We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Artistic sanctuary on six blissful acres...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Artistic sanctuary on six blissful acres...
A lovely adobe home on 6+ acres with outdoor hydrotherapy tub, hammocks, trees, pure tranquilIty. The living room is spacious, big fireplace, beams, traditional adobe.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Artistic sanctuary on six blissful acres...
A lovely adobe home on 6+ acres with outdoor hydrotherapy tub, hammocks, trees, pure tranquilIty.
The living room is spacious, big fireplace, beams, traditional adobe.
Nice size CA King Sleigh bed, with a large picture window and secret door in the main bedroom.
Another shot of the bedroom.
Recycled barn wood used throughout El Sanctuario.  Very tradition, artistic, homey and super clean.
Double rain shower heads for a luxurious shower or use the adjacent soaker tub to relax your muscles
Soaking tub and double rain shower heads for two!
Want a bon fire, have at it!  Enjoy dusk with a nice sized outdoor fire.
The front yard has great views of the Sangre De Cristo mountains.  Summertime views with the monsoon
Artistic touches abound.  An old chapel up the hill is also on the land.
Yes, we get snow!!  Each year is different but you must be prepared in the winter.  Fireplace ready!
Dead of winter!!!
Showtime.
You can't always keep up with the downfall!!
Summertime is the time of flowers and birdsongs and bees.
Great statue of Archangel Raphael adjacent to your own personal outdoor patio.
A local red tail, scouting out the options for breakfast!
The wealth of trees on this land are home to many large and small birds.
A visiting long eared owl!
There are lots of places to rest outdoors.  As the spring comes in, it gets prettier and prettier!
Swings are all around for you to enjoy.  Find the view you want and take a load off!
The views are absolutely gorgeous.  Have a meal outside or sip on some tea or coffee as you lounge.
Sit, relax or sleep in our little adobe house on the hill, complete with 2 queen futons and blankets
Views from the little adobe porch house on the hill.  Ready with 2 futons and blankets.
Lilacs are in full bloom in the early spring.  So fragrant.
Our dome greenhouse filled with goodies.
Some freshly picked radishes from the greenhouse.
Here come the artichokes!
Raspberries are plentiful in the late summer and fall.
The moon is striking when it's full.  Great shadows and plays of light in the sky and on the land.
We've got the best sky in New Mexico.  Sunsets never disappoint.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
El Prado, Taos, Taos County, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tami P
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I booked this peaceful get away for my husbands 40th birthday. We had such a great time at this place, it was beautiful and the weather was great. Vivien was a great host, we couldn't have asked for better. We will be back for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2017
I loved Tami and Randy and sure hope they come back real soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blt64
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW! Beautiful, relaxing Casita with wonderful owner!”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This beautiful, relaxing Casita has lovely artwork and is beautiful inside and outside. Several acres of land with patio, picnic table, barbecue, hammock and hot tub. Located in very relaxing and quiet location. Vivien, the owner is very welcoming and friendly. She is not intrusive at all but is definitely available with recommendations for the area and other assistance. I had a health issue while there and Vivien was very helpful! Could not have been better! I would definitely return and recommend to my friends. Would give El Sanctuaria more than 5 stars if I could!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thanks so much. I only wish you would have felt better while you were visiting but I loved lending a hand.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chase M
Bellville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our stay at El Santuario was more than wonderful. We, my wife and I, had a magnificent time. The property was beautiful, the hot tub was ready and warm, the house was more than cozy (it was even decorated beautifully). We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every one. Nothing will ever compare. That is why we have decided to make our stay here an annual event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
I'm so glad you had a good time and "mi casa es su casa:" (my home is your home) always!! Please do come again when you need some r & r.
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N
1 review
“Perfect sanctuary for rest and relaxation”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Vivien and Sonia are both amazing and we couldn't have picked a better place for our anniversary. This was the most rest and relaxation we've had in a long time. The location was perfect as it was not in the middle of town, but also not far from town and the Taos Plaza. The hospitality was wonderful, the view was amazing, and having a fireplace, hot tub, and beauty all around was absolutely amazing. We have found our yearly relaxation spot and will DEFINITELY be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
These were perfect guests, quiet, took great care of everything and really understood how to use this property for their enjoyment. Anytime you want to return, the doors are wide open!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari C
1 review
“Hidden Gem in Arroyo Seco”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

An enchanted guest house that sits among gorgeous Aspens and on beautifully maintained grounds. Vivien was an excellent host and provided all amenities for our comfort. Among the many things we enjoyed were the hot tub, screen house, wood burning fireplace, and the meandering pathways throughout the property. A bonus of course was a pet friendly property. ENJOY!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thanks Shari!! Come on back anytime you need a good relax!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R
1 review
“A Sanctuary Indeed”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

El Santuario is a beautiful, peaceful oasis that offered us a much needed respite from our incredibly busy lives. We booked it on a whim after seeing photos on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad we did!

The casita is beautifully situated on over six acres and is located just outside Taos. Vivien, the host, clearly takes a lot of pride in taking care of her property, and it shows. Both the house and grounds were perfectly maintained and clean. We loved all of the seating areas scattered around outside. There are plenty of chairs, swings, and hammocks to do some hard core relaxing!

We felt so comfortable and at ease there that we let our six year old wander around the property and explore to her heart's content, something she's never been able to do before. She enjoyed the hot tub and eating asparagus out of the greenhouse!

Vivien is a wonderfully kind and generous host who went out of her way to welcome our family and make sure we felt at home. We certainly felt more than a twinge of sadness when it was time to leave.

Thank you, Vivien, for a wonderful, restful visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Wow Emily, how sweet!! I was so glad your family came to visit El Santuario and that your lovely daughter was able to walk around and explore and have some safe fun on the land! Do please come back to visit anytime and I'll make sure everything is perfect for you all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elliottq
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We rent from TripAdvisor and similar sites quite often. This was one of the more unusual finds. It is a lovely, spacious, luxurious accommodation, albeit a bit outside of the heart of Taos, but as long as you have a car, no problem. It is quiet, with lovely acreage and a huge bed and even surprisingly larger bathroom. Vivien is a most gracious hostess. She provided complimentary popcorn and a lovely bottle of wine. Our regret was the short time we stayed, just 2 nights. We were on a week-long trip through NM with multiple stops, and thus we really didn't have sufficient time to enjoy the fireplace, hot tubs, and incredible grounds. But we thoroughly enjoyed chatting with Vivien on the day of our departure. This one is a real winner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
I truly enjoyed having Elliot and his wife on their visit through NM. Great guests, very quiet and took special care of the home. You two are always welcomed to visit here anytime you come back to NM!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing