We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most wondeerful experience!”
other travellers have booked this property
Eastern Star Retreat - A distinctive adobe home with a magnificent mountain view, in summer time
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eastern Star Retreat - A distinctive adobe home with a magnificent mountain view, in summer time
White winter at Eastern Star Retreat Huge windows to bring the outside in! Taos is where the sun shines 300+ days a year.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Eastern Star Retreat - A distinctive adobe home with a magnificent mountain view, in summer time
White winter at Eastern Star Retreat
Huge windows to bring the outside in! Taos is where the sun shines 300+ days a year.
A beautifully appointed home, designed with family and friends in mind
Large 6-person hot tub strategically located for privacy, shelter, and optimal mountain view
View from hot tub
Grand foyer with wood-burning fireplace and audio entertainment sound system
Large open-plan home facilitates family interactions, socialization, and full mountain views.
Walls of windows for all-weather enjoyment and magnificent mountain views
Master bedroom with fireplace, walk-out porch, and en suite full bath
The 2nd master bedroom with en suite bath and walk-out porch
The 3rd bedroom, with a king bed and a twin bed side by side
Large master bath with double sinks and a whirlpool tub
A 2nd en suite bath with double sinks, and a large shower.
Dine-in at table or kitchen counter. Note tall ceiling with stately vigas, wood details.
A chef's kitchen, complete with all LG appliances in trendy black stainless steel
Wide and long concrete kitchen counter making food prep and dining fun and easy
A sample of many special finds and collectables at Eastern Star Retreat
Unique and interesting crafts
Fun and cool decor in bedroom
Snow-capped mountains, a view from home
View of the mountains from driveway in the wintertime
View from 2nd story gazebo
Make your own snowman, with Taos mountains as your backdrop
The Eastern Star Retreat Quails representing harmony, tolerance and protection. Snow in March.
Taos Ski Valley, 15 miles from home
Historic Taos Plaza, 5.5 miles from home
Taos Pueblo-the only living Native American Community-World Heritage site by UNESCO, 6 mi. from home
Snow at the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge, 8.6 miles from home
A spring day - View from backyard
Summertime - From back porch (portal)
Sangre de Cristo (Blood of Christ)-Legend:Sign from heaven to Spanish missionary, Pueblo Revolt 1680
Sunset at home
Summertime - View from gazebo
Pow wow at Thanksgiving, Taos Community Center
Murals at the Old Taos Courthouse
San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church in Ranchos de Taos
Summertime in Taos - View of Rio Grande Gorge from hot air balloon
The annual international hot air balloon fiesta in Albuquerque, every October
Puye Cliff Dwellings
John Muir's message
Through our door, you'll discover the enchanted Taos, NM! A wonderful old-new world waiting for you!
Eastern Star Retreat - The perfect gathering place for family and friends.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
El Prado, Taos, Taos County, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Lisa G
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Most wondeerful experience!”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the gorgeous Eastern Star Retreat.
It had everything one could wish for. Beautifully and tastefully furnished with an amazing view. Fully equipped kitchen, two master bedrooms, WIFI connection, TV, everything one could ask for. Best vacation we had in years. I highly recommend the Eastern Star Retreat during all seasons. Taos is within close distance and has much to offer in the way of arts, history, and great food.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The confort and cosiness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen D
1 review
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Everything was so nice! The atmosphere, people, weather, experience, adventure. The home just really tied it all together and made our trip one of the greatest in my books. Can't wait to return!

Date of stay: December 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne L
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eastern Star Retreat: my best R&R experience ever!”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had the opportunity to spend one week at Eastern Star Retreat, this past winter. It was the perfect setting for a white Christmas. We were eight: a senior citizen (me), two parents in their fifties, two college graduates and three children, ages 18, 15 and 8. We all had a blast! The home (authentic rustic New Mexico style, from the architecture to the furniture) had everything to please the whole group! Wi-fi, spacious living room with a superb entertainment center (huge flat-screen TV, movies (DVDs), books, electronic and board games). Fresh water/hot water was in abundance; the heated floor was one of the most appreciated features. Each of the three bedrooms (equipped with king-size beds) had its own bathroom; extra clean Ralph Lauren linen was provided; the kitchen was fully equipped. Sipping my morning coffee while watching the sun rise was pure bliss! The Retreat sits at the foot of the mountain, on Blueberry Hill, and enjoys a tremendous view of the mountains, not far away. Our young adults and children went skiing and snow-boarding every day since the slopes were so close; the trip up to the ski resort was quite different from Squaw Valley or Heavenly (Tahoe): there were no lines of automobiles inching up for miles on tortuous mountain roads, and no chains were required. It took us 5-10 minutes to reach downtown Taos. What a nice little town -- with quite a variety of cuisine: Italian, Mexican, Chinese, Texan, ... something good for every palate! Folks were very friendly and we all enjoyed our stay. We had a chance to talk with the owners of the Retreat before and after our stay. Great people, great customer service, indeed. I would certainly recommend Eastern Star Retreat to my friends and family. I have already made my reservation for this Summer and Winter.

Suzanne Le, San Francisco, CA

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities and cleanliness of the retreat, the location, the easy access to the slopes
Liked least: I wish there were more Oriental restaurants in Taos/Prado
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Enjoyable vacation for everyone!”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Eastern Star Retreat is at the perfect location. Close enough to the slopes for skiers and close enough to the town for non skiers. The house sleeps nine so it is great for a family & friends get together, and the new expansion allows everyone plenty of breathing room.

Date of stay: December 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gippersmo...
Houston, Texas
1 review
“A wonderful tranquil vacation home”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in July 2013

Eastern Star retreat is a beautiful home where we immediately felt relaxed and "at home". The kitchen is stocked with everything you need for utensils, pots and pans, coffee pots, dishes, etc. There is a beautiful view from every window and especially the upstairs "crows nest" outside where we enjoyed our morning coffee. The hot tub outside was enjoyed by all. We plan to return. There is lots to do in and around Taos while staying at the Eastern Star retreat.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the comfort of the home.
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer due to personal schedules.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.