We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”
Review of Elephant Butte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Butte Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Elephant Butte Inn is off the interstate for a quite stay. Rooms on the Lake view side all have Micro and Frigs and are very comfortable, great shower heads. The restuarant is super as they use Hatch green chile, their fried green beans are to die for. The grounds are very well maintained with green mowed grass. The view of the lake is superb and the surrise and set are terrific.

Room Tip: rooms on the lakeside are cooler in the afternoon
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rd4man44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Elephant Butte Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

best place to stay at the Butte great staff great food great rooms can i say more

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCamper209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

First stay at the Elephant Butte Inn. Staff was very friendly I can say that everyone I passed by or interracted always said "hi" Check in was smooth rooms where not bad could have used just a tad bit more cleaning, beds comfy, grounds where clean. The free breakfast was kind of sad cold cereal or a beagle no juice only coffee which I don't drink and never saw a employee to see if we had a choice for drinks. Over all I would stay there next time I go to the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at the Inn on our way to El Paso. The lake view rooms were very nice: upgraded, clean and comfy. The verandas were perfect for enjoying the green yard and looking at the boats on the lake. The staff, though is what makes the Inn outstanding. We travelled with our disabled adult son and the staff (especially Sonny) did everything they could to make us comfortable. I had a wonderful massage with Alex who was friendly and professional. Additionally, the front desk helped me find a local church and get to mass on Sunday. We will go back and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doglizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

It was our pleasure to have you here as I guest. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for the kind words. Our staff works diligently to make our guests feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We've stayed there several times and I've been remiss in reporting how great a destination it is on Trip Advisor. Okay....so it isn't new, doesn't have the fancy beds that some of the nicer chains have, but it is absolutely the best place to stay in the area. We love it! The staff couldn't be friendlier; from the front desk to the restaurant staff to the cleaning and maintenance folks....ALL of them are as friendly, nice and accomodating as you could ask for. They seem to understand that guests in your hotel truly are "guests". At this point in time it almost feels like home to us. The location (very close to the boat ramp) is great for us, and the fact that they are pet friendly seals the deal. Then there's the restaurant; best food in the area and compares very well with any fancy "big city" restaurant. We'll stay there as often as we can!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are quieter, but it's more convenient to the parking area to get a "m...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayandNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

The staff would like to say "Thank you" for the kind words. Our staff strives to treat our guests as they would like to be treated. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I hosted several day long meetings at the Elephant Butte Inn meeting room. We arranged for snacks and lunch buffets and they were all very good. Nice meeting facility, was very roomy for the participants and staff made sure we were all comfortable. Wonderful atmosphere to get work done with a large group. Would highly recommend their meeting facilities.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We like to stay at the Inn because it is so close to Sierra del Rio golf course. The staff at the Inn are very friendly. They have a wonderful Sunday morning brunch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elephant Butte
4.5 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
828 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
185 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
64 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
25 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Butte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Butte Inn

Address: 401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Butte Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa has an ideal location with ever-changing views of the lake and surrounding desert. Our exotically designed lobby and common areas are reflected in each stylish and comfortable guest room. We offer AAA, AARP, and have government, military and corporate rates. After a busy day, relax in our outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal). You can hike to nearby Elephant Butte Lake--the largest lake in New Mexico--enjoying nature trails leading to the State Park. Elephant Butte Inn is the perfect choice for group events. Experience authentic New Mexico cuisine, steak and seafood in our Ivory Tusk Tavern and Restaurant. Take time for yourself at the Ivory Spa and Salon. Indulge in a variety of treatments from our spa, including massages, body polishes, skin treatments, and pedicures. The Salon specializes in haircuts, styling, and hair color treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elephant Butte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Butte Hotel Elephant Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing