We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house with all the comforts of home”
other travellers have booked this property
White winter at Eastern Star Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
White winter at Eastern Star Retreat
A beautifully appointed home, designed with family and friends in mind Large 6-person hot tub strategically located for privacy, shelter, and optimal mountain view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
White winter at Eastern Star Retreat
A beautifully appointed home, designed with family and friends in mind
Large 6-person hot tub strategically located for privacy, shelter, and optimal mountain view
View of mountains from driveway
The Eastern Star Retreat Quails representing harmony, tolerance and protection. Snow in March.
Make your own snowman, with the mountains as your backdrop
View from backyard
Historic Taos Plaza, 5.5 miles from home
Taos Pueblo-the only living Native American Community-World Heritage site by UNESCO, 6 mi. from home
Rio Grande Gorge Bridge, 8.6 miles from home
Taos Ski Valley, 15 miles from home
Eastern Star Retreat - A distinctive adobe home with a magnificent mountain view, in summer time
Huge windows to bring the outside in! Taos is where the sun shines 300+ days a year.
Back porch (portal), outside of great room
View from hot tub
View from 2nd story gazebo
Snow capped mountains on a spring day
Sangre de Cristo (Blood of Christ)-Legend:Sign from heaven to Spanish missionary, Pueblo Revolt 1680
Big windows and doors to maximize mountain views.
A second seating area in the great room
Large foyer with wood-burning fireplace and audio entertainment sound system
Master bedroom, access to porch and en suite, full bath
A 2nd master bedroom, also with king bed, ensuite full bath, big windows/doors, walk-out patio
Third bedroom: king + twin bed
Third bedroom: twin bed (in addition to king)
Large master bath with double sinks and a whirlpool tub
A 2nd en suite bath with double sinks, and a large shower.
A chef's kitchen, complete with all LG appliances in trendy black stainless steel
Wide and long concrete kitchen counter making food prep and dining fun and easy
A sample of many special finds and collectables at Eastern Star Retreat
Unique and interesting crafts
Pow wow at Thanksgiving, Taos Community Center
San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church in Ranchos de Taos
Hot air balloon ride in Taos - A view of Rio Grande Gorge
Pueye Cliff Dwellings
Through our door, you'll discover the enchanted Taos, NM! A wonderful old-new world waiting for you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
El Prado, Taos, Taos County, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
manitouj
San Jose, California
1 review
“Lovely house with all the comforts of home”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Beautiful vistas, conveniently located near Taos and area attractions. Southwestern interior decor and furnishings show impeccable taste. Fully-equipped kitchen and plenty of pillows, blankets, other necessities. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Wonderful to have shared the home with you! Happy that you enjoyed the mountain views and home's interior decoration. We are proud that the home has provided a lot of fond memories for families and friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeressaW1...
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Eastern Star”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My sister and I booked a trip to New Mexico for our mom's birthday. We absolutely loved Eastern Star Retreat and watching the sunset over the mountains from the hot tub. Really get the best of both worlds - only 5 miles to the town square, and a beautiful home with a view of the mountains that feels like you're getting away from it all. There's a great grocery store (Cid's - like a local whole foods) a few miles away where you can pick up anything you need to make some delicious family meals. So glad we stayed at Eastern Star and hope to come back in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Great to have you and your family at Eastern Star Retreat. The home is all on 1 level, and has no steps and a convenient walk-in shower which is great for multi-generational family gatherings. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteA8
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious home a few minutes drive from Taos”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Home was spacious, well-appointed with southwestern decor, and stocked with everything we needed. It was conveniently located between Taos, Taos Pueblo, Taos Ski Valley, and the Rio Grande Gorge, with good stores and restaurants nearby. For our family of 4, it provided a relaxing break in our 2-week vacation, with internet access and all the other comforts of home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
We appreciate your positive feedback. We strive for luxury rustic retreat feel. We are happy that you enjoyed the house and it's convenient location.
Eastern Star Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This place was Wonderful! Could not of been a nicer place. Very close to town but out enough for privacy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
The environmental setting, location and comforts of home are important attributes to any vacation rental. We are glad that Eastern Star Retreat exceeded your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickard A
Palm Coast, Florida
2 reviews
“Eastern Star Retreat”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A beautiful, spacious, comfortable, and well equipped adobe style home only 5.5 miles from the center of Taos with a spectacular view of the Sangre de Cristo range. Home has a hot tub, rooftop gazebo, two-sided fireplace (living room and master bedroom), and beautifully furnished with a southwestern motif. We truly enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
We are glad you enjoy being at the house as much as we do. We'd love to have you back again! Happy travels!
Eastern Star Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taz92
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent!!”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This place was so much better than we could have imagined. The location is just far enough outside Taos that you're in the country but only @ 5 miles when you want to return. It's actually hard to leave this home so we kind of had to force ourselves to go elsewhere. There were 3 of us at this gorgeous home so we each had our own room, bathroom, shower, and space, as well as having such a nice large home to relax in the rest of the time. It is so much better than we could afford on our own, but is also so inviting and relaxing that we felt right at home. The owner was quick to reply so everything was really perfect for us. We hope to go back soon. Thank you for sharing your property with strangers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Most wondeerful experience!”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the gorgeous Eastern Star Retreat.
It had everything one could wish for. Beautifully and tastefully furnished with an amazing view. Fully equipped kitchen, two master bedrooms, WIFI connection, TV, everything one could ask for. Best vacation we had in years. I highly recommend the Eastern Star Retreat during all seasons. Taos is within close distance and has much to offer in the way of arts, history, and great food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The confort and cosiness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing