. Tasty sweet treats too. With a wide variety of menu choices and seating choices, this is where I go for coffee and free internet

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steaks_du_Taos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Spot also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to The Coffee Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing