We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf weekend”
Review of Elephant Butte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Butte Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
1 review
“Golf weekend”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We like to stay at the Inn because it is so close to Sierra del Rio golf course. The staff at the Inn are very friendly. They have a wonderful Sunday morning brunch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
46
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Clean room. OK view of the lake. Great restaurant. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: lake view is an extra $10
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruzblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This place has the best food I have ever ate it has different types of cuisine. The staff is pleasant and friendly. It has great service and quick. Defiantly will return. Highly Recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on a two day fishing trip on Elephant Butte Lake. The hotel is just outside of the state park so you can literally walk to the lake from there.
The rooms are nice, especially for the price (we paid $79/night) and are well kept. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and, according to the advertising sign outside, has live music on the weekend. There is a continental breakfast included which helped us get our day started.
We took our boat and there was a special parking area which included electrical plug-ins for our trolling motor batteries. How was the fishing? Well, it could have been better. Two fish in Two days but heck, it was in March and will only get better as the weather gets warmer. Can't wait to get back there again, this time I better live up to the name; FishPacker.

Room Tip: Lake rooms have a nice view of Elephant Butte Lake and flat screen tvs. Mountain rooms face the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FishPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My grandson and I spent 3 nights at Elephant Butte Inn on a family vacation and had an excellent time. Very convienent for a trip to Kingston and great access to Elephant Butte lake. Very nice room especially for an out of the way place. Everyone was very helpful, friendly and happy to give directions. I'm sure when next in the area I'll be staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have a great view and the best access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa sits right off Hwy 195, just before the entrance to Elephant Butte State Park. The hotel is easy to find -- just look for its pink-accented walls and a large sign out front (there's also a billboard on I-25 that'll point you in the right direction). If you're considering a trip to Truth or Consequences, do consider staying the Inn, which is only a short drive away and offers great views, easy access to the lake, and a little more solitude than T or C.

The owners and staff are courteous, engaging, and concerned about the comfort of their guests. They're approachable, friendly and really make an effort to make sure your stay is pleasant. They even took the time to arrange a hot spring appointment for us with a bath house in T or C.

The rooms are not fancy (compared to some luxury hotels), but they are clean, comfortable and have all the amenities you need (refrigerator, TV, lovely little bottles of shampoo, etc.). The water pressure was good, the curtains kept the light out in the morning, and the beds were cozy. Pets are welcome, should you want to bring your dog (or monkey, as the owner told us one guest did).

The lake-side rooms, while not right on the lake, do have a great view of the water. For those inclined to check out Elephant Butte State Park, it's only a short walk or run to the park's entrance (from there, it's a nice downhill jaunt to the beach). If you're not up for a dip in the lake, the hotel does have an outdoor pool that overlooks the reservoir (although it wasn't open in January).

We enjoyed a couples massage at the Ivory Spa, which was incredibly relaxing. The masseurs were professional and friendly and willing to accommodate any request (from questions about "how much do we disrobe?" to "my calf hurts -- can you really concentrate on that area?"). The spa, although small compared to some hotels, provides a variety of services in a soothing atmosphere.

The Ivory Tusk restaurant is also an asset to the hotel; the bar was bustling when we arrived on a Sunday night, and when we ate there the following day, the food was great. The menu is quite large and offers a variety of choices, from traditional New Mexican to down home American. The fried green beans are especially tasty.

Of all the hotels in this area, the Elephant Butte Inn is among the best. Check it out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zouhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestserviceseb, Owner at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review! It was a pleasure to host you and your husband here at Elephant Butte Inn & Spa. We look forward to seeing you both again soon! It is for you, our guests, that we strive to do our very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Everything about Elephant Butte Inn exceeded my expectations as a first time guest to both the town and the Inn.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. I liked the updated and elegant feel of the room. The food was delicious (I had the grilled Tuna). A massage at the Ivory Spa is an absolute MUST! The only thing missing, for this city girl, was a barista/coffee bar-although the coffee was very tasty.

The overall aesthetics, inside and out, were perfect for a peaceful and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkfromaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elephant Butte
4.5 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
820 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
62 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
151 reviews
3.7 mi away
Desert View Inn
Desert View Inn
#6 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Butte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Butte Inn

Property: Elephant Butte Inn
Address: 401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Butte Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa has an ideal location with ever-changing views of the lake and surrounding desert. Our exotically designed lobby and common areas are reflected in each stylish and comfortable guest room. We offer AAA, AARP, and have government, military and corporate rates. After a busy day, relax in our outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal). You can hike to nearby Elephant Butte Lake--the largest lake in New Mexico--enjoying nature trails leading to the State Park. Elephant Butte Inn is the perfect choice for group events. Experience authentic New Mexico cuisine, steak and seafood in our Ivory Tusk Tavern and Restaurant. Take time for yourself at the Ivory Spa and Salon. Indulge in a variety of treatments from our spa, including massages, body polishes, skin treatments, and pedicures. The Salon specializes in haircuts, styling, and hair color treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Butte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Butte Hotel Elephant Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing