We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service; polite, can-do attitude, service w/a smile”
Review of Elephant Butte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Butte Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Reserve bottom floor if you have a hard time getting up stairs.
Room with lake view is very nice . . . jack rabbits, birds . . . calming.
Only small challlenge with room w/lake view, you just need to haul your belongings a little longer distance - worth the haul!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2011

Lovely motel decor and wonderful staff. King bed was plushly-firm and bedding was so soft and comfortable. Slept great because room drapes also kept room nicely darkened. Quiet, too. Great continental breakfast fare.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I have never experienced such a rude general manager in my life. Gerald, whom was extremely mistaken confronted me with a very incorrect statement. Most people, would pull you aside to speak to you however Gerald had no problem in teling me 'OUR KIND OF PEOPLE ARE NOT WELCOME AT HIS HOTEL."
Gerald, if I were of a different race other than being Hispanic would you have treated me this way!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank mahdeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestserviceseb, General Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2010

As can be seen from the other reviews listed on Trip Adviser, our guests normally leave here very happy with our services and our staff. The majority of our guests are from Albuquerque, El Paso, and Mexico, many of whom are Hispanic. Discrimination is not allowed as per our hotel policy. This guest's visit with us had an unfortunate ending, and as is true with most situations having two sides, not all the facts have been listed in the guest's review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

After spending the better part of an hour looking at grungy and frankly disappointing motels in Truth or Consequences, we noticed a little sign for the Inn and headed down the road to check it out. We were happily surprised with what the Inn had to offer. Our room faced east (I recommend you ask for and east-facing room) with views of a lovely lush lawn scattered with charming cotton-tailed rabbits, the very nice swimming pool and a stunning view of the Butte and mountains beyond. The room had nicely updated furniture and a flat-screen tv with HBO (had to catch True Blood) and free wifi. The bathroom was outfitted with very nice toiletries and tub/shower with excellent water pressure. The room was clean and smelled nice. Only downside was the cooler was a bit noisy but after seeing what the competition had to offer, I was happy to compromise. We ordered room service (no extra fee) margaritas and ate a very good (and reasonable) dinner. I didn't get to check out the spa, but I am already scheming to get back for a couple nights to really relax.
Overall, you could spend half the money and stay in an old, filthy motel on the strip, you can spend a little more for a stay in the soulless corporate comfort inn (with charming freeway views), or you can get the best of both worlds at the Elephant Butte Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msellabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Better than expected. Food was excellent, customer service was above and beyond, very clean, and great views of the Lake. Will definitely return <3

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimWygonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This place is average, room was on 2nd floor with a great sunset view, plenty of storage with little tiled area just inside door. Average ranking comes from the dirty stained tub that it seems someone tried to scrape off but couldn't. Also, the 'free' breakfast was in a room where a meeting was taking place so it seemed like you would be crashing the meeting to partake in their food. The front desk staff was not out and out rude, but the check in person lacked any personality and was put off when I asked for my card key to actually open the door and when we asked for a remote control for the TV. The person there upon check out asked how things were, but never waited for an answer and went right onto the next question - would it be on the CC given at check in....so they don't really want to know if the stay was okay. Here's the reason we would come back - the tavern in the hotel served the best food of our entire week long trip and Trurth or Consequences had so many closed establishments that the ones left open seemed a bit shady.....we felt lucky to find this place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

And each time, it's been a pleasure. It has everything a hotel should have, with plenty of local flavor. There is an attached day spa, and it's convenient to the lake. The rooms are nice, clean, and the front desk people are helpful and accomodating. The attached restaurant is good enough for my needs. There's no free breakfast the next morning, but that's okay. I recommend this place if you want a nicer place to stay in and around the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynnsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elephant Butte
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
186 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
839 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#8 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#7 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
72 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
25 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rocket Inn
Rocket Inn
#4 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Butte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Butte Inn

Address: 401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Price Range: £72 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Butte Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa has an ideal location with ever-changing views of the lake and surrounding desert. Our exotically designed lobby and common areas are reflected in each stylish and comfortable guest room. We offer AAA, AARP, and have government, military and corporate rates. After a busy day, relax in our outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal). You can hike to nearby Elephant Butte Lake--the largest lake in New Mexico--enjoying nature trails leading to the State Park. Elephant Butte Inn is the perfect choice for group events. Experience authentic New Mexico cuisine, steak and seafood in our Ivory Tusk Tavern and Restaurant. Take time for yourself at the Ivory Spa and Salon. Indulge in a variety of treatments from our spa, including massages, body polishes, skin treatments, and pedicures. The Salon specializes in haircuts, styling, and hair color treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Butte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Butte Hotel Elephant Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing